8th Jun 2007, 22:17

I brought my 2002 TL to the dealership as it shifts hard when shifting into reverse. The dealership indicated that the transmission is defective. Since I have over 130,000 miles, there is no warranty and there was no effort to remedy the defect. Although there is a recall, the dealership will not help. I am asking myself, why did I buy an Acura?

10th Jun 2007, 17:14

Dumb question to ask when you did not know of the problem. Don't be hard on yourself!!!

10th Jun 2007, 19:14

Can you imagine a used car salesman that very clearly knows of this vehicle trans issues and then selling them this car?

12th Jun 2007, 13:31

Yes, it is all the car dealers that sell one... I see them for sale at Lexus, Acura, Lincoln, BMW, Mercedes dealers... so they don't just go to crack pot dealers.

11th Sep 2007, 07:07

I have had my '03 Type S for 8 months now. Out of nowhere the transmission gave out on me. The car has 53k miles on it and I am hoping the aftermarket warranty will cover the replacement. If this is a known defect do you think my coverage will be denied?

16th Sep 2007, 09:56

I just bought a 2003 Acura 3.2 Type S and noticed that the car seems to jerk or slip or something and went reading on the internet and I found this site... and read the comment I've replied to.

This is exactly what happens when I drive my car. Is there any solution to this problem? I mean, if they replace the transmission... will the new transmission do the same?

18th Sep 2007, 17:27

Yes, there is a very defined solution to the problem with the transmission.

26th Sep 2007, 14:52

The replacement transmissions that Acura is placing in the cars are re-manufactured, hence, are someone elses broken transmission. There is an inherent flaw in the design, hence, a replacement transmission is only a band-aid that buys Acura time for the time/miles threshold to be reached, then, they will recoup their money back when customers pay full price. A very unethical way to treat their customers. This is the customers reward from Acura, after a loyal customer purchases their product.

2nd Oct 2007, 12:17

The only great experience I had with my Acura TLS transmission was turning it in under the Lemon Laws and receiving a repurchase check. The Lemon Laws in CA are very pro-consumer as a surprise.

3rd Oct 2007, 12:53

I think all of you are missing the easiest solution available...I bought a TL with a 6 speed manual. Not only does my transmission not fail, I also get the joy of controlling what gear I'm in at all times. Truely a WIN-WIN situation.

28th Nov 2007, 07:24

I have a 2003 Acura TL and at 93,000 miles found my transmission slipping. When I had it checked at the Acura dealer, I was told there was no problem. After driving another few hundred miles, the problem not only returned, but also there were warning lights on: TCL and one for general malfunction (said to be more related to emission problem). When I took it in, I was told the transmission needed replacing, at a cost of $3,500. I asked why it would go bad with less than 100,000 miles (not knowing of the 2003 problems at that time) and was told there was 'no telling.' Since I was told driving it would not make anything worse, I got a second opinion (it agreed with need for replacement) and called the Acura 800-number to ask if there would be any help, because of the problems of that year. A week-and-a-half later, I am waiting and wading through the hoops given by Acura, and have been told that the dealership found no problem with the transmission (between my original check-in and now there have been 3 people assigned to me) so I will need to take the car in again... and they may have to charge me for analyzing it.

3rd Dec 2007, 15:43

I took my 2003 TL-S in today and was told it needs a new transmission. 90,500 miles still covered under the extended warranty. It was slipping and jerking like others have described. I hope the "new" one lasts at least 3 years. I bought this car used at about 57,000 miles in January 2006 from a friend. He bought it new in the fall of 2002 so it's been driven for over 5 years now.

Acura Care warranty has covered most stuff, but there have been a lot of little things and some expensive problems too--the headlight igniter/inverter went out, Halogen headlight/foglight, motor mounts broken, clock light twice, fuel door wouldn't open.

Overall I love the car. It's fun to drive and makes my 90 mile round-trip commute more tolerable.

I'm not impressed with the 2008 TL loaner I received. Little things like the sun visor extenders are gone, the parking brake takes up room in the middle console now, I'd like to see rear seat cup holders come out of the center console instead of in the middle drop-down armrest, the front seat cup holders are still too close together. The navigation system does not have a 3-D map view like my Garmin does.

11th Feb 2008, 13:01

I have a 2003 TL. No complaints until now. It's a great ride except for my tranny was gone @ 90K. I am still covered, but now I am little bit worried after reading all the reviews.

17th Feb 2008, 20:22

I bought a 2003 TL. It has 109,000 mileage. Transmission is giving me some problems, Is there any way Acura can cover this? please reply me on kami49@gmail.com..

Thanks in advance.

7th Jul 2008, 15:59

I have a 2003 TL-S which has 87,000 miles.

While dropping my wife off to have her car serviced, I put my car in reverse and it jerked violently and made a loud noise. The next day while driving down the interstate, I accelerated to pass and my car jerked hard and made the same sound. It was obvious that the gears were slipping.

I took it into my local Acura dealership and they put it on a computer and found nothing wrong. While driving it home from the dealer... it did the SAME THING, but this time the engine light came on. I waited a few days, took it back and asked that they inspect the vehicle again. This time they agreed to replace the transmission at no cost to me. Both times they gave me a new TL as a courtesy car.

15th Jul 2008, 20:33

I have the 2003 TL-S and the transmission started slipping around 60k miles. We took it to the dealership and they replaced the entire transmission even though it was past the 50k warranty. Did the really replace everything (I did not ask to see the old trans) or put a "band-aid" on it? I don't know. We are at 70k now and everything seems fine. Oh... I do love the car and hope all is well.

24th Aug 2008, 07:52


I wish I saw this site before investing in an Acura, the car is fun to drive but the fun is now being overshadowed by transmission problems similar to those comments listed above; slippage, violent gear changes and a hesitation to go into either forward or reverse.

I often take long trips in my vehicles and wonder if anyone suffered a complete breakdown of the transmission, or does it always get you home? Please let me know.

I have to see the dealers ASAP.