2003 Alfa Romeo 147 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles

Summary:

A Gorgeous Motor

Faults:

Condensation or water in Driving Lamp.

Brake pedal rubber disintegrated.

Creak on front suspension.

General Comments:

I love this car, it's in Alfa Red with tan leather upholstery and 17" Sports Wheels. Unbelievably I got it new in May 2003 for £12,000 from a UK Alfa Dealer with full UK 3 Year Warranty. Had a Fiat Bravo before which after 7 years of load lugging was seriously goosed.

Was not sure about the Tan Leather as it's a bit effeminate, but it really lifts the gloom of the interior, even if it picks up dye from clothes.

Firm handling means you tend to try and avoid potholes and drain covers.

Love the hi-tech touches like the 'soft' interior lights and radio/cd mute controls, they just fade in and out.

You need a degree in IT to understand all the functions of the On Board Computer and watching the Fuel Consumption display can get very addictive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2004

8th Mar 2004, 22:28

Tan leather is effeminate? Since when? Did anyone tell the Italians this? Or how about my JagXJ8 designer?

Seriously, this is just a Yank searching for info on a Alfa 147 he has booked for the month of May in Italy/Sicily.

Does the tan leather color transfer to my clothes, or do my dark slacks transfer to the tan leather?

Looks like fun to drive. Does it have a luggage cover when the rear seats are folded down? --Native Californian.

1st Apr 2004, 03:54

I obviously need to come to terms with my feminine side more!

Re the colour transfer onto the seats, it is from your clothes to the leather, but I have found a good cleaner that lifts it off well.

No luggage net for when the rear seats are down, but I think one of the extra packs (is it Comfort or Winter?) provides an elasticated net for just the boot area.

Mind, I guess the specs. will differ according to the markets.

Enjoy your month with the Alfa! :)

2003 Alfa Romeo 147 5 door Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Slightly overpriced for the quality

Faults:

Nothing really as yet.

General Comments:

We are enjoying our new Alfa, and really enjoy the cabin and seating.

We are experiencing lots of rattles from the passenger door, and squeaks from the plastic dash.

The major issue we have is with the awful attitude of the garage we bought it from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2003

2003 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance250 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

I hate it and wouldn't recommend to anyone

Faults:

There is a dreadful whining noise at all times. Dealer said "just newness" but after persisting they have agreed there is a fault and have the car is booked in for repairs to power steering belt/pump.

New driver's seat belt on order, doesn't retract.

New door trims on order, originals wrinkled.

General Comments:

Thirsty.

Hate the climate control, fiddly and has a mind of it's own.

Living with the car has made me realise the trim and finish are poor. I have full leather interior, but the gear lever gaiter is a really cheap black mock leather. All plastics feel cheap in comparison to Ford Focus.

Indicators are useless at roundabouts, stay on too long or cancel too early.

Hate the headlights, no warning buzzer, instead they switch off with ignition, but switch on again the next time the car is used which means it's easy to drive around during the day with headlights on!

Glove box tiny.

Boot is very small.

Petrol cap is fiddly to use.

No deadlocks.

I have little good to say about the car which I had admired & considered for some time before purchase. I am currently considering selling and replacing with another Ford Focus!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

6th Aug 2003, 23:52

Counterpoint: I drove a rented 147 JTD for over 1200Kms in Sicily this summer, in heavy traffic, mountain roads (including the Etna volcano climb - from 0 to 2000m altitude) always at extreme temperatures (up to 48°C this summer). I drove the 147 really fast whenever possible, fully exploiting the JTD's excellent torque, never being shy to bring it to the limit of its handling abilities.

I loved the interior trim quality - for me the plastics used are excellent - nothing rattled or fell off, and actually the car always performed faultlessly despite the intense heat. Normally I drive a BMW 540i, but even in comparison to the beemer I was really impressed by the 147 JTD, considering the price and class of this car. I would consider buying one if I needed a small car to drive around.

Fuel consumption was excellent at about 6.5 / 7 l/100km (about 45mpg, I think?).

So don't slag the 147 off just because you had a bad experience with one - the Focus is so bland and nondescript in comparison that I would not even consider looking at one twice.

2003 Alfa Romeo 147 Lusso 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles

Summary:

A Sporty Stunner - forget the A3

Faults:

Alarm first too sensitive, now not working at all. Dealer tells me it needs a replacement motion sensor, which is a common problem.

Radio lost all settings, but now seems to have rectified itself.

Leaking passenger door. Dealer tried and failed to repair once.

General Comments:

Great looking car - easily forgive the initial niggles.

Needs high revs esp in the 1.6 but plenty fast enough without passengers.

Great handling, firm and sporty.

Useless dealership, no courtesy car available for two months!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews