2004 Alfa Romeo 147 Reviews

2004 Alfa Romeo 147 JTD 1.9 turbo diesel from Bulgaria

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Ypsilon

Summary:

Good looks, comfortable, quick for a diesel

Faults:

The serpentine belt of the alternator tore. Turned out that I forgot to change it last time I changed the belts. My fault.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Good performance, feels like a petrol car. Quick responses and good handling. I have not gone over 160 km/h, as I do believe in common sense.

During winter conditions and heavy rain it has worked flawlessly, and never left me on the side of the road.

No marks for the dealer, as I have not used an official dealer - too costly, and we have only one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2013

2004 Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 16V multijet Lusso 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carRenault Modus

Summary:

Good car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Big bull of a car - good six speed box - heavy controls - but floor it in any gear and it takes off - good car good engine good box - but overall poor driving position. Typical Alfa, could never get the throttle position right.

Too big for me.

A Golf irritated me, and I floored it in 6th gear and it just breezed way - at the top of the incline I was doing 105 mph and 18 MPG!

On a tuned 1.9 TD, too much on fuel for me.

Alfas are good, but please sort the driving position. 1972 Gulia and a 1980 Alfetta, all the same, the poor pedal location spoils a good good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2009

2004 Alfa Romeo 147 JTD Lusso 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Awesome drivers car for a realistic budget

Faults:

In the last two years of ownership, I've not even changed a light bulb! It is the most reliable car I've ever owned, and is so cheap to service yourself.

General Comments:

Fantastic cockpit experience; as a driver you feel involved, predictable handling, fantastic feedback from the wheel. The tyres are a big factor. I'm now using Pirellis; lots of noise, but no wear or loss of grip!

Only criticism is that under heavy emergency braking ie nearly crashing head on, I have doubted the ability of the braking system to stop the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2007

2004 Alfa Romeo 147 Ti 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2900 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

It's about love, not money

Faults:

Clutch replaced at 3500 miles. Alfa diagnosed the problem when I complained of shuddering when engaging first gear. The clutch was replaced under warranty, and I only paid £10 for insurance on a courtesy car.

Other than that, I have not experienced any of the tell tale 147 faults. Regular oil and coolant checks are necessary.

General Comments:

The Ti pack is amazing: Makes it handle like a giant Go-Kart! The pack gets you Ti sports leather seats, firmer suspension, Ti 17” wheels, GTA headlights, chrome tailpipe and spoiler. The seats, suspension and wheels glue you to the road!

The fuel consumption is devastating! A friend told me to fit an air filter to improve this, but I don’t know whether to go for K&N for £50 or Autodelta for £28.

If anyone has been able to improve their fuel economy I’d like to hear their advice.

Beware of the facelift 147, I've noticed a lot of cheaper parts creeping into the cabin that bring the quality down, e.g. sun visors, and the instrument panel. My dealer told me the facelift model is a Fiat Stilo underneath it all. Can anyone shed light on this? I’ve noticed a lift/reverse gearstick which wasn’t on the previous model. Is this Fiat part creeping in?

I don’t trust my dealer: They have told me conflicting information about the car. I didn’t get the car when I wanted because of over charging and hassle. When I picked up the car, they had not made a cosmetic repair that I requested (Dented rear tweeter speaker) However, I took the car with the reassurance it would be fixed at a later date. It took 3 trips to the garage and numerous phone calls by myself over 3½ months. Eventually replaced free of charge.

This car costs me SO much money in every way, but this has always been my dream car. Stunning looks and a beautiful cabin. It’s not that quick, but it feels fantastic to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

13th Jun 2005, 08:27

At such a low mileage, I wouldn't waste your money on a different air filter for economy purposes, as they don't make a lot of difference with MPG, just to the engine note. Also if over-oiled, they can affect your MAF sensor and clog it. Try a search on www.alfaowner.com regarding K&N filters etc.

My 1.6 averages around 34.5 MPG now after 20,000 miles, but the 147 is a heavy car for the size. Just sit back and enjoy the ambiance and the looks!

13th Jun 2005, 19:30

Having owned a number of Alfas in the UK, I can confirm that as a general rule their franchised dealers suck! My experience is that they are overpriced, bordering on dishonest and offer a very poor service.

My advice is to find an established independent (there are loads of them for alfa/fiat- I wonder why...?!) - in general, they cost less, treat you as though they want your business and are as enthusiastic about your car as you are.

11th Sep 2005, 11:22

I agree that some Alfa dealers suck, but I've owned Alfa's over the last 10 years and the dealers are definitely getting better. My local main dealer (Amersham) had a new manager about 3 years ago and it is now one of the smoothest, well organised dealers I've ever visited... and that includes BMW, Porsche and Audi dealers. Definitely recommended.

28th Nov 2006, 19:38

If you are really concerned about fuel consumption... perhaps you should consider changing rims. The stock 1.6 comes with 15' but you have 17' right? The extra rolling resistance of your wider tires are just making their presence felt.

On 15' the car becomes real agile and responsive and accelleration is also greatly improved. At 120 bhp, there is no fear of breaking traction so easily so the 17' are a bit overkill, if not considered from a cosmetic perspective.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews