11th May 2001, 14:19

See What Car August 2000 (page62). Guy had similar problem on JTD Lusso and actually cracked the sump from bottoming out requiring a brand new engine after 500 miles. Managed to get replacement suspension paid for by Alfa which apparently has made some difference but car continues to bottom out somewhat on country roads. Looks like it is a common problem. Good luck.

20th May 2001, 13:07

I have had a JTD for over a year now, but with std suspension. I too have experienced minor bottoming out but only under exceptional circumstances.

I suspect that the suspension is in fact hard not soft, and that it is a combination of the lowered suspension and heavier diesel engine that has lowered it too much!

In fact most reviews that I have read, say that the 156 is too firm!

I have also read a review that intimated the heavier front end of the JTD aliviated some of the understeer sometimes found with 156's.

30th Jun 2001, 15:07

I was in an Alfa dealer today thinking of buying a 156 when a diesel was brought in with a cracked sump; "the driver had bottomed it going over a bump".

18th Jul 2001, 03:01

I have a 2.4JTD with Sports Pack 3. It tends to bottom out on single-track country lanes where the camber is excessive, although it sometimes scrapes on speed humps as well. I would say the suspension is stiff rather than soft. Mine has done about 18,000 miles with no problems.

22nd Aug 2001, 03:27

JTD 2.4, 15,000 miles, no problems at all with the suspension (no, I don't drive like an old woman!!).

The tracking was out from new ruining a good set of tyres though. I occasionally get a humming noise after I have stopped the engine... anyone else?

25th Sep 2001, 14:05

I have had a 156 JTD which I bought in May 2000 and this is the best diesel car I have ever driven, except that in 55,000 miles I have had to replace the sump on FIVE, yes I said 5, occasions. On two of the occasions I cracked the sump at 40 MPH!!!

I have driven over 450,000 miles in the last ten years in a variety of cars and I have never replaced a sump in any car. The sump is too close to the road.

27th Jan 2002, 08:57

I don't think its just the diesel, I have the 1.8 Lusso and it bottoms out over anything. The roads aren't great in the north of england, and there are many dips in the road I have to slow right down for. Haven't had the sump replaced, dealer said 'Why bother it'll only need changing again - they all do it'

Definately a design flaw.

2nd Oct 2002, 06:03

My 2.0 TS will bottom out, but that's because I have the standard Alfa feature of collapsed suspension bushes.

Do you have squeaking coming from the front of the car and appalling front tyre wear?

Could be the bushes.

I'm getting the front lower suspension arms replaced later on today... and after only 39000 miles.

28th Dec 2002, 11:27

Hi, I've just bought an Alfa 156 1.6 veloce, and I have noticed that it has a dead spot when starting, and it seems to loose power.

I took it into my local Alfa dealer, and they said that it could be one of two things.

1. Air flow meter

2. Throttle body.

I am a bit amazed that the dealer doesn't actually know what the problem is???. The car has been put on the diagnostic machine, and they see no problems with the car.

Has anyone had similar problems???

Please let me know if anyone has had this problem, and what the cause is.



15th Feb 2003, 10:14

15/2/03 I have a 156 jtd 1999. Recently while accelerating a small red injector light came on in the dash. Also it is losing power between 3000-4000 rpm, I was told it could be either of two things: air flow meter or turbo boost pump, any ideas?

2nd Apr 2003, 12:18

I have an Alfa 156 Veloce diesel, which requires a sump after getting grazed with the road. Currently pursuing Alfa to get it replaced, as it is a design fault with the car. I believe it's not fit for its purpose, and should therefore be replaced by Alfa. Why did the dealership offer to put a sump guard on the car when I purchased it?

2nd Apr 2003, 12:20

Red injector light equals a fuel pump. loss in power happens at exactly 2850rpm then the car cuts out. It was cheaper for me to get rid of the car than to fix it

23rd Jun 2003, 05:30

I have a 3.5 year old Alfa 156 V reg). Don't buy one, I have had nothing but problems with it, the latest being the need for a new throttle body because the car does not rev properly and will not accelerate properly, the cost...600 quid. That means I have spent well over 1000 pounds in the 6 months I have had it. Even my first car (Citroen Visa) had less problems. You have been warned. Even the top warranties (I have one, cost a load of cash) does not cover this part.