1995 Alfa Romeo 164 Reviews

1995 Alfa Romeo 164 LS 3.0ltre V6 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0ltre V6 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance49000 kilometres
Previous carTatra 613

Summary:

British Luxury with Italian reliability nightmares

Faults:

For a while, the car was running on 2 cylinders, the dealer failed to tell me this at 30,000kms. It progressed to 40,000kms. The cylinders where replaced for a total cost of $3000cdn.

All buttons in the car were replaced and re wired, for a total cost of 2800cdn.

Car was damaged slightly in the grille area, this was repaired perfectly for 3$3000cdn.

Scheduled tune ups are expensive, and oil changes cost $1200cdn. from Ferrari dealerships. (Alfa Romeo stopped bringing cars to Canada in 1995).

Electrical problems really are the worse part of this car.

Fuel economy is very poor. The tank is 78litres in size. Large, but you can only get 250 km out of that size.

I am sure I have spent more than $30,000 on the maintenance of this vehicle.

General Comments:

It is an excellent car, handling wise.

Seats are supportive, and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

14th Jun 2005, 07:08

Why use a Ferrari garage for oil changes? Granted you need to use quality oil and filter, but the job itself isn't rocket science. Any competent mechanic can do it.

26th Jul 2005, 18:45

Find yourself a good foreign car mechanic. I have a great one who saves me a lot of money and does better-than-dealer quality work with far more attention to detail.

21st Aug 2005, 17:07

I can't believe that it was running on two cylinders for such an extended period of time without you realising it.

Also $1200 for an oil change is totally ridiculous - you could probably do it yourself for $50.

1995 Alfa Romeo 164 Super 3.0 24v from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance76825 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 75 2.0 TS

Summary:

Not the best Alfa, but much improved as far as reliability is concerned

Faults:

Last year: water leaked from heating system, damaged the main CPU located under the radio. A second hand CPU (about 200 pounds) purchased from Australia through the Internet.

1999: Air flow meter malfunctioned (costly parts from Italy took four weeks to arrive).

1999: Safety button of the gearbox selector stuck.

Between 1996 to 1998: Engine overheated several times due to the failure of the high voltage relay (since then, I always keep a spare in the car); and the motor fan (I have been suspecting that the water leaking was the problem, I later experienced was the consequence of those overheat incidents).

General Comments:

Generally reliable, by Alfa standards. Routine maintenance is a must. Official dealer is un-trustworthy (the sole dealer in Hong Kong is just as bad as those in London). Finding a good mechanic who knows Alfa is therefore another must. Owners should also make the best use of the Internet for finding parts and seeking advice.

Auto gearbox is OK, but a manual gearbox is more suitable.

Because of its size, weight and auto gearbox, my 164 is not very suitable for fast A or B-road type driving, but doing a high speed on the motorway is very relaxed.

A lot rattling noises inside the car, indicating that the finish was not yet up to Japanese/German standards.

All in all, a good Alfa and a reasonable car. Looking forward to owning a 147 Selespeed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

12th Aug 2001, 07:31

Hmmm, obvious Alfisti my friend, respect, but picked a 164 'auto' and now going to a 147 selespeed. You certainly have an eye for the troublesome models!!

23rd Jan 2011, 01:45

This Italian Super is really is a super car in its heydays... It's one of the most reliable cars I've ever driven. For the last year, it's my daily driver, and have had nothing to complain about.

DRIVE IT LIKE YOU STOLE IT! That's Italian standard driving style for Italian cars.

Italian cars are like thoroughbred racing horses. They do not like to go slow. Keep the rpm at least 3,000 and shift above 3,000 rpm, and all is well. Go slow and all is hell broken.

I've owned a Fiat X1/9 ('84, '85, '86, '87), Maserati Spyder 1989, Maserati Quattroporte (1984 and 1985), and Alfa Romeo 164 Super Turbo 1996. Never had any major problems with these cars, but you have to drive these cars as they are designed to be driven. Italian cars are for real drivers. They're not Japanese / German car that will drive by themselves with their electronic gizmos...! You really have to know how to drive in performance mode every time you buckle-up your seatbelt.

Have fun!

1995 Alfa Romeo 164 Super 3.0 V6 24 valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 24 valve Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

High performance 4 -door saloon

Faults:

Rear sidelight/brakelight.

Radiator sensor unit.

General Comments:

Make no mistake, this is no boring executive cruiser - this is the best car BMW never made! Firm suspension, taught handling, the engine sounds like a symphony. A true family size sports car with air con and all electric. A great looking car that will out-perform 95% of cars on the road. Galvanised body so rust shouldn't be a problem. Go for the facelift model post 1993 if possible. Just that bit better looking and with 24 valves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2000

12th Aug 2001, 07:35

BMW wouldn't know where to start trying to make one!! As I suspect you know and were commenting a bit tongue in cheek!

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 3 reviews