1987 Alfa Romeo 33 Reviews

1987 Alfa Romeo 33 1.5Ti 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 kilometres
Most recent distance183000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Cheap and nasty a disappointing child for Alfa

Faults:

Eats batteries for a living when it sits for 3 or 4 days, leaks water through the tailgate, ad round antenna hole - drips on your lap when its been raining - fixed with a wee dab of silicone. Helluva noisy - suspect baffles in middle muffler. rear parcel shelf keeps collapsing under the weight of the 6x9s that I had installed.

General Comments:

I've always liked the look of the 33. Some nice styling queues. Found myself a fixer upper - tidy body. Not heard running. I've replaced engine and gearbox. Goes OK now but I suspect new engine is past its prime. Easy to start when the battery hasn't gone flat, and some novel features like the Christmas tree dash - with an array of warning lights which don't mean much to me, but maybe will impress the ladies. Handling is OK - quite chuckable and flat through the corners, but tending to understeer early. enough panache to scare passengers, but this may be more due to feeling that something is about to break. Certainly doesn't beg to be driven as my former Alfasud did. General feeling of flimsiness and tiredness in suspension. There you have it then - something a little bit different. Get one if you can live with the niggles that you invariably will get. Look out for rust in the ass end too BTW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

11th Aug 2006, 11:06

You seem to be expecting new car quality from an 18 year old car with a very high mileage, which is unrealistic with any make and certainly with Alfa Romeo.

1987 Alfa Romeo 33 TI 1.5 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 164

Summary:

The best purchase I've done in my life so far

Faults:

I've only had it for a little over a month. No problems yet. Some quirks that came with the car include:

Broken odometer.

Rough/no idle when cold.

Right seat won't adjust into a fully upright position.

Trunk gas struts broken.

General Comments:

A dealer sold my previous car, an Alfa 164, on commission and the guy that bought it traded in this 33. The dealer let me borrow it until I'd found a new car, but I fell in love with this dark Italian beauty and would not return her...:)

+

Awesome handling.

Good performance/price ratio.

-

Uncomfortable driving position.

Not the fanciest looking Alfa around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

10th Sep 2004, 15:04

I did write this review and I thought I'd update you on the car... or should I say the BRILLIANT PIECE of automotive engineering. One year and not a single problem. I can't believe it. This is insane! It's 17 years old for crying out loud! I really don't see why I should own another car in my life than this gem! Doesn't burn any oil, no rust, precise steering, gearbox feels like now. Amazing. Just amazing.

31st Oct 2005, 01:00

Quite true! It's a fantastic car. I own a '89 33 1.3s since '95, never had a single problem. Enjoy!

22nd Dec 2006, 07:54

I would advise you to Re tune your idle on your carbies when the weather is cold and then re tune again when it is hot.

This is due to carburettors being temperature sensitive.

Regards, Fellow ALFISTI.

24th Mar 2007, 11:43

Mine is a 1987. I've owed it in 2 years and have never hat a problem with it. It is a great car..

1987 Alfa Romeo 33 Gold Leaf Boxer 4C from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Boxer 4C Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

If you can find one without RUST, you are on a winner

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. Apart from its continuing rusting away to nothing. That's a given, they rust.

General Comments:

Funny, the example given on this site is: This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

I can honestly say, that is the exact words I was going to use.

All you need to do is cut the springs in the back with an angle grinder (take 2 inches out of it) and you have yourself a car which doesn't dip when braking. Which looks normal, not out of balance.

Then rip out the air filter and whack on a nice piece of foam. The type of foam meant for custom air filters. It should cost about $10. Put those on, and suddenly you have a wild machine that revs like a V8 with a 5" exhaust all the way through.

I also have an 1984 Alfa, it is crap. The Gold Leaf edition of the Alfa seems to be something with harder suspension, better performance and handling.

I think my motor (which has only 20,000ks on it) has had some head work done on it.

This little baby does 185KM/h.

Get one in RED, they look so sweet. Mine is silver and I want to paint it red.

The interior in these is crap. My old Honda Prelude was 10 times better.

My Alfa pulls up a 30 degree hill in 3rd doing 100Km/h around sharp bends. Like a ballerina prancing around.

I raced a new 318i BMW and won. What does that say?

All that is left to do: Paint it RED, put Recaro interior through it. Find a body kit for it. Get some nice phone dial mags for it. Custom made 5" exhaust straight through.

I seriously love this little 33, it looks so boring. Yet it sounds like a hotted up WRX. It handles as good as anything for its age.

With a little bit of modification from a Gold Leaf Edition, you can get a seriously performing car for cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

1987 Alfa Romeo 33 Quadrifoglio 1.7 carbureted from Romania

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.7 carbureted Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint

Summary:

A true sports car for everyday use

Faults:

First, second and third gear sinchrons damaged. I bought it with the second already broken and gradually the first and the third got worn prematurely.

Comfort is a little poor due to hard sporty suspension.

Steering not very easy when parking.

General Comments:

The car is very swift for it's cubic capacity.

Perfect cornering at high speeds.

Superb engine sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2002

1987 Alfa Romeo 33 1.3 boxer from Croatia

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 boxer Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance156000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 9

Faults:

Gas pump.

General Comments:

A real Alfa. Sporty, reliable, not very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2000

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews