1991 Alfa Romeo 33 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1991 Alfa Romeo 33 QV 1.7 16v from Malta

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

A legal law breaker

General Comments:

A well engineered car by alfa romeo, I love it. I got the 33 1.7 16v Quadrifoglio and its got a nice kick once it touches the 3,500 rpm... tends to unleash its power above those revs when flooring it. still impressed till today on its handling in corners, i'll never let go of this car, this is pure well done engineering by alfa. love it and will never leave this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2003

12th Mar 2004, 06:02

Hi!

I am italian and own an alfa 33 S16V QV. I completely agree with you!!! Great car!!!

1991 Alfa Romeo 33 ie 1.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1995
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles

Summary:

A very high performance bargain!

Faults:

Needed a new clutch.

Gearbox was on its way out.

Little rust.

General Comments:

This car seems like it has been built to race! The engine loved the high revs!

It handles very well, I could chuck it round corners and it still grips as if it were on rails!

Altogether I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

1991 Alfa Romeo 33 Permanent 4 1.7 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

Racing car on the road

Faults:

Water pump replaced as a precaution as it started squeaking.

Prop-shaft bearing failed.

General Comments:

It's very quick and has tremendous grip and roadholding.

It looks very aggressive and is a rare car.

It's been very reliable, given the use it's been given.

Most of the parts I have changed are down to normal wear and tear (brakes pads, tyres, exhaust etc.)

Clutch and gearbox are all original and the engine has never been apart.

Electrics have been faultless.

Interior trim seems a bit fragile - nothing's actually broken but it marks quite easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2001

1991 Alfa Romeo 33 1.7 16v Boxer from Slovenia

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 16v Boxer Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo GTV

Summary:

With this babe, I was king of the road!

Faults:

For an Alfa Romeo, surprisingly not many things went wrong. I had some problems with the ignition, and a little something with electronics.

General Comments:

Alfa Romeo 33 was the greatest car I ever drove. It's fast, easy to handle, sporty in every way. After I tuned it up to 236 HP, which I must say cost me a fortune, I was unbeatable. No Civic VTi, no Nissan GTi 16V, no Golf GTi, no Toyota Celica Turbo, nothing was a threat to me. Believe it or not I left behind an M3 with such ease I couldn't believe it!

I had to change everything from the suspension, brakes, machine, and wheels, but I got 6.00 seconds from 0-100 KM/H and 244 KM/H max speed!!!

Everyone: Looking for sport car? Try an Alfa Romeo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

7th Sep 2001, 03:09

Yes, you are right.. best performance for this car. What the hell did you do with your engine? > 200 HP.? I want it too. please!

Mike, Austria

waslosmitdir@hotmail.com

Would be very nice, if you help me and tell me what I can do!

20th Sep 2001, 10:42

Wow, how did you get so much power from the old boxer engine! Got to let me in on some of your secrets! I have a 1992 Permanent 4 which I am bringing back to its former glory, so any boost in power would not go amiss, as would any other advice? Indeed, if anyone else has tuned a P4, please let me know what you have done and if it worked!

LOL, many thanks,

Alan Glasgow, Scotland

higgy77@hotmail.com

1991 Alfa Romeo 33 1.5 IE petrol from Croatia

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.5 IE petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Fuel tank (rust), front suspenders, speedometer, electric window lifter (mechanical not electrical problem).

My car has 13" wheels which is driving me crazy while driving faster (loosing the grip)...

General Comments:

Very nice engine, jump start, very fast, great performance, small problems which can cost a lot, generally a very good car (in my case I hope that 14" wheels will improve grip).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 1999

1991 Alfa Romeo 33 1.7 ie 1.7 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.7 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

The gearbox lever has a rattle, and the gearbox has seized before (although this was because the dealer who serviced it had forgotten to replace an oil gasket).

General Comments:

Strong performance, good looks, and it hasn't rusted as much as I thought it would!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 1997

19th Mar 2001, 14:16

If you'd bother to take good care of it it wouldn't rust at all!!!

19th Aug 2003, 10:58

Great car to own, strong performance, bimmer-eater. Problems with the gearbox: 3rd and reverse, the handbrake and electronics. No rust for 10 years.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews