Alfa Romeo Alfasud Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1982 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Ti 1.3 boxer from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 1.3 boxer Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

Over-rated waste of money. Buy something else

Faults:

Gearbox selectors went twice.

Quality of interior is appalling. Seats disintegrate.

General Comments:

Bought a good one to try the legendary handling and nippyness. I found the car a ponderous, underpowered lump.

The steering was dead, the brakes were wooden. The engine was weak. All in all, something like an old MK1 Astra is much more sporty. I can't understand how the 'sud got its reputation as being a drivers car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

12th Feb 2005, 02:44

You only get out of a Alfa, What you put In.

A 1.3 Sud is not the most powerful option either.

13th Apr 2005, 12:38

Try to find good one next time.

25th Feb 2007, 13:10

Are you for real? A 'sud is a fantastic car! Never ever was build quality the best, but handling and performance second to none. I suggest you go back to your Ford.

8th Nov 2009, 13:20

Crazy talk. My 1.5 super was simply phenomenal - highly addictive to drive, and impossible not to want to go fast. In a good one you could just about forgive all the foibles like rust, and smelly carpets.

1977 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Ti 1.5L veloce from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5L veloce Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 kilometres
Most recent distance190500 kilometres
Previous carMazda 1300

Summary:

A great fun, reliable and safe car

Faults:

The biggest problems have been with the ignition and door locks. However, this is an oldish car.

Another problem has been with the door not closing properly, as the hinge pins move down.

The seats needed rebuilding after 190000km.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable and exciting car to drive. The acceleration is phenomenal as is the climbing ability and general road handling.

It is not possible to carry lots of passengers or luggage, but it is big enough to fit my golf clubs and gear in the boot sideways!

I am having the interior re-trimmed and exterior resprayed. That is how much I think this is a great car to drive and keep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2003

1979 Alfa Romeo Alfasud ti from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1980
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance114357 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfasud

Summary:

An engineering concept of genius built in the wrong place at the wrong time

Faults:

The clutch gave up the ghost at60000 miles as a result of over-enthusiastic downchanges whilst listening to the engine play its 6000 r.p.m. symphonies.

Seats needed refurbishment at 110000 miles.

The warranty ran out 22 years ago.

General Comments:

One of the greatest landmarks in automotive history. Unfortunately Hruska's fabulous vision was betrayed by politics and State bean counters. If this car had been built at Wolfsburg (it was perceived as a people's small sports saloon), many more would be on the road today. Still - with much TLC mine is still here on the salted roads of the North West. Given a dry day (!) this car can keep up with most modern naturally aspirated 1.3s - mainly because I put a Green Cloverleaf engine in...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

1983 Alfa Romeo Alfasud Ti 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVolvo 480

Summary:

The rocket roller skate

Faults:

Alternator has problems regulating the current and various connectors failed.

Fuel guage as accurate as a tennis ball in a bow.

Rust, had around the windscreen cleaned up and sprayed. Still has a drivers door skin and sills on the list for the next visit to the body shop.

Leaks by passenger door when using a car wash!

General Comments:

Used daily during the summer and stored over the winter to try to protect the bodywork from salt, the Sud provides more grins per mile than any other car I have driven.

Handling is precise and kart-like, and you find you put on a bit more lock than needed expecting under-steer that just never happens.

The 1.3 boxer engine sounds wonderful through the twin 'pea-shooter' exhaust, just egging you on to push down on the faster pedal. Could do with a bit more power, but this car cannot be beaten around the twisty stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

1983 Alfa Romeo Alfasud TI QV 1.5 from Denmark

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance327000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfa 33 1.7 16V

Summary:

A real sportscar which still is cheap to purchase

Faults:

Electrical connections fail often.

Gear shift needs regular maintenence (renewal of the link rod bush).

Needs yearly anti-rust treatment and no driving on salty winter roads, in order to keep it free of corrosion.

General Comments:

Excellent car with outstanding road handling.

The car is very reliable if the maintenence schedule is followed, and if you keep it away from the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2000

1978 Alfa Romeo Alfasud 1.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo Alfasud Sprint

Faults:

The Sud suffers from the usual electrical peculiarities.

The petrol gauge more or less works like a rev counter.

There is a fair amount of rust around but this is to be expected of any Sud.

General Comments:

The Sud is my daily driver and I can't fault it for getting from A to B. It sounds great and goes very well. It is great to throw around on a country road but will not win you any credit with females. In fact my girlfriend shudders every time the word Sud is mention and refuses to drive it. However, if I had to choose between her and the car... the Sud would win hands down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2000

12th Sep 2002, 18:05

I agree with your comment about this little legend. My name is Elias from Greece. I am (unfortunately) 34 years old. Why unfortunately? By the time I planned to buy my first car, the little legend with the superb handling, Alfasuds had already vanished from the new car showrooms, never to return. I therefore bought in 1992 the successor A33. The car is O.K. It shares some parts with the past legendary Alfasud, BUT IT IS NOT AN ALFASUD. I cannot understand why Alfa Romeo decided to replace the discs all round with drums for the rear brakes. Anyway, I'm considering seriously selling the A33, and I will try to find a second hand Alfasud. I know that this particular model from Pomigliano d'Arco, suffers from a never-ending series of niggling little faults. Yes, but "remember the roadholding". No, my decision is final and irreversible...

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews