1997 Alfa Romeo GTV Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV t spark 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

A great true Italian sports car for far less than a Ferrari

Faults:

Clutch slave cylinder (quite a common cheap fix though)

Rear suspension wear, required replacement arm.

Door trim come adrift a little.

Window requires lowering and rising each time you shut the door it ensure a tight fit.

The radio aerial does not raise and lower any more.

The lacquer of the roof is flaking away form the paint in places.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with the car overall. I don’t think there is anything else around for similar money looks as good. I like the fact is quite original and you don’t see too many around.

The performance is very good (better than most hot hatches like golf GTI’s etc) it is also quite a comfortable car.

It gives the initial impression of being very classy and well made.

Although after 80k my example is starting to show its not quite as well made as some Japanese and German cars I have owned.

I would highly recommend this car as a fun practical sports coupe. It is not the most practical car, but its unique styling more than makes up for this for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2006

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV TS Lusso 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Soul on a stick

Faults:

Nothing you wouldn't expect on a 7 year old car.

Replaced front brake pads

New alarm fob (£58!!!)

Exhaust is looking pretty grim

Other than that, the car is in better nick than the lower mileage Audi A4 which I part ex-ed!

General Comments:

This car makes me wish I'd listened more in English at school, I'd be better equipped to describe the joy of driving & owning it...

The only car I've owned where I've turned off the stereo to listen to the engine & exhaust note. Makes even the most arduous Monday morning drive to work fun. Retro cabin & Momo leather seats are totally in tune with the car's personality, though the 2.0 engine could do with a touch more poke to really make the whole driving experience unforgettable. Cruises effortlessly at 120mph (I believe) and is simply the best, most fun, character filled car you can buy for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2004

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV Lusso 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34250 miles
Most recent distance34750 miles

Summary:

Fantastic fun

Faults:

Electric aerial operates 'erratically', often not rising until 1 - 2 minutes after the radio is turned on. Going to get this fixed as part of the first service (£60 + VAT for aerial).

General Comments:

The paint seems to pick up stone chips like there's no tomorrow, but other than that it's fantastic.

The front windscreen seems to mist up for no good reason, and takes quite some time to clear.

The engine is thirsty when driven around town, but settles down on motor ways. The noise it makes when revved more than makes up for the petrol used!

Overall, I can't think of a car I'd rather have bought for the money. All the toys you could want (air con, leather, etc) and an engine note that's simply out of this world. The rear seats are only suitable for short journeys or for people you dislike, but there's room enough for two people plus luggage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2002

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV Lusso 2.0 16v Twinspark from Malta

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Twinspark Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Sexy toy

Faults:

Passenger window squeaks when closing.

Radio antenna stuck due to a long time not being used.

General Comments:

It's the closest you can get to a Ferrari.

Very sporty sound when you go over 3500 revs, and keeps pushing until the rev limiter.

There's no need to modify anything, this car comes out from the factory with a racing engine and an awesome design by Pininfarina.

Other cars with same engine capacity are slower, even with a turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2001

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV TS 16v Lusso 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carVolvo 480 ES

Summary:

Stunning to look at and great to drive

Faults:

The idle actuator switch went, costly, but it was fixed under warranty and then it failed its first MOT (emissions) because the lambda sensor had been damaged by stones flying up into the bay, bad luck I guess.

But apart from these small hiccups it runs perfectly.

General Comments:

Still get a big smile when I drive it, fantastic handling and it looks gorgeous. Hopefully will trade up to a 3.0 V6 or wait for the new model in 2003.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV V6 Turbo from Turkey

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3800 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres

Summary:

Head-turner

Faults:

Crashed twice. Absolutely no spare parts stock at the dealer. I waited 7 months to drive my car again.

General Comments:

The car is great, handles poorly, multi-link suspension is a big lie, do not trust this! Engine is very old technology, still two valves per cylinder. But finally, it's a Pininfarina design and that's enough :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2000

29th Apr 2001, 13:54

Mine is chipped to 250 bhp, is 100% reliable. The multi link suspension is excellent - can you drive? Mine has a rattle on the front suspension that I can't cure though. Overall a gorgeous, comfortable and fast car.

23rd Apr 2006, 13:52

I agree, the multi link suspension is great when its in good order. You really have to be a bad driver to be caught out.

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV Twin Spark 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Speedo/Rev Counter failure. Required several weeks to repair.

General Comments:

Stunning to look at, even better to drive. Top Gear calls it incomparable - I'd have to agree.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2000

1997 Alfa Romeo GTV TS 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Rear dampers replaced under warranty due to faulty o.e. items.

Speedo went haywire at 20k.

Nearside tyre worn excessively on the inside, but dealer couldn't find anything wrong.

Squeaky brakes (dealer fitted new pads for free but they're the same).

General Comments:

Best car I've ever owned.

Not as quirky and unreliable as people make out.

Great looker, handles great, but very solid suspension and '50 series' tyres pumped up to 40lb don't help matters, but all of this makes it go even faster through tight and twisty turns.

Best sounding 4 cylinder car you can buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 1998

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews