1981 Alfa Romeo GTV6 2.5 V6 from North America


Quite a unique and special car that's just practical enough for daily use


It was a fixer.

Had the rusty gas tank reconditioned.

Drive shaft flex joints, timing belt tensioner, muffler. Typical old car stuff like motor mounts, ball joints, tie rod ends, rear brake calipers, and cooling fan.

General Comments:

For me it's the perfect blend of performance, mystique, and usability. This car was a successful Group A racer, and in rallies back in the 80s, yet by simply pulling out the rear seat bottom cushion I can fit my 4-piece drum kit in the car. Parts are available on-line, some more expensive, but generally not unreasonable, especially considering how few of these cars were made. Stay on top of the maintenance and the car is very reliable, not to mention a blast on twisty mountain roads. Wonderful engine. Superb handling. The transmission is in the back, integrated with the differential as a transaxle unit, clutch housing in back as well, with in-bound rear calipers mounted on the transaxle, all done for obtaining a near 50/50 weight balance. They typically have worn synchro for 2nd gear, but you can learn rev-matching and heel-toe downshifting to overcome it.

Some of the costlier maintenance is mainly the drive shaft flex joints (every 50k miles or so) as well as the timing belt, water pump, and possibly tensioner (30k mandatory). Oil changes every 3k are also mandatory, not a deal breaker, but at 7 quarts each change it's a bit more than a typical car (its wet-sump crank case helps cool the engine). The replacement clutch is typically sold as a complete assembly and is expensive too, but is said to last over 150k miles if you drive it correctly (it may be possible to have the clutch relined instead, but it's more labor). Everything else is reasonable for an old import car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2015

1982 Alfa Romeo GTV6 6 cylinder gas from Italy




Thermostat needed a new one about 4 times.

Cooling fans; since the GTV6 had two, that was twice the trouble. A simple fix was to go to a single Milano fan.

General Comments:

The GTV6 was guaranteed to rev high, be rock steady, and rust. Can't wait to find another. Do not try to sleep in it on cross country trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2010

8th Sep 2015, 23:28

I've slept in mine quite a few times! Ha!

1983 Alfa Romeo GTV6 2.5 2.5 from UK and Ireland


A pretty well put together, stylish and well balanced all round coupe


A leaking oil pressure switch, which was replaced, cheap and easy to do.

And a dry solder joint on the speedo sender unit.

General Comments:

This car is exotic stylish and oozes Italian passion. I have owned the car since 1999, and it has been 100% reliable, what a wonderful car. Maintain it well and it will never let you down.

The Recaro cream interior is very expensive looking and comfortable on long journeys. The handling is good, with the weight being beautifully balanced, with a typical slight under steer to over steer on corner exits. Torque and power are good for the year.

The car could do with power steering for parking, and the steering wheel is too big. Otherwise, buy a good one, and you won't regret it, the car has bags of individualism and charisma.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2006

1983 Alfa Romeo GTV6 2.5 from Spain


Perfect car for Italian car fan on a budget


Faulty fuel injection relay at 122000.

Leaking gaskets at 140000.

Other than that just normal wear and tear as consumables wear out.

General Comments:

Excellent Performance from smooth, symphonic engine.

Comfortable, long distance GT for two.

Stylish, unusual and special.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

17th Feb 2014, 17:39

I still own the car, now on 190,000 miles.

2000 Alfa Romeo GTV6 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland


Bloody expensive to own, and generally a pain to live with. Gonna keep it forever


After about 8 months of ownership every corner of the car started squeaking badly. Took it to an Alfa main dealer and an Alfa specialist. Unsurprisingly went with the specialist as his quote was a lot less. Still, roughly a £1000 later and it still creaks at the back. Have been told this requires a new rear spring arm (£230.00), great news..

It died in the middle of my street on a busy Friday morning. Dash panel lit up like a Christmas tree. Completely blocked everyone in. It was towed (not a happy site) to the Alfa dealer who simply reset the system and said try it and see. Not a very satisfactory answer. After all, breaking down isn't that much fun. They also left the car in their customer car park unlocked for a whole weekend - I was not a happy chap when I found that out.

The usual stuff of the windows not shutting is common for us all, and to be honest I live with it now.

Freezing weather however, can turn the Alfa into an impenetrable rock. Best advise keep some warm water handy.

The oil cooler is leaking.

The cam belt and water pump need replacing very soon.

I need the tracking done on the front as I'm eating tyres far to quickly.

The rear disc brakes and pads are just about to be replaced.

That's about it.

General Comments:

It's a lovely thing to look at and to drive. The interiors a nice place to be and it's not to badly glued together.

Sometimes though, I have envious eyes for my next door neighbours Golf. It's problem less life is certainly an envious thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2006

15th Feb 2013, 22:12

This review is for a later generation "GTV6". The other reviews are for the 1981-1986 model; the 2000 model is a different car entirely.

8th Sep 2015, 23:37

I had an '82 Scirocco (essentially a Golf), as did my brother, and dealt with my girl-friend-at-the-time's '85ish Cabriolet. They are far from trouble free once they hit 107,000 (almost like clockwork). My bro's and mine both required cam bearing replacement right at 107k (within a couple months of each other, randomly), plus I was getting cooling system issues. GF's Cabriolet just had everything starting to go wrong. All minor, old car stuff. If you love a car, you'll keep it and do the repairs. They were good cars but I am much happier my Alfa.

1985 Alfa Romeo GTV6 2.5 gas from North America




Shifter mechanism jammed in the trans-axle. Syncros were also worn and had to be replaced.

General Comments:

A fast, sexy, attention grabbing, tempermental mistress.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005