Alfa Romeo Milano Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Alfa Romeo Milano Platinum 2.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10

Faults:

Nothing much has gone wrong here, just the regular bits one would expect to replace on a car 10 years old and with 119K miles. No rust on my car (Milanos were factory galvanized). There are periodically a couple of electrical glitches that are usually attributable to dirty or worn connections. Easily fixable. Regular consumables though are the timing belt, and a switch to a mechanical tensioner.

General Comments:

Fantastic performance and looks. The Platinum model I have is also loaded up with many luxury items making it a great sport-cruiser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1988 Alfa Romeo Milano Verde 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10

Faults:

I am the 3rd or 4th owner and have owned this car for about 2 months now. Just before I got it, it skipped time and bent all the exhaust valves so I got it with a practically new top end. Shortly after, it threw a cam follower which we think was due to a valve sticking in one of the new guides. Other than that, nothing major, just door lock motors on the rear going a bit haywire sometimes.

General Comments:

This is the fastest car I have ever owned. It handles rather poorly at speeds less than 60mph but nearing 100 mph, it feels right at home. AR Ricambi sportcat and full Ansa system help too. A friend told me once that this is a car to be in love with, that is, you might be angry with it at times but you can't stay mad at it for long (especially when you're sliding into the corners and leaving all the dumb lowered 'fast looking' Hondas and Acuras miles behind you...here's a hint 'racer boys'....your car WON'T go faster with all those stickers).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

8th Sep 2001, 11:38

About a month ago I too bought a Milano Verde with about the same history as yours. I completely agree with all your comments. Mine has had no mechanical problems except a sticking emergency brake. Since its first ownership was in the midwest (Ohio) it is not a completely rust-free car. The right rear wheel arch has a small rust point which can be repaired with fibreglass and the trunk lid has some rust bubbles, but easily repairable. Terrific car, highly underated.

18th Dec 2001, 04:40

I own a GTV6, it is an excellent car, look after it, it will look after you. Abuse it and it will bite you in the pocket, still a great car, a cheap Ferrari.

10th Mar 2003, 00:45

I own an '87 Alfa Romeo Milano 2.5 Gold. I have to say it is a great car, but it does have a mind of it's own. Things seem to work on their own or don't work at all. You never know until you sit down and take the ride.

I've been the almost proud owner of the car for three years. The problems I have had are: alternator, leaking antifreeze, idling, doors locking or unlocking, slave clylinders, rubber pieces, new clutch, but still will not work right, rear brake light rusted out, rusted around fenders, and faded paint spots.

Other than that I still like to jump in that baby, roll down the windows from above and zoom off. I actually have a few questions I'd like to ask. The main question is if has a hydraulic clutch?

1987 Alfa Romeo Milano Gold 2.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Faults:

Radiator, water pump, timing belt tensioner, transaxle unit.

General Comments:

Great fun to drive, but not reliable in any sense of the word. I would love a 164 or a newer Spider.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 1998

6th Jun 2001, 10:39

The 1987 Milano Gold is a wonderful car. I replaced most of the motor, and transmission mounts when I bought it, but it was 14 years old. The car is a wonderful ride, and has the personality and strong opinion that most other cars in the US lack.

28th Oct 2001, 13:34

I only had 2 things go wrong with my 87' Milano Gold; water pump, and the clutch. Not bad for a car with over 200,000 miles on it. In my opinion one of the most fun and reliable cars on the road. Absolutely stunning sounds from the exhaust end engine.

14th Jun 2006, 22:45

I had a milano for about 5 years... milano Gold leaf. I had a chip in it with bbs lowered rims. I have to tell you this car was fast. One of the best handling cars around. I would love to get another one if I could find one in good shape.

27th Aug 2006, 08:20

I used to have an 87 Milano Platinum and I kick myself for selling it. It was the most fun car I have ever owned. I am looking for a 3.0 Verde version now. If you know someone that is selling one please let me know. I am willing to pay top dollars for it, but it has to be in an excellent condition.

You can e-mail me at: amintaghavi@hotmail.com.

2nd Feb 2011, 16:45

I sold my 87 Milano in 91, and have been sorry ever since. So in June of last year, I got another one. Will never sell this car. The Milano is the most fun on wheels available, period.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 9 reviews