1994 Asia Motors Rocsta DX 2.2 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fun little offroader! Love it!

Faults:

Soft top roof is beginning to wear around edges and beginning to leak allowing water to stand in the footwells.

Rust around engine lid clasps making the handle loose

The spare wheel carrier is making the rear door hinge drop.

Thrust bearing on clutch making a noise, but clutch is working well so far.

Interior lights are not working any more.

Core plugs in engine weeping with water under fuel pump on nearside of engine.

Oil leak on rocker cover.

General Comments:

This car goes, where others fail to. Wheels and tyres are easy to get. With new seats, it can be a great drive! The engine is quiet for a diesel. It is easy to work on. The steering is a little heavy at parking speed, but this is not noticeable when generally driving!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2010

1994 Asia Motors Rocsta DX 2.2 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Does it job!

Faults:

Master slave cylinder gone twice.

Hand brake cable stretched.

Handles for moving front seats have lost there plastic bits, leaving sharp metal prongs that dig in your bum when getting in and out of the car.

Soft top poppers are all buggered. The roof barley stays on if you go above 30 mph.

General Comments:

This little 4x4 takes some adjusting to, But it does the job of any other 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2002

1994 Asia Motors Rocsta LX 2.2 D from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Excellent off roader, without motorway manners

Faults:

Fuel blockage.

Worn bushes.

General Comments:

Cheap 4x4, great in deep snow. Pulled out four cars no problem. Life saver in harsh winters in Northumberland.

It is what it is. Cheap and 4x4 practical. It's NOT a long distance car. It's not a motorway lover, but it's great in harsh conditions.

For parts in UK call - 5 star and the number is 01708742525.

I am selling my Asia as I am going to buy a Disco.

Thanks

Tom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

24th Jan 2003, 09:58

DON'T buy a Disco, they're rubbish. You would have to mortgage your house to pay for fuel unless you get the diesel. They ride like a truck. I actually had a small 1t truck that rode better. You can't see out of the windscreen.

Of the people I know that had Discos, they all got rid of them and most ended up with a Pajero. And they all tow boats.

1994 Asia Motors Rocsta DX 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A real bargain, great 4x4

Faults:

No faults, a very sound vehicle.

General Comments:

This is a fun 4x4, I am very pleased with it, so far no problems.

I am looking for a handbook, do you know where I can get one?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2002

1994 Asia Motors Rocsta DX 2.2 Mazda R2 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

In low range it's a weapon

Faults:

Hand-break cable stretched at 74000km and I'm still looking for a replacement.

Stitching on the seats has come undone and I'm waiting on some smaller racing buckets.

Front bumper looked dicky fixed big-time.

Straight 2.2 diesel was a gutless p.o.s on road.

General Comments:

I picked it up in may of '98. Two weeks later I had found a scraped Mazda van (i can't remember the make) with the 2.0L R2 motor, but with a turbo. The inlet maifold bolted straight on no hassles. Two weeks later It had a 2" body lift and 31" coopers and a new nudge type bumper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

6th May 2005, 05:30

The Asia Rocsta Is a Great car, I myself have a 2.2 diesel and would love to put a turbo on it please any info please forward to Dcotterell@bigpond.com.au.

1994 Asia Motors Rocsta DX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An underestimated treasure that is good value for money

Faults:

The heater matrix sprang a leak.

General Comments:

This is a good fun four wheel drive.

If you want to drive something different, then this is the car for you.

Don't be put off by bad reviews by people that have either never driven one, or have only driven one for a short time, as all of the people that own them like them.

There is plenty of room for 4 people, but no luggage space.

After adding good tyres, it performs very well off road.

The build quality is good; no rattles or leaks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

29th Jun 2002, 05:47

I got my Rocsta for a year. It worked well and had travelled off-road. It's fun and easy to drive the car around. Not just because it is 4x4, but it's a very powerful machine during typhoon and floods. My Rocsta helped me a lot in relief operations, refugee evacuation and charity works. I think I'll stick my driving with this car.

Jeremy Eliab

Davao City, Philippines

jseliab@hotmail.com.

7th Jun 2003, 11:46

I recently acquired a '93 Diesel "Rock", it's a little bit worn-out though. I got it cheap. I replaced the camshaft gear, crankshaft timing gear, the entire cylinder head (including heater plugs, nozzles, & gaskets), the liner, all the bushings, and the pistons. Under chassis are good. Very strong Air con. It is in top condition now, very powerful off-road and speedy on-road. Equivalent Mazda parts are easily available here in P.I. (Philippine Islands). I hope her condition lasts.

MCM

Quezon City, Philippines

michael@updiliman.com.

1994 Asia Motors Rocsta 2.2 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

This is a great 4wd

Faults:

Suspension problems and an oil leak from a rusty pipe that goes to the oil filter.

General Comments:

It has a tray put on the back of it, about the only one with a tray as it was done in Albany, Western Australia.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2002