Asuna Sunfire Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1993 Asuna Sunfire 1.8 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres

Summary:

Buy it with serious inspection

Faults:

Rust on rear side wells.

Washer fluid pomp broke up.

Alternator and power steering strap has been replaced.

All exhaust system from the manifold to the end has been replaced once.

Two sensors have been replaced.

General Comments:

This car is inexpensive on gas.

Quick and fun to drive.

Replacement parts are very expensive and hard to find.

Rust problem. Shoot the car if you want to keep it few others years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2004

3rd Apr 2006, 19:36

I'm looking to buy a used Asuna an want to do some research.

5th Apr 2008, 01:59

Cool car just a little to hard to find parts for.

25th Apr 2008, 18:28

I love my car, but I'm finding that everything is dying at the same time. I have owned it for a year, and just this week the muffler fell off, the fuel pump gave out, the fuel filter need to be replaced and the struts gave out. I am having one hell of a time finding any parts at all. And what I can find is going to cost a fortune.

1993 Asuna Sunfire 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance201500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Economical and fun car to drive

Faults:

Gas tank had a leak near the top of the tank, luckily it could be resealed.

Front brakes and all pads replaced.

Serpentine belt broke, inexpensive repair.

Two new tires, fairly expensive for the low profile ones.

Both front CV boots replaced.

General Comments:

The handling is superb, and incredibly smooth on the highway. Even better with a recent balance.

Stored the car outside with a cover for 8 months during the winter, with no major issues.

Interior is comfortable for front passengers, though have successfully fit 3 shorter passengers in rear. It can be done.

Great feel to the clutch. Very responsive and easy to get used to.

I would definitely buy another one of these, though as the years go by there won't be many left in good condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2003

1993 Asuna Sunfire 1.8L inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 kilometres
Most recent distance107000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Amazing for the Price

Faults:

I have just purchased my Sunfire and the only thing I've replaced are the front wipers.

The divers side door lock has frozen a couple times in cool weather.

I also got a set of Winter tires which were quite expensive.

General Comments:

I'm so excited to have a sporty car.

It drives great.

I can't wait to get some money to dress it up and tune it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

1993 Asuna Sunfire 1.8 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance139000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac firefly

Summary:

I love my Sunfire

Faults:

Front & rear struts had to be replaced. Rear struts are very expensive.

Replaced the Muffler twice.

Replaced front passenger side axle.

Problems with the door locks freezing in cold weather.

Seriously overheated the engine, yet it seems to have survived without any problems. I'm just lucky I guess.

Drivers seat is dying, now I have to try to find a replacement.

General Comments:

I love my Sunfire, it's been the most fun to drive since my 1970 Camaro!!

This car gets great mileage while still feeling like a sports car.

This car feels like it's on rails, handling is superb.

I would buy another one in a second.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2002

1993 Asuna Sunfire 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42 kilometres
Most recent distance197000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

This is a superb

Faults:

The oil cooler adaptor leaked.

Replaced the distributer o-ring.

Had a cracked camshaft gear.

All the above were covered under extended warranty, thankfully!

I had to replace the ignition module (hard to diagnose, so I was told), kept stalling.

Try to find an Exhaust Gas Recirculating valve for it!

Replaced both front CV boots, timing belt, and suspension.

General Comments:

All said and done, This has been a reliable car, and considering that I drive it like I thought I owned a 911, (as I know a few other owners do!), the money spent on repairs is probably justified.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

1993 Asuna Sunfire 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 kilometres
Most recent distance89000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

If you can find one that has been taken care of, consider it

Faults:

O ring seal on distributor.

General Comments:

Great performance for the price.

The Lotus suspension makes twisty roads lots of fun.

Even gets good gas mileage on the highway if you can stay out of the gas pedal.

Rear seat is useless for people, but fold it down and you can haul lots of stuff.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

14th Jan 2005, 14:45

Just a comment for the one above, actually Asuna's are made by Isuzu!

10th Oct 2007, 03:25

Isn't the asuna made by lotus? that's the impression I was going on.

22nd Feb 2008, 20:12

Lotus does the suspension.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 16 reviews