1986 Audi 100 Reviews

1986 Audi 100 2.0 5e from Norway

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 5e Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired246000 kilometres
Most recent distance261000 kilometres
Previous carHonda shadow

Summary:

A solid, quality, comfy tank

Faults:

Gas started leaking from a pipe shortly after I bought the car. Easy and cheap to fix.

A thermostat sensor and cooler fan, parts bought cheap on the scrapyard.

Nothing else, just regular maintenance.

General Comments:

It is my first car. I heard that these cars were very solid and reliable. So I bought one for 1500 dollars. When I got it, it looked very nice for a 20 year old car. But when the winter and snow came, the car got a hard time. I drove off the way 3 times. I have jumped and driven on fields with it. And every day I drive it like I try to kill it. So it starts to get a little bit worn now. It is amazing that a car can take so much beating and still run great. Real quality. It is a really comfy and big car :) The 2 liter engine is just big enough, don't go for the 4 cylinder.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2007

1986 Audi 100 CD 2.2 5 cylinder petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 5 cylinder petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance175000 miles
Previous carFord Cortina

Summary:

Bargain autobahn stormer

Faults:

Very little, usual wear and tear items (exhaust, brake discs, etc), until the camshaft gave up the ghost at 175000 miles. By that time the Audi 100 was old hat and not worth a bean, so high repair costs condemned it to the scrapyard.

General Comments:

A superb vehicle in every respect. The 5 cylinder engine is a gem of a unit, plenty of low down grunt, but it still revs. For such a large car it was also pretty quick- 125mph and mine was the standard 2.2 10 valve. Wonder what the 200 turbo was like?

Very comfortable to ride in, good handling and hard wearing interior-very advanced for a 1986 car I thought.

Parts prices were atrocious though. You would really need to find an independent Audi specialist. Main dealers or genuine Audi parts are a no-no. It pays to fit a genuine Audi exhaust though if you plan to keep the car, it'll last 10 years whereas aftermarket ones only last 2 or 3.

They are not very easy cars to work on, engine and gearbox access is restricted. front wheelbearings are also a swine to do and are a weak point of this car. one plus point of these cars is that they never rust. it's usually high mechanical repair costs that kills them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2005

1986 Audi 100 2.2 Injection from Germany

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Injection Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired166372 kilometres
Most recent distance206378 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

It's a very reliable car!

Faults:

I had to repair the steering rack!

General Comments:

The power is OK! Could need some more!

Needs lots of gas! 12L are too much for a car that weighs only 1200kg!

Shocks are too soft! Driving on the limit can be very surprising!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2005

1986 Audi 100 CD 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Graceful luxury or lumbering behemoth?

Faults:

The interior trim is very worn, and the velour upholstery attracts dirt.

The electric windows have decided to only work when they feel like it.

The central locking has decided I can open the driver's door from the inside only.

What I thought was a knackered shock absorber actually turned out to be a rusted axle, so was very surprised when the front drivers' side wheel fell off. The axle had rusted right through, and had snapped.

General Comments:

This is a seriously comfortable motor. It cossets you and powers you along at surprisingly high speed.

The fuel economy is better than I expected for such a large, heavy car. In town it is poor, but motorway driving produces over 40 mpg. The fuel tank is huge, and cost me £55-£65 to fill. It drinks less LRP than unleaded, so I decided to stick with four-star.

Shame it fell apart on me, I'd have kept it otherwise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2003

18th Aug 2003, 03:54

I can't believe the front driver's side wheel actually fell off. There must have been something very seriously wrong with the anti roll bar and/or the wheel bearing or the track control arm for that to happen. I have owned a 1985 100 CD for about 6 years now. The only things that usually go wrong are the starter motor (best replaced with one from a 5 cylinder Passat),the rear brake calipers (handbrake mechanism seizes-lubricate regularly, using silicone brake fluid helps),and the throttle valve, which gets dirty inside causing idling problems, but can be removed and cleaned quite easily.

1986 Audi 100 Avant CD 2.3 from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres

Summary:

Fast, comfortable, almost classic cheap car with almost no maintenance costs

Faults:

Transmission won't go up for the first 5 minutes (cold)

Transmission went back (!) at 200 km/h.

Rear door falls down when opened (depending on temperature)

Steering house leaks (have to fill up the hydraulic oil every 4 months).

General Comments:

Incredible trustworthy and fast engine.

Almost no repair costs in the last 6 years.

Great comfortable chairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

19th Oct 2002, 08:21

The problem of the tailgate dropping down in cold weather can be solved by fitting two new gas struts. I had the same fault on my car and it was a nuisance until I had the repair done. The repair was inexpensive and since then it has been fine.

29th Aug 2010, 03:26

I have just purchased a 1995 2.3E Estate with 223,000 km on the clock. I was amazed at how quiet it is while driving at speed, no engine, road noise or rattles. Stable on the road, and at first it appeared very economical as I got 450km from half a tank, but then the needle shot down the gauge. 24 miles per gallon, which I don't think is very economical considering our 1982 Mercedes 280SE does exactly the same.

Motor is tight, uses no oil and has no odd noises. Leather upholstery, wonderful and comfortable on a trip. A 4 speed automatic with a sport button. Next thing I shall try with this lovely car is to rechip it. I am very pleased with everything about this car; it is built to last, and I love it!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews