1990 Audi 200 Reviews

1990 Audi 200 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired111000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles

Summary:

Good starting tuner car

Faults:

Haven't had too much wrong with this car yet, but I can see some things going wrong with it.

It has a collapsed breather hose.

Could use new spark plugs really bad, and needs the injectors cleaned pretty bad.

Could also use a silicone hose going from the inter cooler to the intake manifold. Could also use some stiffer suspension.

General Comments:

The car performs pretty good for having a 5 banger in it. I want more out of it. I'm gonna have some exhaust work done to put a stage 1 chip in it. And possibly have the heads polished and maybe the intake ported.

I'm thinking about fabbing up a cold air intake, but there's so much on that air box, I need to learn more about it. I'm also gonna put a ceramic clutch in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2009

12th Apr 2009, 09:15

I found a boot online you are looking for, if you look around the price varies quite a bit from $30.00 to over $100.00. I am looking for the rubber intake boot from the top of the fuel distributor, found a couple about 6-8 months ago, cannot seem to locate now.

1990 Audi 200 Quattro turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance202000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

Although it is costly to maintain, I hope I can hang on to this car forever.

Faults:

I had to replace an axle and a CV joint at 198000 miles.

The alternator went at 199000 miles.

The stereo was blown through the previous owner's fault (reversed the positive/negative battery cables) but the speakers still sound amazing with the stereo I replaced it with.

The sunroof is inconsistent-- occasionally it works, but more often than not it doesn't even try.

The fuel pump relay went out at 200,000 miles, although this was not a costly repair ($100 from an Audi dealership, parts and labor included).

The clutch also gave out at 200,000 miles. This was pretty pricey-- around $2000 from an Audi dealership.

Currently, the fuel injectors seem to be gunked up, so it has an inconsistent idle, sometimes stalling out if I don't keep the gas pedal (lightly) depressed.

General Comments:

This car handles just like it should-- amazingly. The turning radius is awesome, the pickup is incredible. After my previous cars, owning this one has reminded me that I actually love driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

1990 Audi 200 Quattro from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired292000 miles
Most recent distance298000 miles

Summary:

High-end German cars are really good

Faults:

Connections to Alternator.

LCD Display in center of Dash not functioning.

General Comments:

This is a clean, tight car that drives and handles like an expensive German Car. It has a lot of miles, but it starts and drives perfectly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2005

14th Feb 2005, 08:35

30,000 miles is high mileage to you? And you wrote a review after 6,000 miles? No wonder your commentary is so sparse. Drive it for a bit, if you can tolerate being seen in a *gasp* high mileage Audi. Otherwise go out, buy yourself a new Benz, and quit griping. And try to actually critique the car. "Audi's are good" is a bit general, it would help if you were capable of specifying *why* it's good.

16th Feb 2005, 15:31

30,000 miles? Try 300,000 miles. That IS high miles.

1990 Audi 200 Turbo Quattro 2.2 turbo from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carAudi ur Quattro

Summary:

Runs, rides and looks great, LOVE IT!

Faults:

Replaced Driver seat due to torn leather. Don't forget to swap heater core in seat like I did. @139K.

Starter replaced, rather pricey. @139K.

Alternator replaced @160K (Skip the cheaper 90V and get the more $$ 110V)

Sunroof has issues, have to do some button pushing to get it to seat properly.

Power steering rack leaks like a sieve and fluid is about $30 a quart. Spending about $40 a month on fluid, but this part + labor is an expensive one to fix so for now let it flow.

Dash computer does a fun digital display light show on occasion, give her a good slap and she's good again.

Has left me stranded 3 times, while driving it decides to stop running. 2 of the 3 started back up in about an hour 3rd wouldn't start for 4 days. After each occasion goes back to running perfect. Mechanic can't figure out why??? Anyone have an idea?

Exhaust / Cat connection squeaks like crazy sometimes, but are completely tight.

General Comments:

All in all for a 14 year old car with over 200K on the odomoter. this car is fantastic. The repair cost are costly, but the car is worth it.

This car drives like it has a V8, the turbo kicks in (and you will feel it) and you go.

The seats are very comfortable and back is roomy with a very large trunk.

It is a gas guzzler, but to get a deluxe car at a economy price you pay the price.

If your looking to purchase one be sure to have a qualified Audi mechanic give the car a good look over or it could really cost you, and steer clear of the automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

15th Jan 2005, 15:18

I need a sway bar, but I look for one and I can't find it is it called something else.

10th Mar 2007, 19:43

Your car stalls because of a leaky rubber air intake boot.

Recirculating oil vapor pools up inside/bottom of this rubber boot making the rubber soft until it cracks then leaks.

Fork out fifty bucks and replace.

4th Jun 2007, 23:16

I bough a 1990 audi turbo, but any gauges work's on dash board like gas gauge, speedometer, temperature ect, ect, any help?

12th Apr 2009, 09:10

There is a transistor on the rear of the instrument cluster, if it is bad it will allow your gages you describe not to work. It is a small square black transistor about 3/8" X 3/8", and 1/8" high, with three prongs coming out of it, in a fork like config.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews