1992 Audi 80 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1992 Audi 80 2.0 petrol from Germany

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A German tank

Faults:

Electrical pump of the central locking system failed at 80.000 km in 1999.

One of the rear disk brake assemblies started to leak hydraulic fluid in 2002 at 100.000 km, a costly repair because both sides had to be exchanged.

Apart from that nothing in between service intervals.

General Comments:

This car is one of the most solid cars ever built in Germany, particular in its class.

Although it only has the weakest engine (90 hp) with the Monotronic fuel injection it produces enough torque to never feel underpowered.

What I do not like is the sound between 120 and 140 km/h, the overall frequency then becomes very unpleasant.

Everything in this car handles well and the road grip is even better than in a 1979 Volkswagen Golf GTI that I remember well for its go-cart-like handling. Inside and outside finish is still superb, even after 11 years and without having paid too much attention except for the odd visit to the car wash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

9th Jan 2006, 16:45

I also have the 90HP engine. It is indeed very noisy at 3900RPM (which equals 130 km/h in 5th gear). The car is very well built and the breakdowns don't come along that often. Despite the lack of HP, I still like the engine. Because it's a 2 liter you have plenty of torque at low revs. It's also very economical for a petrol engine of that size. The car has a fantastic gear box and the visibility is superb. The only thing I don't like is the overpowered power steering and the super soft suspension. You don't feel the car as much as you want to feel it and the diving while accelerating/breaking makes me often feel sick. But when you fit some sporty springs it should be over. It's just a great car. And I'm going to enjoy it as long as possible.

4th Sep 2006, 05:33

The 2 litre is slow, but go for the 2l 16v. I'm sure you will see why the suspension is how it is because it handles at 155mph.

1992 Audi 80 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance39256 miles

Summary:

A brilliant car.A most keep

Faults:

It would get an air bubble in the fuel injection slowing down the performance.

General Comments:

The car is quick and sleek

I love the way the cars nose shouts up in the air as soon as you change gear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

1992 Audi 80 2.0E 2.0 single poimt inj. from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 single poimt inj. Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPorsche 928

Summary:

Smooth with quality build

Faults:

Fitted a new radiator... quite cheaply and east to do.

Temperature gage sometimes needs a tap or knock to come on and start working.

General Comments:

Very impressive build quality.

A comfortable ride, smooth and quiet.. a nice car with economy (the E in 2.0E is for econony) with single point injection.

It is built for economy rather than performance.

Galvanized body with 10yr guarantee apparently... no rust and looks good still..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2002

22nd Aug 2002, 14:34

The "E" in 2.0E indicates that the car is fuel-injected -- "Einspritzung" in German. Audis with carburetted engines many times have an "S" instead, like 1.8S. Funny enough, my Audi 2.0E '92 also has temperamental fuel and temperature gauges too.

11th Nov 2002, 05:31

I own a 1992 Audi 80. Both fuel and temperature gauges had the same problems. I had to change the temperature gauge twice and I'm going to do the same with the other one. The lambda sensor failed twice, but at nearly 200.000 km the car is still very good and nice looking. Too bad for the service prices in Rome, Italy.

17th Feb 2003, 11:35

I bought my 1992 Audi 80 2:0E in 1997 and love it still. It has been very reliable and looks as smart as the day I bought it.

24th Apr 2004, 00:50

I got problem with my Audi 80 2.0E regarding the condition of overheating, what causes it?

25th Oct 2005, 11:24

We have a silver 2.0E Sport and she is my wife's baby now that the kids are grown.

Temp and fuel gauges are a joke and a collapsed timing belt tensioner cost us a fair bit for a re-con head at 130,000 miles.

Apparently it has a super charger... she is however more sedate and gentle than sporty, but you could drive off into the sunset for miles and listen to her purr.

And what a looker for all those miles!

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews