1993 Audi 80 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1993 Audi 80 16v 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carAudi AUDI 80 Auto 2.0 8v

Summary:

Good when it works

Faults:

Coolant sensor

Lambda probe

Idle valve

Fuel injection this caused the car to die on the motor way. I had the car checked out and found that the fuel pressure was iregular. Fault found was Mixture controll unit which incorporates the air flow meter (AIR BOX AREA) Have not fixed this yet due to it costing £

General Comments:

Very nice to drive when it wasn't pinking. If the 16v unit pinks it means its knackered as the timing is ECU controlled and you will soon have a rather expensive bill on your hands.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2004

5th Jan 2005, 11:09

I currently also own a same car and have exactly the same problems with it: coolant sensor, lambda probe died, idle control valve sticking. Besides that I also have a bad fuel pump which does not provide sufficient fuel pressure, faulty temperature and fuel level gages. Some severe electrical problems too: short circuiting, cables burning out and so on. The car has 125000 km on it.

Overall, I'm quite happy with the build quality of the car and handling, but it has way too much problems with the engine and electrics/electronics. Too bad.

1993 Audi 80 Avant 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance251000 miles
Previous carAudi 80

Summary:

Total dependability

Faults:

Two Batteries- diesel is hard on them.

New disks all round at 165,000.

Alternator at 140,000.

Wiring to tailgate lights chafed.

New clutch at 185,000 miles.

Rear shock absorbers at 225,000.

General Comments:

At 251,000 miles car does not rattle, everything works and it feels like it will keep going for ever.

Body and interior immaculate apart from chips on the bonnet which are leading to flaking of the top layer of paint. No rust as it is fully galvanized.

Unbelievably reliable and economical (46mpg), but as spares are pricey it's a good job it is!!

Not a performance car, but a workhorse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2004

1993 Audi 80 2.6 V6 Quattro 2.6 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.6 V6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Perhaps the one I had was not a good example?

Faults:

Had to replace the power steering pump at just 90,000kms!

Fuel pump sender unit wouldn't register below 1/2 tank.

Unexplained loss of power (which even the useless local Fuel Injection 'specialist' couldn't diagnose (turned out to be one corroded joint)

Wouldn't start one cold morning.

Central locking was so slow to operate.

Front doors suddenly sagged slightly.

Big problem was finding a mechanic who really knew about these cars!

General Comments:

Over rated. Even with the quattro it didn't seem very confident in the dry and was good in the wet largely because of its lack of power!

Too expensive to run with too many major repairs for such a 'young' car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2003

1993 Audi 80 2.3 E 2.3 5 Cylinder EFi from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 5 Cylinder EFi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

A good value prestige buy

Faults:

Electric Cooling fan motor blew at 110,000 km. Replaced with 2nd hand part for $700 AU.

All, but one speaker remained at the end of its time with me.

Occasionally the electrics wouldn't work when I started the car on hot sunny days. But when restarted would fix itself. Went away after one summer...

Engine would run very badly on cold mornings, and would not be responsive at all. When I put my foot down to accelerate it would almost stall before taking off. My mechanic said it was a timing problem, but it was never fixed completely.

Glove box would not shut correctly.

General Comments:

Was a great car and I owned it from new for eight years.

Drove it to Melbourne and Brisbane a number of times and the car is a fantastic cruiser with a very responsive engine and transmission. I had the 5 Cylinder version which I've heard is the best engine available in these cars, and having driven a V6 and 2.0 I would have to agree!

I had the optional leather and cruise, both which stood up very well to regular use.

Did not service at dealers after warranty expired due to high cost. Audi specialist provided better service anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

1993 Audi 80 16V 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Harsh ride and disappointing performance for a car that still looks great

Faults:

The bushes on the front wish bone suspension needed replacing. The car pinks very badly when the car is accelerating and when running hot. It has now developed an annoying whistle when accelerating.

General Comments:

Quite possibly the most uncomfortable car I have owned. Looks wise, hasn't dated that badly and as expected the body work is excellent, but the paint is fading in parts (don't buy a red one). Performance is adequate, but expect to be embarrassed on twisty roads, but makes up for it on the motorways, got me from Liverpool to London in 3&1/4 hours. Engine is a bit harsh at speed added to the hard ride it's hard work driving the car on long distances. Boot space is poor for an estate, but overall leg room is good even for passengers. Overall not impressed so far, I expected a lot more, had the car for 4 months now and looking to change it. Very low miles for year, the guy who had it before me was a hermit, so anyone interested?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2002

16th Dec 2002, 16:44

Can you tell me why the audi whistles when you hit the gas and stops when you take your foot off?

13th Nov 2004, 09:34

Your car will soon be braking down!! My 16v has the same problems it would pink under 3/4 to full throttle. I was 180 miles away from home when thecar died. The fuel injection unit is faulty. Irregular pressure is causing the problems then it will just die. I was quoted £915 to have the mixture controller unit changed and that was with second hand parts!!! SELL IT QUICK!!!

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews