1990 Audi 90 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1990 Audi 90 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

This is the most reliable, inexpensive car with great performance

Faults:

The alarm and power locks malfunctioned at 135,000 miles.

Air conditioner never worked since I bought it.

Needed new catalytic converter at 160,000 miles.

Complex electrical problem cost me $285 at 165,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very reliable car.

Handles nicely.

Very original looking body.

Very hard to work on this car.

Great gas mileage. About 25 to 30 miles per gallon.

Sunroof doesn't work all the time.

A broken passenger window costs a lot more money than the average Honda or Ford.

The engine ticks if you let the oil run low.

Ever since I first owned the car, the engine knocked rapidly at revoltions per minute of 1800 to 2600. Finally fixed it.

Exhaust caused lots of rattling when accelerating. Finally learned how to fix it.

Power steering system makes noises when turning at slow speeds.

Sometimes there will be a ticking noise coming from under the steering column inside the car.

Paint is faded on some parts of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2005

2nd Mar 2014, 06:51

I believe the ticking noise under the steering wheel could be the relay for the seat heaters.

When you turn the heat down to a lower number, it starts cycling the relay rapidly. I thought it might wear out the relay, so I just turn it off when the seat gets warm.

1990 Audi 90 E 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Luxury, performance, reliability and looks in one affordable package!

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with the car. Hopefully it will stay that way since it has been well looked after and not neglected.

General Comments:

This car is awesome, it's a very smooth drive and the 5 cylinder engine makes a unique and very pleasant sound.

Passed an MOT with no failures at all, not bad for a 14 year old car in my opinion.

Everything under the bonnet is clean and tidy.

Fuel wise I expected it to be expensive, but it surprised me, I'm managing 30 miles per gallon - which for a 2.3 is nice.

If you can get hold of one of these cars - don't let it go, its luxury at a decent price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2004

1990 Audi 90 20V quattro 2.3 20V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3 20V Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carOpel Rekord

Summary:

A secondhand mid-performance bargain

Faults:

This car has only let me down once:

Plastic gear on distributor broke (this is a known design flaw - replacement has metal gear)

The following replacements I consider fair wear and tear for a 10-12 yr old car:

1 wheel bearing.

1 thermostat.

Front brake hoses.

1 rear brake caliper.

1 main radiator.

Rear discs and pads.

1 CV boot.

General Comments:

An excellent car which I will only replace when it drops dead and then only with another Audi.

A great secondhand buy as it is undervalued by the market (in the UK at least - for the money it should get 10/10 for nearly every thing)

My only criticisms would be:

The size of the boot - very small for a car of this size and.

Fuel consumption - a little high for a car of this performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2002

28th May 2003, 10:44

I love my 20V! It hasn't let me down ever and certainly handles Ontario winters with ease.

I'm in my 8th. year with the vehicle and have driven it about 170,000 kilometers. While it does like to consume fuel at a rate disproportionate to its performance, I have no real complaints other than it seems to want to shed its side moldings with some regularity. (bid deal eh!)

In respect of maintenance, nothing untoward has occurred except for a dealer botched timing belt change...

I'll give the car up when they pry the keys from my cold, dead fingers.

Regards all...Peter.

6th Jun 2003, 16:42

I am about to trade for a 94 90 s audi. The engine has been replaced with a used engine. I have to keep adding antifreeze, but have no puddles underneath? The windshield washer container is in the left fender, how is that removed? and lastly what is the best repair manual for this model Audi? Appreciate any responses!

29th Nov 2003, 05:44

Mine was loosing coolant like no tomorrow with no sign of a leak. Found out in the end it was loosing as steam from the hose connections for the heater matrix on the bulkhead. Look for signs of spray and gunk. You can smell the stuff too.

8th Mar 2004, 16:33

I have owned my 1990 20V for 4yrs now and It's great. It has just notched up 170000 miles without showing any signs of stopping here. It uses a bit of oil, and the electric windows work 95% of the time. Most importantly it still gets to 60mph quicker than my neighbours VW Golf 16V and continues up to 147mph (well once anyway).

Buy one and it will be a love affair for life.

Andy.

17th Apr 2004, 17:58

My next car is going to be an Audi90 20v - its my Boss' old Car he has no use for it as he has a new Audi now. Having seen the performance of this car - I'm very impressed and the reliability - well that's solid German Engineering at its best. Good review though, this car is awesome - I just can't wait to get it now.

18th Sep 2007, 17:25

My audi 90 20 valve had a few things go bad I've had fuel injenction problems also my clutch has had to be replaced, but I love my car it runs great.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews