2002 Audi A2 Reviews

2002 Audi A2 Sport 1.6 FSI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 FSI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

I would buy another! Great city car with big car feel

Faults:

ECG pipe cracked.

Brakes squeaked because a caliper needed attention.

Water pipe & needed a cam belt as it's 7 years old and has only done 40k.

General Comments:

I love the styling, the cabin is high class, and the switch gear is high quality Audi equipment as you would expect.

The ride is firm, the space in the car is brilliant!

Lots of style, and practical too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2009

2002 Audi A2 SE 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A very reliable, sturdy car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my car, I've only had to replace a windscreen wiper and two front tyres.

General Comments:

The reason why I got this car in the first place was the reputation of the sturdy, loyal and efficiency of Audi.

So far I have not been let down. Like I previously commented, I've just had the car over a year and that's all I've had to replace is a windscreen wiper and two front tyre's.

I'm very happy with the interior, but wish I had more of a view when looking at an angle between the drivers side window and the windscreen; I feel there's a bit of a blind spot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2008

2002 Audi A2 1.4 TDiSE 1.4 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 155

Summary:

Great, how's that?

Faults:

Electrical fault, the window regulators.

Sump gasket.

Door rubber warped.

General Comments:

Good points:

Brilliant build quality!

I get 60mpg!

Servicing every 32,000 miles! service costs £180-300 alternating.

50,000 miles out of a set of tyres! so buy good tyres, don't put rubbish on, you get what you pay for.

Seats fold down, and come out, great for tip trips.

Climate is very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

2002 Audi A2 SE 1.4Tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4Tdi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

New engine after 8 months

Turbo pipe comes adrift

Bad rear view

Poor suspension

Mecanno set - bonnet lifts off and you put it on the ground - not handy if you are on the hard shoulder.

General Comments:

Very unreliable for an Audi

Excellent fuel consumption, but false economy as vehicle is so unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

17th Sep 2003, 00:12

The A2 is only a relatively new model! Not pleased to hear that they suffer same quality and reliability concerns as their bigger A4 brethren. Why do Audi's apparently reak of quality yet suffer so may expensive repair problems and reliability issues so often? Come on Audi, log onto this web site and get to know your customers. We don't only want stylish vehicles that look good. We want substance as well.

2002 Audi A2 Sport 1.4tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4tdi Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Bora

Summary:

A reliable feisty sexy companion

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

This little car is fantastic. I run it as a company car and make a fortune as it is so economical!

The design is one which people either love or hate, although most love it. Men always comment on the lovely alloy wheels.

Our other car is a convertible Audi TT, but to be quite honest I only use the TT if its sunny and I can have the roof down. I just wish audi would bring out a soft top version of the A2 as I am completely smitten and am buying another one this year when the 53 plate comes out! Adorable!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

13th May 2003, 03:40

My I enquiry to what "53 plate" is about?

I am unable to locate any other reference to this.

30th Jun 2003, 11:52

53 plate relates to the period in which the car was first registered

03 means the first part (1st Mar~31st Aug)of 2003

53 means the second part (1st Sept~30 Apr)of 2003

And so on 04/54 05/55 06/56.

Tony Jackson.

2002 Audi A2 1.4 Tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Tdi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carCitroen Xantia

Summary:

I will buy another

Faults:

Only fault has been the service flap release catch needing a small adjustment, took mechanic about two minutes, and was free.

General Comments:

Very nippy around town, and leaves petrol cars on motorway with the torque.

Very direct steering, handles brilliantly when out playing on back roads.

Seats firm and comfortable, excellent driving position.

Fuel economy has been excellent, worst has been 49MPG, best has been 73MPG with reasonably economical driving, average around 60MPG.

Well worth the original outlay as I have found the car to be extremely well built (no rattles, whistles or squeaks) tyre wear is good and servicing at around 30000 miles looks like it will be cheap too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

19th Aug 2004, 13:00

We bought a brand new A2 just over one year ago - we have had nothing but problems. Rattles, squeaks, suspension snapped. Two faulty engine valves - resulting in the car completely losing all power, car was towed away. We visit our garage at least every 6 weeks. I will never buy Audi again; they have really let themselves down with this car and the after service!

2002 Audi A2 SE 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Bag of bones

Faults:

Electrical faults, lots of them.

General Comments:

Good idea, bad in practice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

19th Aug 2004, 13:04

I totally agree with the fact that this car too, sounds like the same expensive load of rubbish we bought.

19th Jul 2005, 06:42

The second most unrelaible car I've ever had in 40 years driving!!!

The most unreliable? - another a2 - the first was so bad audi had to give me another one!!! I should have declined.

Pete.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 7 reviews