2001 Audi A3 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2001 Audi A3 S3 1.8 turbo petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance12000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

A beautiful, but expensive, toy

Faults:

There was a leak in the air conditioning system, but this was repaired under warranty.

The left front window needed the electric motor replacing, but this was repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

The Audi S3 is a fantastic car. Its turbo-charged engine makes good power, especially high in the rev range when the turbo is at full boost.

The recaro leather seats are nice and supportive, especially while cornering.

The xenon headlights illuminate the road well, and they look good too!

However, visibility is quite poor-especially when reversing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2003

2001 Audi A3 1.9 TD from Germany

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A nice first car

Faults:

The transmission cover tears easily. The bumpers need to be replaced even after a minimal collision.

General Comments:

The car looks good, and its great for city driving. On the highways it can get up to decent speeds, but it is slow to get there and its best to have a nice stereo to cover the noise of the engine. Indeed the biggest drawback of this car is the noise of the engine. The cabin is roomy and stylish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002

25th Jul 2002, 06:30

Great review. Obviously from a pro. Guy really knows what he is talking about.

2001 Audi A3 1.6 from Sweden

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Nice car, but overrated

Faults:

An electric window needed repairing after 1 month due to a window seal in the passenger door being faulty.

The dash and driver's door squeak when the car is cold.

The rear door to the boot rattles continuously. I believe it's the lock.

General Comments:

The A3 is a nice car, no doubt. I think however when you pay that extra bit you expect quality. Compared to my old Ford, the ride, noise and interior were not vastly different. Next time I will buy a cheaper car and change it more often instead.

Small cabin. The chassis is the same as the VW Golf, but the cabin is a lot smaller than the Golf.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

2001 Audi A3 TDi Attraction 1.9 turbo diesel (130 bhp) from Germany

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel (130 bhp) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance962 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A high-performance lemon

Faults:

The turbocharger stopped functioning at 699km.

The exhaust had to be replaced also at 699km.

Driver's seat had to be replaced at 962km.

General Comments:

I waited patiently for my Audi A3 for five months. Then, when I finally received it on September 28, 2001, I have had nothing but problems.

As detailed above, the turbocharger stopped working as I went up a hill after only driving 699km.

The exhaust had to be replaced as a result of oil seeping into the exhaust, it was subsequently heated, causing the car to fill with smoke through the airconditioning (don't ask me how...).

After having had this repaired (repair time 9 days, as parts were unavailable and had to be ordered), the driver's seat is currently (today, October 25, 2001 being replaced). Of course, the parts that are required weren't available and have had to be ordered so God only knows when the car will be driveable.

So far, the car has been in the garage due to the seat problem for two days. Total time in garage so far for a four week old car is 11 days and counting which isn't bad for a car that cost over DM53000 ($US27000 approx.). Everything has been fixed so far under the warranty, but the dealer that I have to deal with (it's a company car and therefore I have to go to a specific dealer) is useless - friendly, incompetent, they blatantly lie to the customer. The dealer is Auto Hofmann Wiesloch AG in Wiesloch 69168. Stay clear of these guys!

I do not think that I will buy another Audi, despite the amazing performance that this car offers (when it is driveable). It is a good looking, solid car, but unfortunately the poor manufacturing qualities have let it down. I gave running costs 10 because it is an economical car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2001

2001 Audi A3 Sport Quattro 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance17500 kilometres
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Superb performance, you can't go wrong

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Fantastic to drive, performance is excellent - 180BHP. The six speed gear-box is great, but 2nd is a little short. I have found there are very few corners that I can't take flat!

The dealer has been very helpful when it was serviced and was also genuinely interested in any problems that I may have had, very refreshing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews