2004 Audi A4 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2004 Audi A4 1.8 Q 1.8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Faults:

EPS Control unit light.

General Comments:

This is a great car!

It works beautifully. It drives beautifully.

The only point I want to make is, if you take it to the dealership for service, Audi will call you approx. 4 days later to ask how your service was.

BE HONEST!

If your dealership needs work, point out in which areas they are lacking...

The product won't improve overall unless you are honest.

I complained several times about turnaround time at the dealership to Audi. Lo-and-behold, the times and quality improved! I even got loaners.

So, point of the story is Audi needs to know, honestly, how good or bad your service was. Only then can they improve a lagging dealership, which benefits all of us!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2006

2004 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Outstanding

Faults:

The fuse for the windshield washer system blew.

General Comments:

The build quality and performance of this car is absolutely first rate.

The Quattro all wheel drive system is outstanding.

It is much better looking than a BMW 3-Series.

The interior ergonomics are perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2006

2004 Audi A4 Avant 1.9 TDI (130hp) from Belgium

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI (130hp) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carAudi VW Passat 1.9 TDI (130hp)

Summary:

Perfect combination between sportive driving and comfort

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I am very satisfied of my car an I realy advice this car to people who have do drive al lot of km each year and want a good combination between sportive driving and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

2004 Audi A4 1.8T from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Avoid it like the plague, unless you really like hanging out in service departments

Faults:

The key less entry remote only works about 8 feet from the car.

The brake light went on and the engine stalled.

Both front blinker sockets corroded and failed.

The car makes a grinding noise at start every time.

The steering wheel was incorrectly installed from the factory.

The passenger side door's window motor assembly was not fastened from the factory.

The driver's side door handle stuck open.

The driver's side door has several items loose and rattling around.

The driver's side window does not go up all the way making significant wind noise.

The center console was missing a piece from the factory.

The left rear suspension rattles at low speeds.

The dash/ instrument panel malfunctioned a couple times.

I am probably forgetting some.

General Comments:

The car has been in for unscheduled service 31 days since I bought it new. The repairs have been disappointing in the extreme. They have failed to notice or repair a problem that they say they have fixed. Most of the time it went in for repair, it came back with a different problem. They always said it was a new failure, but it just so happened to be in the area they were doing the previous work. Any way, it's a great car if it works. I have the front wheel drive version and drive 60% highway 40% city and get 29mpg overall. That is really great for a good performing quasi-luxury vehicle at these gas prices. That said, I'll get a Toyota next time, even though they are ugly. I have always had good luck with them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2005

23rd Sep 2005, 13:40

Well folks, I'm a Canadian. Love the country, hate the black flies.

I own an A4 Quattro. Love the car, hate the repair costs. The car delivers good performance and fuel economy. My wife drives it in the winter, it has heated seats, she loves it.

We've put about 200k on the car and expect to put another 200k or so on it before we get another one.

We just lived through one of the hottest summers on record. More than forty days where the temperature hit 30 degrees C or better. The car and the A/C worked flawlessly.

9th Oct 2005, 08:54

My ownership experience of my A4 Quattro can be best described as follows. "Owning an A4 is like keeping a mistress".

I love this car even though it's a bit quirky. It is expense to own and maintain. It does require frequent attention and there are times you wish you never bought it. Things like power windows that stop working, transmission leaks and the like are constantly popping up to annoy you and to spend money on.

Don't buy a used A4 if you're on a limited budget, especially those that are just off lease with expired warranties. Purchasing a new one is not cheap. Ether way, the cost per mile is about five times that of a Hyundai Accent.

However, if you do buy one you're in for a wonderful driving experience. My A4 Quattro is magnificent in winter. There aren't many cars on the road that can match it.

Simply put, I drive one because I'd rather eat steak than hamburger.

19th Oct 2005, 09:10

1.8T bad, 3.0 V6 good.

24th Jan 2006, 22:02

I also own a 2004 A4 1.8 Quattro.

I love this car!

I almost wonder if some of the problems you guys are incurring are happening because of poor dealership work or poor quality prior ownership!

My car is a pleasure to drive in the snow, running at least 10 to 15 miles per hour faster on snowy roads than the average car! And it still feels under-control.

One of the big things the Germans have over most of the ordinary Japanese competition is that they are tremendous 'FUN TO DRIVE'! (Especially in winter!)

So think about the reasons you buy a car.

Do you want boring, boxy, and predictable?

Or do you want Sexy, Fun, and Chic! AND YES RELIABLE !!

Think about it!!

2004 Audi A4 1.8T 1.8 turbo from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Bora

Summary:

A quality premium car

General Comments:

The build quality of this car is astounding. The tight shut-lines and perfect paint exudes almost perfect visual quality.

The same quality carries on into the interior with no cheap plastics to be found anywhere, unlike some other premium marques.

The Multitronic gearbox is a marvel to drive, especially in hilly areas. It is uncanny how the car chooses the perfect ratios when descending a hill without you doing anything. Audi's CVT does not exhibit any of the rubber banding effect found on other belt based CVTs.

Ride is on the firm side, but not at all uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2004

2004 Audi A4 Cabriolet 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance8100 miles
Previous carAudi Cabriolet

Summary:

This car is a lemon

Faults:

After 1 month, the transmission control module failed. I was then without the car for 1 month.

More transmission problems now continue. Told I will be without the car for at least 3 weeks while they dismantle the transmission piece by piece.

Car jerks when coming to a complete stop.

Car jerks when shifting from reverse to drive.

Passenger seat button broken.

Main cup holder faceplate fell off.

Battery cover broken off.

General Comments:

In the short amount of time that this car has been cooperating, it has been a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

8th Sep 2004, 02:55

Are you serious? It's a new Audi!

19th Feb 2005, 17:39

This is Audi quality???

10th Apr 2005, 18:22

Yikes! Even my Dodge hasn't been that bad! How about an update -- you only had 8,100 miles on it when you wrote this...

20th Nov 2005, 22:44

My car jerks too - it's a problem that is known to Audi techs -basically they told me that if it doesn't get any worse, then it won't get any worse (go figure!!) but IF it does get worse, then a complete part change is covered by your warranty - they just don't like to do it, but they will, because they know of and acknowledge the problem.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 16 reviews