2002 Audi A6 SE TDI Avant 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Moon miles and still going strong - pricey maintenance, BUT massively impressed!

Faults:

Air con compressor at 60k and again at 170k. Appears to have failed again, but can stay broken!

Turbo dismantled and cleaned at 180k miles - not a problem since - cheaper than a new turbo!

Central locking failed at 210k - £300 repair.

Numerous suspension components (I see these as consumables, but it does consume them!).

Maintenance costs (including tyres, MOT etc) has run at approx £1k per year...

General Comments:

Remember this car has done 210,000 miles... Burns little to no oil, and starts first time every time. Has never broken down on me.

Still on original clutch, CV joints, shocks, exhaust pipe, brake calipers. No rattles, loose trim - interior "looks new"... no signs of wear, and the seats are still firm and comfortable!

Yes, it's been expensive to maintain, but it's a relaxed and comfortable drive, very economical (still getting over 45 MPG on a mix of local A/B roads and motorway - a recent trip to Brighton got over 50 MPG at motorway speeds). It still has good power, and can easily take on steep hills in 4th.

It has been a magnificent estate car, and I would definitely have another - to my mind, it's the best looking estate around as well.

Fantastic build quality, great engine, comfortable and spacious... well done Audi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2013

14th Jan 2013, 12:31

A great review... it's good when you get a great car. I feel exactly the same about my 2005 Volvo V70 - except that's done 294,000 miles and is still going very strong!!!

2002 Audi A6 Avant Sport 1.9 TDI 130 bhp turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good used car

Faults:

The door contact sensor failed, resulting in the door being very difficult to shut: £250 to repair at a main dealer.

The indicator relay failed. The part was £25-ish, and easy enough to fit myself.

General Comments:

I really like the mechanicals of this car, the engine is utterly fantastic; far, far better than the subsequent 2.0 diesel.

I get 47 MPG when driving normally, and a big shove from the turbo when I put my foot down. Generally I drive quite sedately, and the engine will happily pull in any gear at just above idle speed. However, it'll zoom to the red-line too.

The brakes are great, and the handling is also fantastic, but ride is a bit harsh because of the sports suspension.

The car is very, very comfortable, I could drive it all day, the cabin is spacious, well laid out and a nice place to be. However, the trim rattles and squeaks from all over the car! The sun visors and boot cover especially, it is very annoying.

The dealers are very much hit and miss; there are some very bad ones, and some tolerable ones. Any work on this car will be expensive, so if you go to the dealer, get clued up on your vehicle, and understand what they tell you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th February, 2012

2002 Audi A6 2.7 turbo from North America

Faults:

I bought the car with 130,000 miles on it, and it was said to be in great condition.

About a week after I purchased the car for 7,000 dollars, the front wheels would just lock up on me with no warning, no matter how fast I was going. The traction control light would come on, but I wasn't getting any codes back that led me in that direction. Turns out it was the anti lock brake pump was going out, and the reason the traction control light was coming on, is because the traction control and the ABS are tied together.

So I got that fixed, and shortly after that, my car would turn over, but not start the first time, but it would start on the second try; that lasted about a week, and now my car won't start at all. I'm still not sure what is keeping it from starting (I'm sure it's something with the fuel system; fuel pump, electronic throttle control, fuel filter) or I guess there is a possibility it could be the timing belt, but I'm not sure.

To make a long story short, I bought my 2002 Audi A6 2.7t 5 months ago, and it has been in the shop for 4 of those 5 months. So it may be considered a well built car, but I assure you, it will be the last Audi I purchase in my life!!!

General Comments:

Nothing but problems!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2010

3rd Dec 2010, 02:39

What's with all these people who buy cars with intergalactic mileage and expect no problems from them?

10th May 2013, 23:56

I bought an Avalon with over 160,000 miles and it gave me no problems until 205,000+ when I sold it.

I now drive a Honda Civic that I've had for four years with no problems and 139k miles. Just the basics.

Is this too much to ask for from Audi? Maybe it is... because all the Audi/VW owners I've known report the same electrical shortages and money draining issues reported above. Myself included. My old Jetta in the late 90s had serious electrical issues, which was, ironically, the reason for its demise at 6 years old.

My question is... aren't Audis supposed to be top notch, well-built luxury cars? Some of us are not rich enough to buy new and repair multiple poor quality issues on a poorly-built car that is supposed to be a top notch luxury machine. In the future stick with Honda, Infiniti, Lexus, Acura, and Toyota for quality luxury vehicles. Don't take my word for it... go to those areas on Carsurvey. You will see less unhappy face icons than you see under the German brands.

Don't get me wrong... all brands have their money pit cars. The difference is... ALL German branded cars are money pits - especially after 100k miles. Like the US (GM, Ford, Chrysler), it's how Germany keeps their prosperous economy going -AKA greed-... by keeping us peons coming back to purchase more cars, repairing more problems, etc. Whereas the Japanese just want to be #1, the best at whatever they do, and they are.

11th May 2013, 17:57

The problem is that all the "luxury" German cars sold in America are always the highest equipment level ones with the most complicated engines. The Avalon has absolutely no complications except more cylinders. You don't have the base engines and basic trim levels available anywhere else. That's why these "luxury" brands keep selling in Europe - they make do with cloth manual seats, wheel covers, no radar cruise control, and more basic engines not available in North America. They are very mainstream cars over there - 'premium' but not luxury, often equivalent Fords can be bought with prices nearing or matching them. If repairs were the sole basis (and these cars actually sell CHEAPER in America than Europe), they would long have been dead.