Bedford Rascal Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1989 Bedford Rascal 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5500 miles
Most recent distance135650 miles

Summary:

A superb love wagon

Faults:

None, regular servicing and good care has kept it in fine nick although I now I've said that it will probably break down on me.

General Comments:

A fine little van, does what its supposed to do, ecomonic and reliable.

I had to put a new stereo in admittedly, but that aside, can't grumble at all.

The room in the back is not massive, but it carries as much stuff as I ever need and has enough room to get 2 people laying down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

19th Jul 2002, 17:13

Just bought my 12 yr old and a tweak on the clutch cable /gearbox and it is sweet as ever - yes - it is now a camper van for me and my dog!

4th Feb 2005, 08:59

Hey, I have a Rascal and it is going to cost me a few quid to get it looking the way I want it, but apart from that it's all cool!!. I have fitted a fat sound system for it, a few bean bags and a mini fridge for the beers. My mates love it; its just right for parking up on the beach with the side doors open and the music booming.

I locked myself out of it the other day, but fortunately they are so easy to break into aren't they!!!? I might get an alarm for mine and remote locking and some other accessories; I'm getting a sunroof for next summer too.

1989 Bedford Rascal 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance98850 miles

Summary:

Perfect for what it was designed to do

Faults:

Horn failure @ 88000 miles (£35 repair).

Water pump leak @ 96000 miles (£30).

New rear brake drums @ 94000 miles (£65).

Usual bulb failures, battery replacement and exhaust rust...

General Comments:

Although dog slow and very noisy, this has got to be the greatest vehicle I've ever owned.

Easy to drive and park, never likely to be stolen, (would you nick one...!!!) and very cheap to run and insure...

It cost just over £5000 new, has lasted 11 years of hard work &, apart from the recent onset of rust, still remains as reliable as ever... Since buying this van in 1989 I've owned 8 different cars at a total cost of about £70,000. All of these have been replaced but the Rascal still stays.

If well looked after it will last forever but make sure you've got ear plugs if you exceed 60 mph and don't EVER try to overtake anything in it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

11th Jan 2001, 11:05

I agree, I find the Rascal a perfect vehicle, it is fine for transporting a small load, economic and the space in the back is fine for 'personal use'.

25th Jan 2001, 18:35

Anybody had any trouble with an intermittent fuel pump problem?

11th Feb 2001, 07:05

Hi, the fuel pump on the Rascal is about £75.00 to replace, but you can buy a alternative pump from most outlets from around £25.00, but you will need to make a bracket to hang it on as I did and it works well.

Regards, Phillip

1989 Bedford Rascal L 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10

Faults:

Fuel transmission problems, endless rust on the bodywork, clutch prodlems, naff brakes, crap handling, crap stereo, exasperating performance, starter motor problems, speedometer stopped, various dashboard lights kept coming on.

General Comments:

This van is a bag of CRAP, NEVER BUY ONE unless you're mad. It is so rusty, I'd rather drive a skip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 1999

31st Jan 2001, 17:25

If vauxhall ever made a 1.4 Rascal (which I very much doubt), can I buy yours? My mate and I could not even squeeze a 1.2 Nova engine in one. So all I can say is I smell pork pies!

24th Nov 2001, 11:07

I agree. They are very silly vans!

22nd Jul 2002, 02:50

True. If you do decide to buy one of these quirks of fate, buy a second hand one, and with the money you save, buy a second hand welder. I was quoted £60 for the welding I needed to get mine through the MoT. SO I ADVERTISED... "MIG welder wanted, any condition so long as it works, reasonable price paid" and it worked. Now I've done all the welding myself, and still have the option of selling the MIG or keeping it. In fact I think I will put them both to work and earn some easy money!!!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews