Bentley Turbo R Reviews

1997 Bentley Turbo R 6.75 V8 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 6.75 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fabulously satisfying driving and ownership experience

Faults:

Tyre replacement all round.

ECU electrical box failed.

Steering rack fault.

General Comments:

The car is an absolute joy to own and drive.

Wonderful acceleration for such a large car, and it wafts you along in almost complete silence until you wind it up a little, and then it has a very acceptable sound track.

Looks great either stationary or in motion; superb lines and a "classic" look and feel to it.

The last of the hand-built cars from Crewe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2014

26th Mar 2014, 03:24

I agree, it's very satisfying to have a car that looks great even when it's parked up.

1996 Bentley Turbo R 6.75 turbo V8 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6.75 turbo V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carBentley Turbo R

Summary:

Fast, elegant locomotive!

Faults:

Heater core was leaking when I bought it (which I knew about).

Was due for the major service, which I was also informed of.

General Comments:

The Turbo R is the last true, hand built Bentley to come out of Crewe. My present car is my second Turbo R and third Bentley overall. While parts prices can be high, these cars were extremely well built, and if there was ever a car that truly "cossets" its passengers, this is it. I tend to rack up some serious mileage on my cars, and although my daily driver Series III XJ6 is also excellent, it can get a little uncomfortable on very long drives. The Bentley, on the other hand, is simply remarkable in that respect.

It's important to have a specialist who can look after the car, as several routine operations require special tools, such as changing brake rotors. Otherwise, you'll be hard pressed to find more bang for your buck elsewhere. And after all, just like a Ferrari, every man should own a Bentley at least once in his life ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2011

1990 Bentley Turbo R RL 6.75 V8 from Hong Kong

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6.75 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance33000 kilometres
Previous carJaguar XJS

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Nothing... it is perfect.

General Comments:

Buying a 1990 Bentley Turbo RL with a mere 30,000k on the clock was the best move I have ever made. The car has one previous owner who used it only rarely. Part of a stable of 7 cars for the previous owner who maintained the Bentley superbly. It was like a brand new car.

Nothing beats its presence and nothing beats that rumbling growling engine... it is a car to love forever...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2009

1996 Bentley Turbo R RL 6.7 from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48500 miles
Most recent distance49808 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

This is motoring at it's best

Faults:

The Right hand head gasket blew at 49600 miles.

General Comments:

This car is by far the best I have driven or owned.

It goes beyond all my high expectations on performance.

It transports you safely in the richest comfort while having the capability of evolving to perform like a high performance sports car in a split second!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2007

1989 Bentley Turbo R 6.75 litre V8 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.75 litre V8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 kilometres
Most recent distance93000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

Like driving a small English drawing room with a spitfire engine attached to the front

Faults:

Failed to start once in the first week of ownership, trucked it to the local Bentley dealer, worked fine when plugged into the diagnostic machine and has never happened again. Get this - the dealer didn't charge me a cent as they couldn't find anything wrong after trying for 4 hours! First service was $2,000 after 12 months of trouble free motoring.

General Comments:

Unbelievably comfortable and cosseting. Makes other luxury cars seem pointless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2007

17th Apr 2011, 06:37

It is remarkable, but most probably it was a computer fault, which was corrected when the Bentley people plugged in the diagnostic device!

I know you have cheap petrol, but is the Bentley Turbo R more thirsty than the Mercedes S Class? I have acquired one recently, but I have to pass it on because the repair bill was too high, and that the annual maintenance is again too costly!

Hope that you are still driving and enjoying the car...

Rgds, Henry Hsu.

1997 Bentley Turbo R 6.75 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6.75 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6400 miles
Most recent distance67500 miles
Previous carJensen Interceptor

Summary:

A truly amazing automobile in every sense of the word

Faults:

Interior light fault when purchased.

General Comments:

A superb piece of (old) engineering that never ceases to please when driving.

It is without doubt the finest car I have owned and driven.

It is the first car I have ever got out of after a non stop 375 mile journey to have no issues with back problems.

Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants something special - but be aware of maintenance costs - it is NOT a Ford!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2007

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 14 reviews