2009 BMW 1 Series 135i 3.0 gasoline from North America

Summary:

Too much power for a crappy frame

Faults:

Cold start problems, faulty injector, body flex rattles over bumps.

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

However the cabin is very gloomy and the seats are uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2014

2009 BMW 1 Series 135i 3.0 litre twin turbo from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Totally superb M3 alternative

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Brilliant performance with handling to match, in fact I think it could handle more.

Build quality is faultless.

It will hit 37.2 mpg on a motorway run at 70mph, but mixed driving will normally reach 25mpg.

Automatic is excellent, much better than the DSG alternatives as the automatic is purely that. With the double clutch, change ups are instant.

Tyres are expensive, £425 per pair. Rear ones last 10k.

A lot quicker than I thought, it's won a lot of traffic light take offs and some top end races.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2010

8th Dec 2010, 23:14

There has been a factory recall problem with the twin turbo. Did you return yours?

2009 BMW 1 Series 125i 3.0 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Pocket dynamo. An unfolding classic

Faults:

Nothing. Just learning the control electronics takes some time and persistence; but isn't that the case with most luxury cars.

General Comments:

I couldn't wait to write this review because I feel I have an obligation to let the secret out. The 125 makes the Honda Integra (which I traded), seem very ordinary.

I cannot fault this car. It is so well designed and so well made that it just shines in every aspect (BMW take a bow - I wish all cars were made to this high standard).

Pickup and power are great (can't use much more in our crowded city traffic), fuel economy is good, handling is superb, comfort is OK (with 18" runflats) and cabin and external styling is the best around. I cannot say enough glowing words about the great styling. I am waiting for the avalanche of Japanese and Korean copy cats.

Clearly the car is still running in and feels a bit tight, but that is not noticed on the road. Now I drive to the other side of the city to pickup the Saturday morning newspaper. It is a drivers car and it makes you want to drive and drive. Corners are straightened and hills flattened with ridiculous ease. This car is destined to become one of the all time classics.

BMW has my patronage captured for many, many years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2009

22nd Jun 2009, 17:37

E82 125 Coupe.

19th Jul 2009, 02:56

I'm taking delivery of my new 125 (black) in two weeks time... now I can't wait :)

19th Jul 2009, 19:40

I guarantee you it will be the best car you have owned. Mine has not missed a beat. My wife has taken possession of it so I have to drive the 320 (E46). The 125 makes my 320 seem outdated and it only has 90,000 klm on the clock. Runs superbly also. Such a problem!

2009 BMW 1 Series 128 from North America

Summary:

Nice but not as nice as I thought it would be

Faults:

The warning lights seem to be a problem. The engine light goes on. When I called my sales person he said to open the gas cap and replace it tightly. Turn the car off and on again... the light went off. This has now happened 3 times.

Also my drivers side window leaks when I wash the car.

Front lighter never worked.

General Comments:

The cup holders are odd and don't hold average cups and then the armrest comes down on them.

The back seat windows don't have controls?

No cup holders in the back?

The car is still a BMW and therefore drives wonderfully and corners better than any other car.

I traded my Z4 for the new 1 series and now wish I had just bought another Z4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2008

27th Sep 2008, 15:38

Damn those cup holders!

6th Jul 2009, 16:52

Granted the Z4 is a beautiful car, but it has a smaller cabin than the 128 (BMW call it a 125 in Australia... the 135 is the twin turbo with 50% more power than the 125) and size seems to matter to you.

17th Oct 2009, 00:54

I wonder if this car was assembled in South Carolina or Germany. If it was made in the Carolinas then that is your first problem. If I buy a German car, I want it to be genuine German.