1987 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1987 BMW 3 Series 316 1.8 Carb from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Carb Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Faults:

Rear drums.

Throttle cable.

Drivers seat worn badly.

Electric window motor.

Battery.

General Comments:

The car still has heaps of street cred even though it's quite old now and the ladies love em!

The car tended to slide in the wet weather (spun it 360' at a wet roundabout), but 17 inch alloys, fat rubber and lowering it soon sorted that out.

The car has more power than I expected it to and the rear wheel drive is great fun, but it's no M3 and I bought the car with the faults above so I can't complain.

I was thinking of selling it but as I'm 18 and insurance being what it is it's well worth keeping!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2001

2nd Jul 2002, 09:15

Hi mate. I have just got a 1985 318i auto, and I'm 18 too. Whats your insurance like.

21st Sep 2002, 09:10

Have also added Webber carb to my 316 and sports filter which made a lot of difference to performance. Once the car got going didn't notice that much difference between it and a Clio 16v. Added GMAX suspension which improved handling, but had to much trouble keeping facing the right way in the wet after that so sold it.

1987 BMW 3 Series 325 2.6L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance259000 miles
Previous carBMW 320i

Summary:

A good economic performer with class

Faults:

Original exhaust replaced around 180,000 miles.

Transmission rebuilt around 215,000 miles.

Lower control arms now need replacing.

Air conditioning went out around 220,000 - I never investigated the cause (might be minor).

Other small misc (to-be-expected) items replaced as well as preventive maintenance.

Gasket at the oil pan has small oil leak.

Electronic module (ignition related) - I got a used replacement for less than $50.

General Comments:

This has been a GREAT car! I still prefer driving it to my wife's 1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse. It handles better and is just about as fast (maybe more on the top end).

The interior is well designed except for the lack of tilt steering wheel and no air bag (was optional in 1987).

Very low maintenance required (until around 200,000) and the engine still runs strong.

Original black paint looks great with 2 small spots (smaller than a dime) of corrosion around the rear license plate lights.

Car stranded me one time in my 11 years of ownership (due to an electronic module).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

16th Oct 2002, 21:23

The 325i has a 2.5 liter straight 6.

16th Aug 2004, 16:54

If he has a 325 (not 325i), it's a 2.7 liter I6 just like in the "e" and "es". The "i" and "is" were 2.5, as you said, and all were inline sixes.

1987 BMW 3 Series 325 2.6L inline six from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.6L inline six Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass Calais

Summary:

Excellent. Wise investment

Faults:

Gas and temperature gauge ceased working.

Front left visor broke.

Air conditioner doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car handles great. It is very reliable and comfortable. It's amazing that a car with that mileage still runs better than an Oldsmobile with much lower mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

12th May 2002, 20:22

Have you found the cause of the guages not working? How did you fix them? I have the same problem with mine.

1987 BMW 3 Series 318i 1.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carBMW E21 3 Series

Summary:

Fun and responsive, a brilliant drive

Faults:

Nothing that you can complain about for a car of this age, had to replace the rubber hoses for the radiator.

Clutch replacement at 125,000 miles. No other repairs!!

General Comments:

This car is the most reliable vehicle I have ever driven and has been subjected to daily driving in all conditions.

The engine is very responsive and smooth, still 14 years later. The engine note above 4000 rpm is fantastic, I find myself regularly pushing it to 6000 rpm before changing gear and then it's off again.

This car is no M3 in a straight line, but push the excellent chassis and engine to the limits and the 105bhp under the bonnet feels like 200. In the wet caution is required when on the limit, but it's all part of the fun.

This car is a brilliant introduction to the 3 Series range, opt for the 318is for even more fun, ultimately the M3 Evo for the real driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 48 reviews