1987 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 2 of 13

1987 BMW 3 Series 320i 2.0 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Unreliable but good looking

Faults:

Fuel tank had a leak when car was purchased (however, I wasn't told about it). Fuel leaked when tank was filled to top and quarter of petrol drained out. Tank had 1mm hole caused by rust. Tank needed replacing.

Engine would not idle when cold when vehicle was acquired. Required cold start valve replacement.

Rev counter, fuel economy indicator don't work.

Drivers window, rear left passengers electric windows don't work.

Low coolant indicator is constantly on, no matter if there is plenty of coolant.

Engine temperature indicator inaccurate, always shows temperature as being over half way when in fact it is normal.

General Comments:

Now all the major problems have been fixed, I love this car. It still has a few little things that are annoying but aren't important (rev counter, drivers window, etc). It does cost a fair bit to run but its worth it I think. It's a lovely car to drive and looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th April, 2008

16th Oct 2008, 02:17

Have since sold car. Got sick of it breaking down all the time. Developed exhaust leak and a headlight required replacement.

Wouldn't buy another BMW.

1987 BMW 3 Series 325 Gas from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Gas Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

OK ride and a lot to fix. My ego doesn't need it

Faults:

Water pump, fan & wheel bearings.

General Comments:

I paid very little for the car, and it is the only car I did not check or look over good.

Not the car my Grand Marquis was, nor should it be. 1999 vs 1987, both have over 100k. $118.00 to get 1400 miles at $3.22 a gallon. WOW!!! The pick up took $700+ for same trip.

Buy one only if you can steal it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2008

16th Apr 2008, 13:32

How much did you pay for your 325? I'm going to look at one next week but am not sure what I should look for and how much I should expect to pay.

1987 BMW 3 Series 316 4 cylinder/carb from Thailand

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder/carb Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

It may be old, but it's a classic!

Faults:

Glove box got stuck in locked position at 113K Km.

Needed new stabilizing bars in front at 110K Km.

Driver's seat is wearing at corners showing the yellowish inside cushion.

General Comments:

Car was in pretty good shape when I bought it. Still looks nice with good paint. I had to spend about a few bucks for new front stabilizing bars and general maintenance. Also the glove box got stuck and I had to buy a new lever mechanism. In all it cost about $350 US since I got her about 9 months ago. Car needs to run on 95 hi octane. 91 or gasohol lowers performance drastically. Car is small, very speedy/sporty and is fun to drive. But I get worried about all the huge SUVs and pickups around me though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2006

11th Jun 2007, 05:47

There rubbish... end of.

1987 BMW 3 Series 325 2.7 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Fun to drive and has the power you want especially if you have the manual

Faults:

Where to begin?

Ball joints and tie rods.

Clutch fan.

Shortening electrical system thanks to my brother-law's 3 years of ownership and his poor wiring of a stereo (This is now fixed).

The AC has not worked since I took possession of the vehicle back in 1998.

The car was just recently repainted since it was looking very aged.

An O2 sensor back at 105k.

The muffler and the exhaust pipes have rusted out.

New brakes and rotors at about 130k.

Driver seat is made of vinyl and is starting to show wear.

My clock works, but it does not light up like it once did.

Trunk leaks during heavy rains.

The sunroof crank has been broken (Brother-in law again).

General Comments:

I am lucky that I know how to change parts on this vehicle. I purchased a junk 325 so that I could use those parts on my car. This was a very good investment. ($250)

Fortunately, many of the parts that are on the junked 325 remain in my garage.

I have rewired the vehicle since it was basically electrocuted by my brother-in-law when he owned it for 3 years.

I have changed the suspension to tokico gas shocks and eibach performance lowering springs. The car has always handled well, but now it is tight. This was a great upgrade that I did myself.

I also painted the car at my cousin's body shop. It looks great now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2006

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 48 reviews