1997 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 13 of 13

1997 BMW 3 Series 316 SE 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102500 miles
Most recent distance103100 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Quality car for reasonable money

Faults:

Nothing yet, so fingers crossed.

General Comments:

I got a good deal on the car and am very happy.

The performance is hardly startling, however the ride quality and general feel of the car are excellent.

I have already fitted 17" wheels, and the car's look has been transformed.

I would definitely buy another BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

1997 BMW 3 Series 323i 2.5L straight six from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L straight six Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Quick, comfortable saloon

Faults:

Front kidney-shaped radiator trim broke and was replaced.

Rear suspension bushes replaced.

Front electric windows needed re-fitting to run properly within their guides.

General Comments:

This car is a very quick, comfortable saloon.

I would say the running costs (petrol, insurance etc) - and the initial cost - has been higher than other makes, but this is probably balanced by the comfort levels afforded.

This car has been a very good long distance, motorway car. The engine is very strong in any gear and sounds marvelous. However, at constant speed, it is barely noticeable - the most sound is the wind noise.

All in all, a good reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

3rd Jun 2001, 07:23

Just picked up a '98 323i SE, and it is fabulous.

The engine power is progressive and smooth and carries on well after my Primera 2.0 would have had valve bounce!

The gearbox is a delight, the brakes match the performance.

I am delighted and would not hesitate to recommend it whole-heartedly.

1997 BMW 3 Series 328 SEi Sport (E36) 2.8i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carMazda MX5 (Miata)

Summary:

A high performance cruiser

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Performance is great - 147mph top with 0-60 in 6.7 sec., although the suspension is not that good for small country roads.

Great comfort with full leather, and a switch for everything.

I cannot wait until I can afford an M3.

Overall a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

21st Dec 2000, 23:48

You need to help me set these people straight who are putting down BMW's. A lot of the other feedbacks on this site are giving BMW's low ratings. These cars really rock!

23rd Dec 2000, 08:34

I sometimes think some of these comments are from people who want to buy a modern BMW but can't afford it!! Why come on here and put them down out of envy though?

1997 BMW 3 Series 328i Sport Coupe 2.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.8 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Minor gearbox stiffness - when I asked them to check it they decided to replace the whole unit.

Minor door rattles - corrected at service.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, fast car

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 1999

1997 BMW 3 Series 323i Coupe 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing of any consequence.

General Comments:

This is a good car for the motorway. It's comfortable for my bad back and can be rushed through lanes if needed.

Two gripes.

1. It's really easy to break into. This has happened twice. However not much chance of driving it away, only getting stuff nicked.

2. Everyone else has a 3 series BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 1999

1997 BMW 3 Series 318 ti 1.9 gas from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 1.9 gas
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent blend of economy and performance. I wish it had a V6 though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 1999

1997 BMW 3 Series 323i 4 door 2.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.3 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, not a sausage. Totally reliable!

General Comments:

Glovebox rattles (really annoys my wife!), sometimes 3rd gear is difficult to get into (rare).

Apart from those very minor niggles, it has been a brilliant car, very solid and safe, fantastic cruiser on motorway, much smoother at 100mph (in Germany!) than our previous 318i, and noticeably quicker.

With the electronic controls, one of the best dashboards I've seen on any cars, apart from maybe Lexus, or the new Volvos. Steering is brilliant, very precise. Ride can be harsh over bumps, but it is a drivers car I suppose.

Passenger space is cramped with 3 in the back, and boot is awkward for luggage etc.

Definitely recommend this car to those who enjoy driving.

Really want to see the new model, to see how they've improved on a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

2nd May 2001, 04:55

BMW 323 is actually a 2.5ltr.

13th May 2001, 03:52

The 323i is the 2.5 engine. However it has about 25 less BHP. This is because it has a different manifold, exhaust and ECU.

4th Nov 2008, 06:36

Hi, I'm from Australia and I have a BMW 323i 4 door, but I have a feeling that the last owners or owners before that have changed the name, and I think that it may not be a 323i. I'm really confused.

1997 BMW 3 Series 328i 2.8 six cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.8 six cylinder
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

The electric sunroof got stuck but it was an easy item to fix with the manual override.

General Comments:

This is an excellent handling and performing road machine. My only regret is that I couldn't afford the M3, also I would have gotten the sports package even with the higher tire costs associated. The craftmanship is excellent. It is so nice to have a new BMW again after driving a couple of previously owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

1997 BMW 3 Series 328i Convertible 2.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
Engine and transmission 2.8 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Very little. Clicking clutch and a flat tyre (my fault) is all.

General Comments:

Totally delighted by performance, handling and comfort. Hard to believe that it is a convertible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 1997

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 44 reviews