1983 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1983 BMW 5 Series 520i 2L 6cyc from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2L 6cyc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres

Summary:

Don't buy unless it has service records. Overall a good car

Faults:

Fan Belt, Central locking, air con needs re gassing. hard to start in the cold. cracked dash.

General Comments:

The car is slow unless really revved hard. comford it great. fuel consumption is average for a 6 cyc. looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2006

6th Oct 2009, 10:17

I don't see any reason why the writer gave it a bad review. All the things you mention are normal wear and tear. They are very minor issues for a 25 plus yr old car!! Please be fair to the BMW.

1983 BMW 5 Series 520i 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 kilometres
Most recent distance212000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 323i

Summary:

Great car for its time

Faults:

Radiator leaks.

Water pump problems.

Poor fuel economy.

Dash stopped working- lights and odometer.

Engine wear quickly with frequent oil changes, and if poor quality products are used.

Transmission issues- seal converter.

A/C works poorly when thick motor oil is used e.g. above 15W40.

General Comments:

Great comfort and stable at 140 km/h.

Excellent for city driving.

Reliable, but many mechanics have poor understanding of these cars and can easily stuff up.

Would buy another E28 provided its in good condition and serviced on time.

Excellent performance when high quality products are used- revs like crazy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

1983 BMW 5 Series 520 i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 520 i Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carTriumph 2000

Summary:

All round winner for styling and reliability

Faults:

The car had been neglected mechanically, but the bodywork and interior were in a nice clean and tidy condition. Most important job was having the timing belt changed on the engine, this work was entrusted to a specialist. watch out for leaks from the front crankshaft oil seal, once this gets on to the belt, then it will fail., destroying the engine in the process.{M20 engines}. A new water pump was fitted, along with a new timing belt jockey tensioner. The car was soon put back into good order, with new gas filled dampers fitted all round, brake drums and discs and new linings. The rest was the expected servicing requirements, engine oil and filter change, plugs.etc etc.

General Comments:

A superbly set up car overall. Once replaced with an original item, the timing belt operated overhead cam was o.k. over 30k miles.I would have preferred the timing chain set up as found on the M30 engines, for peace of mind. Achieved 25mpg average all round fuel consumption.lovely ride, smooth and quiet. nice big boot, loved the styling of the 80's 5 series saloons. Nice car to live with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

1983 BMW 5 Series 528e 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired37 kilometres
Most recent distance860000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Excellent, reliable, even fun transportation

Faults:

Normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

In the twenty year's I've owned it, it has never let me down. It always starts, even at minus 40 without being plugged in.

It's not the fastest car, but still easily runs at over 185km/hr (115mph), and is rock solid on the road.

The most amazing thing - 860,000kms (approx 535,000 miles) - and with very little maintenance. In the life of the car I have replace the front brakes three times, the rear brakes twice (although it's just about time to do them again). It has worn out only one alternator, fuel pump, water pump and exhaust in it's life! Other than changing the oil religiously, and the timing belt every 100,000kms - it hasn't required much maintenance.

I have never heard of any other gas powered car come close to this kind of mileage! Treat one right - and it will repay you 100 times over!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2003

26th Sep 2004, 18:42

How much did you pay for your 528 when you bought it new in 1983?

12th Jul 2006, 15:28

My 1983 528e cost $24,000 from Evergreen BMW, Frederick, MD. It, too, is still running and is a head turner.

9th Nov 2006, 13:25

535,000 miles!?!?! Oh my God! That's the most I've ever heard of. You should write BMW NA or Roundel/BMW CCA if you have the documentation to prove the mileage.

1983 BMW 5 Series 520i 2.0 liter 6 cylinder from Germany

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 kilometres
Most recent distance245000 kilometres

Summary:

Take care of it and it will take care of you

Faults:

Heater fan.

Thermostat.

Wiper motor.

Fuse panel (blew fuses at will).

Starter and or flywheel.

Exhaust leaks.

General Comments:

I bought this car when I was stationed with the U.S. Army in Germany. The body was in nearly mint condition when I bought it. The engine had the typical older BMW tick-tick-tick valve lifter noise. Typically Americans don't know how to take care of European cars, but this one was an exception. It was an excellent car while it lasted. Too bad some dumb lady rear-ended me with a Ford Expedition. Only after this was when the car started having many of the above electrical and exhaust problems.

The car had amazing power considering it had an auto transmission and such a small engine. My normal cruising speed on the Autobahn was between 95 and 105 MPH, and it always averaged at least 26 MPG or better at those speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

25th Dec 2009, 06:17

I purchased one of these in Melbourne and drove her home to Brisbane averaging between 90-110kph. Not fast for this car, but the fuel consumption was between 8-10 L/100km. This is as good as some modern day cars.

I didn't have a problem, she purred the 1800km all the way home. Funny thing is she failed the roadworthy for having engine oil on the bottom of the engine, LOL. I won't be going back to that garage - great little bargain and full of character.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews