1984 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1984 BMW 5 Series 518i e28 1.7 petrol from Greece

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 kilometres
Most recent distance338999 kilometres

Summary:

Just perfect

Faults:

Battery replaced at 130.000km and 300.000 km.

Alternator rebuild at 200.000km.

Wipers motor rebuild at 280.000km.

Seat fabric worn at 250.000km.

4 gear transmission replaced by a 5 gear one, just to gain 5th. 180.000km.

General Comments:

The vehicle is a limo.

Build like armored. No rust no problems.

Fantastic brakes even without ABS.

Handling can cause heart attack when wet and tires are worn out. Perfect when dry.

Didn't even change bulbs in headlights!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2004

11th Aug 2010, 14:35

I agree, we had a 518 83 E that had 200,000 miles on it and still ran perfect; what a car.

1984 BMW 5 Series 528e 2.8 I6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired325000 kilometres
Most recent distance478000 kilometres

Summary:

Dependable, solid car

Faults:

Since I owned this vehicle, the water pump went at 327,000 km, and this was $465.00.

The fuel pump went at 400,000 km. and it went right at the worst time, in the middle of traffic on Clifton Hill, Niagara Falls, ON.

The muffler rotted and it formed a large whole at 410,000 km, and I never fixed it.

The engine began to burn oil, and started leaking it at 430,000 km.

General Comments:

This was my first vehicle, and it was previously owned by my father.

It was a fantastic car, heavy, well built, and I literally ran it into the ground.

The performance was pretty good, for its age, but suffered from poor fuel economy, even worse after the muffler began leaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2003

1984 BMW 5 Series 528e 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 miles
Most recent distance343500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Not high performance, but built like a tank

Faults:

Most repairs have been the standard kinds of things that all cars require replacing.

Changed original clutch at 220,000.

Replaced struts at 275,000.

Replaced starter at 275,000.

Replaced electrical switches for power windows at around 300,000.

General Comments:

Without a doubt, the best car I have ever owned. Purchased it for $3200 in 1995 and have been driving it nearly every day since. The engine has never failed to start. Never. It is a tank. While it is not as comfortable a ride as it once was, it is a great, reliable means of transportation and still is good for a bit of fun every now and then. I don't beat it up, change the oil every 3,000 miles, and pretty much pay attention to it when something is up (like the other day one of the antifreeze hose had a slight leak, I replaced it in minutes). Two mechanics I know say this engine in the 528e was the most bullet-proof of all the BMW cars. I have to agree. I mean, the car is sitting out in my driveway ready to go. And, if you can believe it, it has very little rust (some underneath) showing! My goal right now is to hit 400,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003

8th Apr 2003, 18:20

I have to agree about the 528e (E28's) being built like tanks! I own a 1983 528e with over 560,000 miles on it! I've replaced the front brakes 3 times and rear twice. I've also - in the history of the car since new only had to replace a muffler and catalytic converter once, one fuel pump, two water pumps and one alternator - otherwise - I haven't touched the engine, other than religious oil changes.

Mine has never failed to start in the 20 plus years I've had it - and I live in "the frozen northern wasteland" known as Canada - and I have never plugged it in! Keep going and I'm certain you'll make over 400,000 miles!

(I have yet to see any other gas powered car come close to the mileage I have on mine)

1984 BMW 5 Series 528e from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38 miles
Most recent distance400000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

It is an excellent car and I love it till' this day!

Faults:

The car really hasn't had many problems. I did have to get a new fuel pump a year ago.

The paint is starting to wear off bad, but what do you expect I live in Florida.

It has the original engine and transmission.

The emergency break did quit a year ago. It won't go up anymore.

It does have over 400,000 miles, no lie!

In fact, the speedometer stopped at over 400,000.

General Comments:

It is the best car I have ever owned. I bought it brand new and I do not regret buying it. In 1984, it cost about 24-26 thousand I believe, but it was worth every penny!

It handles great! It hugs the turns sharply and I don't have to push n the brakes much when I'm turning.

The only con is that it costs too much to service at the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

9th Nov 2006, 08:36

I'm am very impressed to read this comment on this person's 1984 528e. I am amazed that the owner has owned it since new, while putting on over 400,000 miles. Truly amazing! Not to mention the automatic transmission is still original. That's unheard of.

I own an `84 533i (production: 12/83). I have written a review on it too. My mechanic's previous 533i had over 400,000 miles on it before selling it. He claimed it still had the original engine, transmission (manual), and clutch.

Durability and reliability are first-rate on the BMW E28 5-series, 1982-1988. This includes the following US models: 528e, 533i, 524td, 535i, 535is, and M5 (though the M5 has a racing engine - it's engine life is shorter).

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 19 reviews