1991 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1991 BMW 5 Series 535 i 3.5 litre inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A great combination of comfort, style and performance

Faults:

Had to replace front u-joint due to contact with a piece of road debris. This was a major undertaking at a cost of about $1,200.

Nothing else has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I use this car as my daily commuter (100 km return, city and highway) and it handles this task superbly. Great performance, reasonable economy and very comfortable. Because of my commute, I purchased an automatic, but next time will go back to a 5 speed. I expect to keep this car for another couple of years and don't expect any major problems. I still have recommended maintenance carried out on time by a dealer; it's expensive, but well worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

1991 BMW 5 Series 525i SE Auto 2.5L 24v M50 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5L 24v M50 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Top quality performance saloon

Faults:

Rear brake discs, pads, and handbrake drums and pads needed replacing when serviced, not cheap at the main dealer, but a superb job done. When you have got 1.5tons travelling at 100mph+ and you put your foot on the brakes you need them to be spot on!!!

Suffers badly from stone chips this is made worst by the fact my car is metallic diamond black.

General Comments:

Extremely impressed, I knew they good, but not this good!!!

Fast car, not that quick from a standing start, but on a dual carriage way or motorway awesome!!! Floor it 80 and it just kicks down and the speedo rockets round effortlessly 110mph+!!!

Easily beats boy racers in GTi's and rep's in their V6 Mondeos or Vectra's.

Fine sporty handling for such a big heavy car, but the tail can come round, not a problem in the dry, but a bit of a heart stopper in the wet!!!

I love it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

11th Jul 2003, 01:38

And just how much did you pay for this beast?

1991 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5 M50 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 M50 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Great fun, but you need deep pockets

Faults:

Rear offside Pitman arm replaced.

Anti-roll bar links replaced.

Fuel lines corroded.

Rear differential seal leaking.

Clutch bearing disintegrated at 91,000, ball bearings floating about in housing caused more damage.

Some rust on suspension parts and bodywork.

Wobble at ~60 MPH, worse on braking. Cause unknown, but various explanations range from wheels out of shape to thrust arm bushings worn.

Service, MOT & repair costs in last six months have been ~

General Comments:

Car drives very well apart from the 60mph wobble. Takes corners well although the back end will step out if pushed too hard

Acceleration is excellent compared to a Primera 1.6 and can easily cope with a full boot and 5 occupants.

This one has most of the toys (sunroof, trip computer, front fog lamps etc) so it is quite comfortable.

Steering wheel seems a little large if you have long legs, but is great to use once you're in the driving seat.

Boot is surprisingly small (Primera's is larger)

Rear legroom is not great if front seats tilted or slid back.

Seats are nice and firm and drivers seat is easily adjustable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

25th Sep 2002, 09:32

My 530BMW had the same problem, but I removed it by changing and balancing front tires. Good luck.

9th Mar 2003, 12:53

I have a 1994 BMW 520iSE and also experience the "wobble" at 60 mph. Recently had balancing and tracking checked, but it's still there although I do have uneven wear on my front tyres. Not cost effective to change tyres just to see if the wobble goes, but as and when I have to (MOT looming!) will see if it goes away (only to return?)!.

26th Apr 2003, 01:29

Tyres just replaced & balanced. Tracking done also.

No wobble at all now at 60mph even when braking hard.

Only downside was cost of tyres - 120 pounds EACH as no alternative to Dunlop TD Sport's.

28th Apr 2004, 20:22

I had the same problem with all of my cars and as it turns out that my brake rotors needed lathing or replacing. My mechanic said that this is usually what causes the sudden increase of wobble at highway speeds.

16th Apr 2006, 05:08

The wobble on BMW series E34 and E32 can be repaired by replacing the front arm bushings. Getting your tires centered helps bot only lasts for a short while and then back to the shimmy.

1991 BMW 5 Series 535i S6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission S6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

A commuter's dream

Faults:

Most of the issues with the car have been routine wear and tear. BMW'S require routine maintenance; and in the process many "faults" will be discovered by the dealer.

At approximately 85,000 miles I did have a coolant system problem that resulted in oil somehow leaking into the coolant system.

At 120,000 miles the neck on the radiator cracked, necessitating a new radiator being installed (approx. $1,000).

For some reason the car does seem to idle high, creating a noticeable vibration when stopped. It is not the fastest car off the mark, but at freeway speeds it truly shines.

General Comments:

This car has completely held up to the high standard you would expect from a BMW. At 130,000 miles, this car is remains incredibly tight and dependable. As my main vehicle to commute to and from work (approx. 1 hour each way), the car is very comfortable and enjoyable to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

1991 BMW 5 Series 525i SE 2.5 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carNissan Twincab Turbo Diesel

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Only major problem was the differential joint bearings, very expensive to repair (£470).

Rear brake light tends to blow regularly.

General Comments:

Besides the problem with the differential joint and a fairly high fuel consumption, this car is amazingly good value. A well maintained Beemer will give you many more years service than comparably newer models from other manufacturers. Avoid dealer servicing, repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2000

1991 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5 24 valve petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 2.5 24 valve petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

After 20yr's of BMW's, this is the best one so far. The twin-cam, 24valve engine (m50) is far better than the older engine:-- much more power + more economical. SUPERB!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 1997

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 16 reviews