1998 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1998 BMW 5 Series 528 2.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired91300 kilometres
Most recent distance91800 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Worth the money, and all the fuss about it is true!

Faults:

A rubber stopper for driver side window fell off, and was repaired promptly.

Cassette door's spring broken, replaced under warranty.

Been hearing some creaking behind the driver's seat.

What bothers me is the state of the remote buttons, they are worn out, but they still work.

General Comments:

This car has obviously been maintained flawlessly. No mark on the beige all of the leather seats. No marks on the interior. Trims etc. holding up nicely. Drives like a new car (new tires help).

Very satisfied with the car.

Fuel consumption is noticeably higher than my 318.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2004

1998 BMW 5 Series 535i V8 3.5 V8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

The perfect mix of luxury and speed for this price range

Faults:

Rough idle when cold.

Dashboard display lost some pixels intermittently.

Rubber seal on door blocked.

All minor, faults easily fixed.

The hifi is very poor though, no bass or treble.

General Comments:

The 535i V8 is an absolute monster!

The sound of the V8 is awesome.

It is so quick you would not believe it.

Extremely comfortable, quiet and smooth.

The Steptronic gearbox box gives full auto or Semi, where you can nudge up or nudge down the range. If you forget to change gear in Semi-auto mode, it will do it for you...

Sounds/feels as good at 87000 miles as the new one I test drove.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

30th Aug 2009, 10:15

If you think the 535 is fast, you should try the 540. I traded my 535 for one and it is in a completely different league.

1998 BMW 5 Series 520 s.e 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

What a car go and by 1

Faults:

Water pump went on washers.

General Comments:

Great car. Lovely to drive and a joy when it comes to country lanes. Better than our Merc. Now we have we have bought another BMW which will be on our driveway in March. the sound of the 2.0 (150) straight six was fab and sounds like heaven. The car is quicker with the automatic box than our Merc (even though it has more horses — 163). The BMW is the best car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

1998 BMW 5 Series 528i ASE 2.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8i Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired800 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

I wouldn't buy another BMW

Faults:

Auto gearbox failed at 50,000 miles.

ABS failed at 52,000 miles.

Brake sensors failed at 40,000 miles.

Paintwork flaked off at 12,000 miles.

Paintwork again flaked off at 36,000 miles.

Paintwork again flaked off at 56,000 miles.

Stereo failed at 54,000 miles.

Dashboard display console failed at 58,000 miles.

Center display console failed at 37,000 miles.

Interior of drivers door split and discolored requiring replacement at 23,000 miles.

In car telephone failed at 19,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car drives very well, but..

I have been incredibly disappointed by the number of problems over the years, especially given the cost of the vehicle and the supposed quality that you buy with a BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

5th Dec 2004, 20:22

I have a BMW 528I which I have owned for the last 3 1/2 years. It is hands down the best car I have ever owned in my life and I have had about 7 cars now. I have not had any problems with the car at all except for some little minor things. I love it and I will always have a 5 series.

5th Nov 2005, 15:16

What year is your 528? Is it a 1998? If not, I feel it is less relevant to the original post.

8th Nov 2005, 18:02

Are you sure it's a BMW you are talking about?!

Gus from Beirut, Lebanon.

1998 BMW 5 Series 528i from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carBMW Ford Taurus

Summary:

A lot of electrical problems for a luxury car

Faults:

Radio and Tape Player no longer work.

The Drivers seat no longer adjusts along with the steering wheel.

The defrost/AC buttons fall out - the whole module needs replacing.

The passenger interior door handle broke.

Paint is flaking from interior door handle guards.

General Comments:

I love the drive of my car. Handling is excellent. Gas mileage is good (average 25.8). Cosmetics of the car looks great, but are flimsy.

When car is cold - the transmission does not shift the greatest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2002

1998 BMW 5 Series 523iSE 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ6

Summary:

Superb practical performance car

Faults:

Rear cup holders broken 5 or 6 times. (Young children's feet each time.)

Fuel sender unit failed (At 180,000 miles)

Drivers door handle snapped (At 90,000 miles)

Air Conditioning/Climate Control failed after 2 years.

General Comments:

I have owned my manual 523iSE from new and first registered in January 1998.

Previously owned Saab, Mercedes, Jaguar and with none of my previous cars have I felt confident to take past 80,000 miles.

The 523iSE is amazing. Have completed 185,000 miles with original engine, gearbox, suspension, exhaust system.

It still looks and drives like a 20,000 mile car, engine and gearbox are as sweet as ever. It uses no oil between services and there is not a rattle or a squeek to be heard.

I, m a big guy (18 stone+) and the interior is as new. Grey leather is unmarked and shows no sign of wear even on the drivers seat. (No sagging whatsoever)

All this and 32miles to the gallon!

The car handles superbly and my local dealer (BMW Col chester) are fantastic (nothing is too much trouble - but others might be finding out as the waiting time for servicing has become progressively longer.) If any dealer wants to know about customer service visit them!

I am about to buy a People Carrier (4 Children now and a large dog) but will keep the BMW as I couldn't bear to part with it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

4th Dec 2004, 03:31

I must say that the BMW 523i is one of the very few cars I have owned over a 20 year period that I am very impressed. Sure, there are a few things that could have been better, but then is it not that almost every the same after using it for a while? I love the way the car handles after all these years and still hardly any squeaks or rattles can be heard to date. The steering could have been more speed sensitive like for example the new Peugeot 407 or the BMW 545i. Overall, I still say this is one fine car that could still take on most of the Japanese cars anytime even today and some of the other new models!

Eddy- Malaysia.

28th Oct 2005, 18:27

This car has the whole package:

>It has all the power under the hood waiting to be unleashed (with three transmission options: automatic, tiptronic and sport)

>It has all the luxury you need (mine came with a built-in TV, a telephone and all the other options)

>It handles great and is very stable at high speeds (Drove it at 210km/h with no trouble!)

>Acceleration/deceleration are done very easily

>A real piece of art, made to be loved.

Though it has high fuel consumption, it is worth it!

I recommend at least driving if not owning one to every car lover.

Gus from Beirtu, Lebanon.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 24 reviews