2001 BMW 5 Series Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 BMW 5 Series 540i 4.4L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.4L V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

The finest sedan available

Faults:

Detent feel in clutch travel.

Minor interior rattles.

Wireless key failed.

General Comments:

A supremely comfortable cruiser, this car wraps around you and becomes part of you.

Tremendous road-holding, great cornering feel, awesome in the twisties, beautiful steering.

The acceleration is a real rush.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

2001 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 6 cylinder Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190

Summary:

Without a doubt, the best mid sized luxury performance sedan I have experienced

Faults:

No problems as of this time.

General Comments:

As a commuter dog, this car has proven to provide a sound, comfortable environment with all of the required performance you could want.

The BMW 525i makes you happy every time you sit in it. If you can afford one... buy it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

2001 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Brings smiles to your face every time you get behind the wheel

Faults:

Only had the car for a couple of weeks, no problems since we picked up the car from the dealer.

General Comments:

Great car. Test drove the 530i, 525i and 330i. I was concerned at first that 525i wouldn't have enough punch as compared to the 530i. Fears unfounded. Not much difference in the seat of the pants feeling between the 525i and 530i.

The 525i w/Sport is great handling with good performance. We got the premium and sport package along with the Steptronic, CD changer, Winter package and Xenon's. Orient Metallic Blue with Gray interior. A really stunning car especially with the Sports package.

The 330i has great performance and handling, but to be honest, seems to be a little cheap as compared to the 5 Series, especially since the 330i we were considering was only about $2K less than the 525i with the options. When I want speed I drive my wife's 300ZX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

10th Dec 2002, 18:24

-I own a 2002 525i (see the BMW 5 series 2002 review) and I must say it's a terrific car. If I were to buy one again, I'd opt for the sport package like you did or pay the extra money and get a 530i. Good luck with your BMW!

2001 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance8200 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Faults:

Nothing yet.. still new.

General Comments:

Excellent driving machine...

Very, very smooth and stable.

Engine is quiet and powerful.

Acceleration is a breeze.

Ride quality is quite comfortable and stable. Cabin noise is near non-existent.

Wish we had roads capable of sustaining this high-performance machine (USA)...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

2001 BMW 5 Series 530i 3.0 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance1800 kilometres
Previous carBMW 528 Manual

Summary:

Unbeatable. Try all the others, you'll come back to the 530i

Faults:

Nothing to date... very early of course.

General Comments:

I previously owned a BMW 528i manual, great car, reliable.

This car is so comfortable you forget it's a sporta sedan.

Buy "without" sports package, the standard suspension is a perfect compromise.

The engine is so quiet you forget it's running at idle. Torque is terrific and runs across a broad band. Clutch action is superb.

Handles and tracks like it has glue on the tires, yet coddles inside.

Steering is the best on the planet, perfect on centre and the right feedback.

Amazing gas mileage, how do they achieve this with so much engine?

Enough room for 4 comfortably, 5 a bit tight.

I kept my last 528 four years, 2 years longer than normal. Never thought I'd buy the same brand next, as I like to experiment.

You can bet I'll be doing the same for this 530i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

2001 BMW 5 Series 530i 3.0 liter inline six from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter inline six Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carAcura Vigor

Summary:

A true sports sedan

Faults:

Nothing at this point as it's new.

General Comments:

My first day of driving to work through a twisting canyon almost brought tears of emotional joy, the way it handled.

Not a creak, body rattle or straining sound - just a slight sound of air turbulence around the outside driver's mirror. But to give you an idea of how quiet the cabin is, the loudest noise while cornering, is the sound of the steering wheel rubbing against your hands.

The 5 speed manual transmission is the smoothest I've ever driven. Although the throw is a bit on the long side.

Acceleration is amazing for an almost 2-ton car. Yet gas mileage is in the mid 20 MPGs for mixed highway/city driving.

A shame we don't have an Autobahn in America.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

29th May 2003, 11:24

What is the amount for gas mileage how far does it go on a full tank.

2001 BMW 5 Series 525i M 2.5 petrol from Sweden

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2970 kilometres
Most recent distance8850 kilometres
Previous carVolvo V40 T4

Summary:

Pure joy

Faults:

Stereo died twice, replaced. Otherwise, nothing.

General Comments:

A very nice and comfortable car. The M equipment adds a sporty dimension to an otherwise rather dull looking car. I am VERY pleased with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews