1991 BMW 8 Series Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 BMW 8 Series 850i V12 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission V12 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corvette

Faults:

Rear & front wheel alignment and Computer pixel's are going out slowly.

General Comments:

The early 850i cars are great if you can find one with low miles and a clean service record. The smooth V12 does this car justice for power, The car can flat out get up for a car its size and weight, It's been said to be called a poor man's Lamborghini since the price has dropped on these cars over the yrs, But make no mistake about them with the right combination of mods and the right set up it can smoke some new cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

1st Nov 2005, 05:39

I have never ever heard that a BMW 850 has been called "A poor mans Lamborghini". The 8-series from BMW was in the same class as Lamborghini Diablo, Ferrari 456GT, Mercedes SL500 & 600, Jaguar XK8 & XKR. A Lamborghini is more expensive, but I don´t think that someone would buy a BMW 850 just because they can´t afford a Lamborghini. 850 is one of the most expensive cars ever built from BMW factory.

Cadillac owner.

1991 BMW 8 Series 850i V12 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V12 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired167000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles

Summary:

The closest thing to being famous

Faults:

Fuel pump and sending unit went. (Causing gas to spill out everywhere) (Not fun) Replaced the V Belt and the fuse-able link to the battery. Engine mounts and Transmission mounts. (Not cheap).

General Comments:

I have had a decent amount of repairs considering that I have only owned the car for 3 weeks... However every dollar spent is worth the fun and attention that the car gets. People stare at you like you are a movie star. It has an amazing top end speed as well. I guess my only two pet peeves are the fact that you couldn't fit more than a cat in the backseat, let alone a human being and that the windows automatically roll up at 100 MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

9th Mar 2006, 22:03

The back seat is actually no worse than other 2 door coupes of that era, such as the Jaguar XJ-S.

No one should buy this car and expect to carry 4 people on a regular basis.

According to the handbook for my '92 model, the windows automatically wind up at 120 kilometers/hour and when this first happened to me I was startled, as I never normally read the instructions.

Fabulous car.

8th Dec 2007, 00:49

This is a "STAR CAR" (BMW 850 V-12).. it will perform to highest Level. Not for the faint of heart or a complainer about the cost of speed/performance/comfort.

Well, you get the picture! This is a love it or sell it car! I love it!.. j.N.

1991 BMW 8 Series 850 5.0 V12 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 V12 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance84500 miles

Summary:

Pity they don't offer it anymore..

Faults:

Thermostat failed at 78,000 miles. Car overheated tremendously.

Drive train gaskets wore out at 70,000.

New brakes required at 65,000.

New tires every 8,000 to 10,000 miles.

General Comments:

Amazing car. Would not trade it for anything short of the CSi model (not available when I bought this one).

Every trip to the dealer holds the potential for bankruptcy, but is very well worth the anguish.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

3rd Jul 2001, 10:42

Oh yes they still make it, its still being sold in the middle east (look for Dubai, UAE) if that's the place where you can still get a 850Csi!

Later.

9th Mar 2006, 19:42

Hey is this true that you can buy in Dubai? All us 8 fans would probably have to rush to Dubai then... but why the hell aren't they producing a new version perhaps by 2008?

1991 BMW 8 Series 850 Alpina I 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFerrari 512IBB

Summary:

Worth all the thousands I put into her!

Faults:

Clutch has been replaced a few times. Mainly from a heavy foot though.

Still running like the monster that it is.

Air conditioning has been replaced. Loves to blow hot air.

General Comments:

Best thing about it is people sometimes have no idea what it is. My favorite of all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2000

1991 BMW 8 Series 850 CiA V12 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V12 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16600 kilometres
Most recent distance16800 kilometres
Previous carPorsche 944 Turbo

Summary:

It's got the looks! Beautiful and comfy

Faults:

Air conditioning failed, replaced compressor.

Starter failed sometimes, now replaced.

Electrical problems with everything!

Steering feels weird.

Shocks worn.

General Comments:

Comfy ride, don't expect extreme power from the V12 cos the car is HEAVY.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th July, 2000

27th Jun 2001, 18:09

From 1998 to 2000 you drove only 200 kilometers??? Was the car in the shop most of the time or what?

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews