1991 BMW M5 Reviews

1991 BMW M5 from Saudi Arabia

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Loved it

Faults:

Transmission started to make noise. Dealer quoted 26,000 SR ($7,000) but suggested to run it till it dies, He claimed it will live another 5 years.

General Comments:

Considering the value of the car at that time, I sold the car as is for a cheap price to avoid repairing it. 15 days later the car was seen smashed badly after hitting a Palm Tree from the side.

I felt bad for the driver and the car as well. After all I enjoyed every moment driving the M5 especially when I drove it to Lebanon the summer of 1999. I like to change cars a lot sometimes twice a year. 90% of the time it is a BMW. Once a BMW driver always a BMW driver.

Looking forward to buy a 2000-02 M5 but difficult to find clean one now a days. I purchased one last month 2000 model and had to return it to the dealer after 15 minutes. The car was misfiring and the dealer could not figure out the problem for a complete month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2005

1991 BMW M5 3.6L from United Arab Emirates

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.6L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190 2.3 16 V.

Summary:

Hidden monster

Faults:

Gear started to make noise on the second. Dealer told me it cannot be repaired. It will need to be completely replaced Cost $7,000. The car was drivable.

Before this problem, the car was running perfect and it had no problems what so ever.

General Comments:

The car was a dream come true for me. I got it at a special price $13,000. Loved every moment. Nice recaro seats. Maintenance was affordable. I once drove it from Riyadh Saudi Arabia to Beirut Lebanon in 18 hours. My average speed was 180 K/hr and top speed 260 K/ hr in Syria.

Best of all goind up the mountains in Lebanon.

Unfortunately two weeks after I sold the car, it was involved in a serious accident. It was totaled.

Now I am planning to buy a 2000 M5. Advices are welcome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2004

27th May 2004, 17:03

My previous car was BMW M5 2000, and I must say it was a lemon! I taught it was the fastest car in our town, and then... a 45 year-old neighbor beat me on a drag race... with a station wagon by volvo (V70R 2004).

I was so in love with my BMW, that I was blinded by a dealer (the car was in a shop every second week)!

The car cost me $4800 for repairs in one half of the year and at 31.000 kilometers... and I was outacclerated by a VOLVO!

Then, in January 2004, I sold BMW and bought VOLVO S60R with 300 hp and I tuned it up to 340 hp. I had no problems with my car ever since!

I suggest that you think it over before purchasing... maybe I was just unlucky, but my friend had same problems with his M5.

1991 BMW M5 3.6 Inline 6 from Brazil

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.6 Inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

A pleasure to drive fast

Faults:

Replaced water pump at 48,000 miles.

Mostly routine maintenance such as spark plugs, brake pads...

General Comments:

It's a race car. High revs for power, stiff suspension, awesome brakes.

It's seriously fast and quick and handles great.

I wouldn't recommend for using it daily.

Lacks of luxury in the interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2003

16th Nov 2005, 22:10

I too, have a Dodge truck. However, I also drive a Porsche Carrera C4 so perhaps my perspective on the M5 is a bit better than the previous reviewer.

I feel the car's comfort is excellent concerning room, seat quality, environmental control, lighting, etc. The ride is punishing on a rough road. More like my Porsche than say a Lexus or Mercedes sedan.

Performance wise, with a Dinan chip, it will perform at a level equal to all, but the latest super sedans with V8s and V10s.

I have found the handling to be a bit lacking. Less linear stability and poor jounce control. This may be a problem with my car, however, as my earlier M3 had neither of these characteristics.

Overall, a great car in the mountains and on the interstates as well.

1991 BMW M5 3.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.6L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

An amazing 4 door supercar

Faults:

Water pump - 120,000kms.

Rngine oil seals - 150,000kms.

General Comments:

This is the best Bimmer I have ever had. I think about replacing it with something newer like a 540i or 740i, but the car is such a joy to drive and is rare. I may never part with it. The maintenance is a little high but it is worth the effort to keep this car properly maintained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

1991 BMW M5 3.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 3.6 petrol
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

The gearbox was changed at 30k, the engine has to be set up to run correctly. The steering box has been replaced, and the heating system is crap, no air coming out.

General Comments:

It goes like a rocket, with the limiter off I've been 168mph and it's got more, the engine has been tuned by Munich ledgens. I mock any sad fool in a Cossie with my 380 bhp and that's not from a crap Superchip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 1998

18th Jan 2001, 18:57

A Superchip is a Superchip, they all do the same job, which is to de-restrict the manufacturers factory settings for enviromental emissions. And a Superchipped Cossie, Impreza or Mazda RX7 would all easily see off the 3.6 M5.

The 3.8 is the better tuned engine of the two, which is what you would need, and it would have to be tuned to see off a tuned Cossie.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews