2003 BMW Mini Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2003 BMW Mini Cooper 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Not worth it

Faults:

Short and sweet. Before buying, make sure you are saving up for a new clutch. As the others have posted, ours too is in the shop for a new clutch and flywheel. Estimate is over $2000. That's ridiculous for a car with only 70,000 miles and not at all driven hard.

General Comments:

It's a fun car, but the reliability is very poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

2003 BMW Mini Cooper from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJ8

Summary:

Minis are cute, but not dependable

Faults:

I loved my car when I first got it. I had no problems with it. Then my clutch went out at 17,000 miles. I am not hard on it at all. I actually treat it like my baby. I got the clutch fixed and they said it was my fault and that I had burned it up.

So then I was even more careful, well the clutch went out again at 33,000 miles. First of all, it is a sports car and it should be tough. Well I drove it like a soccer mom, meaning very cautious and safe, and the clutch went out. I have driven a manual all my life and never had this problem.

I believe there is a problem with the clutches on Mini Coopers because my mother has a Mini Cooper Convertible and her clutch went out at 9,000 miles, and that is RIDICULOUS!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2008

2003 BMW Mini Cooper 1.6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance74775 miles
Previous carAudi 200

Summary:

Stylish, fun, affordable -- still the car of the future

Faults:

The transmission is failing. Supposedly, the dealer replaced the transmission twice under warranty, but each time I got the car back it had exactly the same fault to precisely the same degree as it did when I brought it in. This consists of an audible "clank" sound every time the clutch takes up the drive, in all gears.

Lately, the transmission has begun making a clearly audible grinding noise on overrun in all gears. I have made an appointment with the dealer, as the transmission is still under warranty, but I expect to get their usual guff about how my car is "within spec".

General Comments:

Great handling.

Good utility.

I like the looks still.

Very economical to own and drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2008

2003 BMW Mini One D 1.4 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Reliable, stylish and economical

Faults:

Rear wheel bearing failed at circa 35,000 miles

Bearing to fan belt idler pulley failed at circa 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

Road holding superb

Build quality very good, no squeaks or rattles

Fuel consumption - averages 57 miles per gallon

Performance - a little slow to pick up, but once motoring plenty of torque.

Not particularly cheap to buy, but I had all the extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2007

2003 BMW Mini from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

This car is not as great as it seems

Faults:

Power steering failed all at once at 48000 miles, total repair costs at $1000.

Passenger side locks lost power, could only be used manually.

Tire pressure sensor failed, my tire literally exploded from driving flat and the sensor never lit up once.

Gears stick badly.

Air conditioning and window defrosting smells horrible.

Oil leaks.

Engine coolant leaks.

General Comments:

This car is very cute and the interior is comfortable.

Cup holders can hold cans only or maybe a child size drink.

I do not recommend buying this car used, without the warranty the car is basically useless. I have paid more for maintenance and repairs than I have paid on the car loan. I have not been able to drive it for a month because I cannot afford to fix the steering failure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

2003 BMW Mini Cooper S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carMG TF

Summary:

Pricey, but the best small car by far

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

Probably everything I would have wanted in a small car.

Good Points:

Performance is excellent, if not slipping against the newer hot hatches.

Comfortable interior with an array of gadgets to keep you interested.

Build quality is fantastic, no rattles and trim is well bolted together. Feels solid to drive.

For the few times I've been back to the garage for servicing and MOT, the BMW/MINI customer service has been excellent.

Appears to holds it's value very well.

Bad Points:

Boot is a bit small, but this is a MINI I guess so I can't complain there. Back seats drop down and the car becomes quite practical.

Fuel economy doesn't seem to very good round town 28/29mpg, though I managed 42mpg on a motorway run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

11th May 2006, 13:00

Are you using Imperial gallons to measure fuel economy? Are you running a diesel?

12th May 2006, 09:46

The Cooper S is a "gas guzzler" given its size, so the reviewer is either very optimistic in his reviews, or is measuring Imperial gallons and not accelerating at all on the highways.

S models are not available in diesel.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 21 reviews