Bricklin SV-1 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1975 Bricklin SV-1 351 cubic inch Windsor V8 from North America

Model year1975
Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 351 cubic inch Windsor V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance21500 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

One awesome car and whoever made this car is a genius

Faults:

The only things that have gone wrong with this car was the door's air system.

A couple usual engine things like spark plugs, hoses, and wires.

But other than that the car is a excellent car, I have some performance things on it like: Fram AirHog air filter, Holley 800 cfm Carburetor, Edelbrock Hi-Rise intake manifold, Truck Cylinder heads off of a 351 Windsor that was in a truck, JE Pistons forged pistons and connecting rods, Hooker Headers with Cherry Bombs, Moroso oil pan, C-6 Transmission upgrade, Performance oil pump, braided hoses, Accel 9mm spark plug wires, Flex-a-lite cooling fan.

I can go on and on about what I've done to my Bricklin.

General Comments:

My car is really fast, I had mine to the 160 mark and beyond!

The car is an awesome car. If you get your hands on one and you're a car nut like me, get it, don't let it pass you by.

It is a really fun car to drive because when the little kids see it going down the street and you hear them say "WOW, LOOK AT THAT!", it really makes you feel special, especially when they see the doors open.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

5th Apr 2005, 19:58

How many Bricklins are there in new zealand? I love them..

11th Aug 2005, 13:59

Seriously, they are fast. With the 351 cubic inch engine and a four barrel on top it will scream.

4th Mar 2006, 21:31

I owned a safety orange Bricklin for 5 years and it was a real head turner, but speed was not an option. These 351W engines were bogged down with the typical 1970's smog/pollution devices. Unless you have removed everything and boosted HP by 50%, this car would be lucky to do 120. The weight of this car was unreal as well. The bumpers would break your knee if you accidentally bumped into it. A fun car, but let's be real about the cars made in 1975. The 1974 had the better AMC 360 but still no speed burner.

12th Apr 2006, 07:57

OK, all this talk about whether the car is fast or not, I don't know because I've never driven one. I would love to get one, and the one I'm looking at has the 351 in it, I don't need to go "super duper fast", but I at least want a little get up and go. What things can I do to the motor to some get some more kick to it.

Thanks.

3rd Oct 2007, 10:10

I just heard a radio show about Canadian cars, and it said the Bricklin was made in Canada, in the Maritimes.

20th Oct 2007, 04:47

The car was built in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada from 1974 to 1976. check it out on wikipedia.

26th Mar 2012, 14:21

Does the Bricklin Gullwing get good gas mileage? What is the gas mileage?

27th Mar 2012, 15:51

It's a 1970's vintage car with a V8 engine. If you're concerned about gas mileage, you should be looking elsewhere. These were never intended as daily drivers, neither in 1974 and certainly not now.

27th Mar 2012, 23:21

These cars are powered by Ford's 351 V8. They were built in New Brunswick, Canada.

28th Mar 2012, 15:33

With the exception of the Trans Am, this was a very sad era for performance. With smog devices, anti-pollution and the government, it held me from buying any muscle cars after 1970 until 1998, and I picked up a C5.

In 2012, there are many great American performance cars once again. Not necessarily classics, but revitalized modern adaptations. It's exciting again to look at new cars.

I only sat in a new DeLorean at the time; cool looking, and I felt the same with the Bricklin. But the only car that really caught my eye were the Panteras at that time.

1975 Bricklin SV-1 basic model 8 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1975
First year of ownership1975
Most recent year of ownership1980
Engine and transmission 8 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

Nice car... slightly problematic

Faults:

The entire body was a mistake. The material was essentially plastic. In hot temperatures, the body would almost start to melt. The color faded after only 2 years. The gullwing doors didn't fit well at all, and they leaked every rain storm. The air conditioner never worked either. I have heard that was a design flaw. The actual car doesn't get really great gas mileage. I'd only buy another one due to its value.

General Comments:

I liked the car very much despite its flaws. I was able to fix the leaking problem to a certain degree. Got me from point A to point B without too much trouble. Although I did find myself on the highway median with some regularity. Fast car though. I figured the weight would slow it down, but I got her up to 122 on a nice straight away. If you find one, buy it. It is rumored that these cars are very rare and highly sought after.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

3rd May 2005, 13:16

Hello:

My name is Ken.

In reference to the (VDO) speedometer, there where design problems with it. (Split Magnet separation) For about $150.00 you can take it to a reputable speedometer calibration shop like (Dicks Speed-O-Tach) in Tempe, Arizona. They will perform all the factory fixes and upgrades required by (VDO) and Then calibrate it., also a new speedometer cable comes with the service. They then put the car on the speed dyno and check calibration on the car and give you a printout at all speeds. This is the same speedometer they used in many hi end sports cars of the day. After the above it will be right on the money.

Ken.

4th Mar 2006, 21:38

It is definitely a RARE car, but the values haven't changed in 20 years. If you bought one in 1986 for $8,000 that's about what you would get for it today. The reason. No power (nothing had power in the mid 70's) and too many door problems. Also, unless you can fix things yourself, good luck finding a repair shop that doesn't think it's a kit car. Yeah, the shops are ignorant, but it's a reality.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews