1980 Buick Century Reviews

1980 Buick Century Limited 4.3 liter 265 V8 from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.3 liter 265 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance57400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

This Buick Century is a good solid car, and a pleasure to drive

Faults:

I replaced the following immediately after I purchased the car.

Fuel pump.

Fuel lines.

Steering pump.

V-belts.

Tires.

Rear shocks.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable car to drive I have owned.

It handles and brakes very well, and is surprisingly fast.

The interior is roomy, plush and very comfortable.

All the controls function properly and are easy to reach.

However, the car sits low, and getting in and out of it is awkward.

It would be nice to have intermittent wipers; it's a hassle to keep hitting the switch when there is a light drizzle outside.

No cup holders.

On this model, the rear windows are sealed and have only a vent to open. Not good for me.

This car has no on board computer system, which is a plus for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2009

1980 Buick Century 4-door 3.8 from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 3.8 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles

Summary:

The iron buick

Faults:

Nothing went wrong.

General Comments:

This was my first car. "THE IRON BUICK"; somehow it picked up that nickname. I drove this thing pretty hard, had it a lot of places that I and the car should not have been. This car was surprisingly fast! I gave it a good tune up and when you put the pedal down, it would really jump. To this day, 16 years later, this is the most comfortable vehicle I have owned, and it rode like a dream, even being 11 years old when I first got it. You could hardly dent it with a hammer, it was reliable, perfect gearing for city or highway. It actually passed on to my sister as her first car, then to 2 others as their firsts. I kind of wonder where it is now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2006

6th Jul 2010, 13:36

I currently have a 1980 Century as my daily driver. It is a great car. Even at 30 years old, it still runs and drives like it did back then.

The car is comfortable to drive and it's a cruiser. You will be going 80mph and will never know it until you read the speedometer.

The body and paint have held up great over the years, interior as well. It hasn't required much maintenance at all. The 3.8 is simple to work on.

I am debating whether or not to sell the Buick to get something newer, new cars aren't near the quality as the old ones, and I think the old girl is good for another 30 years.

Mileage is unknown but I wish I knew.

1980 Buick Century limited sedan 4.9 liter pontiac 301 cu in from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.9 liter pontiac 301 cu in Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Good car cheap parts all around. I like it for being my first car

Faults:

Well recently I just started to fix it up because it was sitting in my drive way for about 5 years so I had to replace a bunch of stuff ill just make a list:

Battery Died.

Replace Radiator hoses both top and bottom.

Fuel filter and fuel line.

Change Transmission filter and oil seal's Front seal and Back seal.

Fix exhaust leak and get whole new exhaust system.

Put in new Head Gasket.

Need to align the wheels.

Some paint peeling from bird poop.

New air cleaner and new air cleaner hose.

New breather

Need new tires badly

General Comments:

This car is fast I don't know the top speed, but it can hall its own and then some, but it still needs work.

Interior good.

It ran right when I put a new battery in it sounded like CRAP though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

1980 Buick Century Limited four-door sedan 4.9-liter/301 CID V8 (Pontiac) from Germany

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 4.9-liter/301 CID V8 (Pontiac) Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90100 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

A compact 1980s luxury cruiser

Faults:

Power sunroof (by aftermarket supplier ASR) leaked when it rained.

Radiator core and water hoses leaked.

Engine leaked.

Differential leaked.

Transmission leaked.

Taillights failed.

Battery went dead.

Automatic climate control (temperature sensors) failed.

Aging vee-belts needed replacement.

After a low-speed collision, left headlamps plus housing had to be replaced.

Exhaust system partly replaced.

Front suspension needed alignment.

Oil pressure switch failed.

General Comments:

The above list of defects on my 1980 Buick Century is a comparatively long one, but most of these maladies were merely annoying rather than really serious. Still, the car needed constant attention, its relatively low mileage notwithstanding.

The Century would always start and run smoothly, however, and the wide array of electrical gadgets and gizmos on the Limited (the top-notch version of the Buick Century) worked well. The only exception was the automatic climate control of the air conditioning system. The temperature sensors, which are designed to turn the system on and off once certain temperature margins inside the car are exceeded, simply failed to operate one day. Since repairs would have required a complete pulldown of the system, I had the A/C converted to manual operation, which was a whole lot cheaper and only required the installation of one extra switch.

Quality control on the Century was rather sloppy, with fit and finish of doors, hood, and trunk lid being visibly imprecise. Also, the power window in the door on the driver's side made an audible squealing noise when the window was operated; it would always work properly, though.

The car displayed a number of leaks, most of which were corrected by simply installing new gaskets (engine and differential). That remedy didn't work with the automatic transmission and the sunroof, both of which never stopped leaking.

Being only 4.98 meters long and 1.83 meters wide, the 1980 Century was well-suited to urban traffic in Germany. Its 150-horsepower V8 of Pontiac origin delivered more than adequate power for the comparatively light Buick. Top speed on the autobahn was a true 115 mph, 0-60 mph was in the 12-13 second range.

Steering was astonishingly quick and precise for an American car, and the brakes did a good job, too. Handling and roadholding proved to be completely satisfactory for a luxury sedan, thanks to Century's compact size. The ride was soft and very comfortable, though not as pillowy as on American cars of the 60s or 70s.

Inside the Century, there was abundant luxury, cozy seats and reasonable space utilization. Not bad at all for the first generation of downsized GM intermediates which had made their debut in 1978. The front wheel drive Buick Century came out in 1982, by the way, so my 1980 was still the rear wheel drive version.

All in all, the Buick was a pleasant and practical car, and not too expensive to own and operate, either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

3rd Dec 2009, 10:32

I would hang onto that car, no matter what the cost. A four door 1980 Century of all things, with a Sunroof to boot, is a very rare car indeed. The 4.9 Pontiac motor was top of the line for Century that year, and is supposed to be very powerful for its era. It was lighter than the comparative 5.0 Liter V8's from Chevy and Oldsmobile, and in most cases had more power. It must be a real chore finding parts in Germany.

1st Jul 2010, 17:23

I've got a 1980 Buick Century Limited, with a 454. I'm qonna do a tranny swap, and throw in a manual and super charge that bad boy, and cut a sunroof into it, and put slicks on it.

3rd Jul 2010, 13:21

A 454 big block in a 1980 Century seems like a little bit overkill. That engine was designed for full-sized cars like the pre down-sized Electra 225's, which weighed close to 5,000 lbs. Your Century probably weighs close to 3,000.

1980 Buick Century 4.9litre from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership1994
Engine and transmission 4.9litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Rear wheel drive, ineficient V8 powered fun

Faults:

Transmission burnt out. I bought another from a wrecker and had it re-built by a dodgy, but cheap workshop near Andrews Air Force Base.

Rear brake cylinder "popped". I bought an Indian made replacement and fited it myself.

Disks scored on account of worn pads. Driving in Wash DC with all those useless "stop all way" intersections I barely made 3 000 between new front disk pads.

Air conditioner compressor stopped working. Didn't bother fixing it.

Air pump broke down. Bought a new one for $30 or thereabouts.

Front bearing assembly overheated. Off to the wreckers for another one.

Passenger front electric window switch missing: wires had to be joined to operate the windows.

General Comments:

For US$500 ot was a ball of fun. I kept accurate records of fuel consumption which varied by 2 mpg between vicar-like driving and Dangio-of-the-gravel pits type driving.

The kids in my area loved it. Everyone else had BMWs, Volvos and the like, while the Aussies of the street drove American! How patriotic are Americans again? In those days As American as Apple Pie also applied to Honda!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 5 reviews