1969 Buick Electra Reviews

1969 Buick Electra 225 430 V8 from North America

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 430 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles

Summary:

Awesome and smooth cruiser that punishes the gas pumps

Faults:

This car was a one family owned car with the original 430 cubic inch V8. It was 1969 high compression with old style alternator and points ignition. It required premium fuel and octane boost in every tank. That being said it needed more maintenance than most modern cars. I replaced the distributor, the radiator, the water pump, the voltage regulator, one of the rear wheel bearings, the wheel cylinders, all of them (4 wheel drum brakes), the master cylinder. I then needed to replace, or re-build the engine with 135,000 miles on it. It blew a freeze plug behind the engine mount and the rings were in full blow-by mode, as well as having a weak oil pump. Since the engine would need to be pulled to fix the freeze plug I went ahead and put a 455 in it. I also re-wired the engine compartment for an HEI distributor and internally regulated alternator.

General Comments:

We do not drive this car much anymore, on and off, but this thing is a cruiser. It is a smooth, quiet, and solid ride. The doors shut perfectly, the seats, though old, are like riding in your couch. You can stay in this car all day long. On the down side is the gas mileage. It only musters about 10mpg in the city and 13mpg on the highway. It is a boat so it does not like to turn, so don't expect it to, and the 4 wheel drum brakes should have been illegal. Don't even dream of panic stopping from anything above 65mph. Not a good thing with today's highway speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2007

14th Jul 2007, 02:05

My mother had one of these which I still own. I learned to drive in it. If you can parallel park this, you can park anything. Nothing has ever been modified in it and it gets 20mpg. It does have factory front disc brakes which were unusual for this model. This cost me a considerable amount when they had to be replaced. Considering that this is the only major expense on this car since new, that is amazing. Great car!

1969 Buick Electra 225 4 Door Sedan 430-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 430-4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60500 miles
Most recent distance73800 miles

Summary:

A work of art with an engine!

Faults:

Minor rust along the underside chrome molding around the rear window.

Right front drum brake tends to stick during cold weather, causing the car to pull right when braking. Also causes the brake lights to remain on occasionally when the car is turned off.

Air conditioning compressor seized at just over 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

The amount of power cranked out of this General Motors big block is impressive.

The body lines and fender skirts get this car a lot of attention, both on the road and in parking lots.

Power adjustable seats and tilt steering make this car extremely comfortable to drive. Note: Tilt column added aftermarket by the previous owner.

I purchased this car shortly after my 16th birthday, and have loved it everyday since.

I wish the "Big Three" automakers would revive some of their classic designs. The body lines and interior styling made these cars some of the best ever produced, and I honestly believe that America needs these big, beautiful examples of art with engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

23rd Nov 2007, 17:29

To the above poster - to remake a '69 Buick in 2007 would probably cost $75,000. The fact is our standard of living has fallen, and the kind of cars we have reflect it.

25th Jun 2008, 21:42

So true, but if they tried to rebuild it to today standards, it would be really pathetic compared to that good old car.

1969 Buick Electra 225 430 cu. in. from North America

Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 430 cu. in. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

The best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Brakes a few times, distributor about 20000 miles ago, shocks & springs front and rear.

All of my work over the years, none of it took me inside the engine, very strong drive-train. More dependable than both my wife's cars were.

General Comments:

After 12 years, she was my baby.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2004

1969 Buick Electra 225 Custom Hardtop Sedan 430 cube from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 430 cube Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carChrysler Valiant

Summary:

A whopping, throbbing time capsule

Faults:

Fuel gauge stopped working.

The steering drag link suffered problems as a result of the Right Hand Drive conversion many years ago.

The vacuum operated front door locks never worked for me.

General Comments:

They just don't make cars like this anymore, and are unlikely to ever again. Two ton of Flint Michigan steel stands out here in Australia, and these days probably anywhere.

Considering the wheelbase, you would think that the cabin would be huge. Sure, it is wide, but the legroom could have been a bit better for us 6-footers.

The pillarless body and electric front bench seat never failed to impress visitors.

This is "old-school" luxury from another era. Neil Armstrong was probably kicking moondust when this car's Fisher body was being lowered onto the massive separate chassis.

Cars back then were designed to be fixed. You don't need a PhD in electronics to get things working again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2003

1969 Buick Electra 225 440 4-bbl V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 440 4-bbl V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

An amazing American classic, worthy of the praise

Faults:

All is in working order except the dash clock (imagine that!).

Repairs have been standard and affordable except for the custom brake work:

-Front brake calipers (had to be custom built)

-Rear brake shoes

-exhaust.

No other mechanical issues. The seat has a single 2" crack in it after 33 years of use!

General Comments:

This is an unbelievable car, truly the most reliable car I've owned (including my new cars). It starts every time, runs anywhere and everywhere without fuss, rides great, and has enough power (370hp) to move all that steel without a problem. I only wish America would make something like this again.

The only thing lacking on mine is either power seats or a tilt wheel (or both). The only driving position afforded is sitting straight up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 5 reviews