1989 Buick Electra Reviews

1989 Buick Electra Park Avenue 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Great deal on a great car!

Faults:

The only thing I ever had to do to this car was replace the brakes once, and some tires (but those were crap when I bought it in the first place).

Paid 800 for the car, drove it for two years, transmission died, and sold it for 800 :-) Should have replaced the transmission and kept the car...

General Comments:

This car was amazing, seats were ::great:: for long road trips, which I did plenty in this car. It never broke down on me until the transmission finally went, and it was going bad when I got it. (so lasted 40,000 miles on a slipping transmission, and I wasn't easy on it).

The Cabin was well lit, and every feature on the car worked (except the automatic lights, those had to be turned off because they were shorting out the brake lights??? think it was just a bad switch, but didn't feel like replacing something I never used anyways). I would buy another one of these cars in a minute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2009

1989 Buick Electra Sedan 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance350000 miles

Summary:

Ol' faithful at 350K miles plus

Faults:

The AC went out about 5 years ago (around 250k miles), and the replacement was more expensive than the car was worth.

Driver's side electric window also started slowing down around 250K also.

Rusting. The body was in great shape until 2004. Then a little rust formed, and was starting to have its way over the rest of the body within months.

General Comments:

Used this as a work car, and it was great. Towards the end, the body started looking pretty ugly, due to rusting. I've noticed the same pattern on other GM vehicles of the same period.

Otherwise, the engine still ran like brand new at over 350K, with no oil usage noted.

Treated it well, and it worked like a champ. Super reliable.

Would still have if the opportunity to replace with my parents' 94 Park Avenue hadn't arose a couple of weeks ago. Still wish I had the Electra, as the Park Avenue developed serious, engine-stopping electrical problems--probably due to the welding done to stop a trunk leak two days before I got it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

5th Jan 2008, 12:41

Disconnect battery terminals while welding; electrical problems are likely to occur when battery is connected.

13th Nov 2010, 15:04

I'm not a welder, but that's good to know.

1989 Buick Electra Limited V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance204182 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

The biggest mistake you made was not buying this car

Faults:

Exhust pipe rusted through in front of the catalytic converter at 180,000 miles.

Power Antenna stopped functioning at around 100,000 miles (has not been fixed, we just keep it up all the way).

Coil went bad around 120,000 miles.

Windshield wiper pump leaks, has been patched, not fixed.

The windshield was replaced twice and both times were caused by rocks.

The windshield leaks during heavy rain.

Alternator has been replaced 4 times.

Water pump replaced 3 times.

Power steering pump remanufactured at 140,000 miles.

Oxygen sensor replaced 2 times.

ECM replaced at 70,000 miles.

A vehicle backed into the front damaging grille and radiator guard, was replaced for around $800, rather expensive for plastic.

Battery has been replaced numerous times.

The clear coat (paint) peeled off, we spray painted the areas, looks good, beats paying a bunch of money to get it re-painted.

Fuel pump replaced at 90,000 miles.

Passenger side power window comes off track if you close the door with it down.

General Comments:

It does need a transmission, nothing urgent, its just a good idea to keep it in a lower gear, shifting is hard and sometimes slips.

It's a great car, 14 years old starts with only a few turns of the engine every time, even when the coil went bad it still ran, just not real good.

The engine itself runs great, sounds just as good as the day we bought it back in 1989, and it packs a lot of power.

The interior overall is in good shape. We still have the original floor mats, the driver's side does have a hole in it, and the seats have small wear, no rips or holes in them, however.

The original car stereo still works, tape deck and all. I'm surprised that this is factory made, it has very deep bass, very high sound quality, and decent power.

This car is "high" performance, it will go over 80 MPH in 2nd gear. The car will take off and go like a bat out of hell. Much like in another review of this car, the design says "I'm slow" but step on the gas and it's a whole different story.

The car is very clean, even after 14 years it still has the "new car" smell.

The car handles well and also has a fairly tight turning radius, making it easier to park.

The car is comfortable, simple as that.

There was only one thing missing when we bought it, a cigarette lighter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

1989 Buick Electra Estate Wagon 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Scottsdale

Summary:

A great buy for $900

Faults:

Pass. Front & Rear gate motors shot when purchased.

Wiper Washer died & a button is under the dash for it.

The driver's right front tire keeps going flat.

General Comments:

The car is a land yacht, and I can haul 9 people around.

It's hard to parallel park.

It has very comfortable seats.

The A/C is touch button, very cool, but I fear it will go bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2003

11th Oct 2003, 20:30

I have a 1988 Electra Estate Wagon. The touch-pad climate control is very nice. For some reason people are always afraid that the climate control will fail, but it has not ever happened to me or anyone else I know of who has the same climate control. The previous owner of my car said that he had the same concern when he first purchased the car almost 11 years ago and it hasn't happened yet so don't worry.

12th Nov 2006, 07:05

I've got 1988 Electra estate wagon in Japan. I've had it for 2 years. Comfortable seats, cool body shapes... I enjoy my life with Electra! I can feel real America from it. It goes very well, but just a touch panel climate control does not work well. I am tring to find out a healthy control unit in Japan however it's hard to find out. If anyone knows a healthy unit, please notice to this grease monkey.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews