2011 Buick LaCrosse 3.6 from North America

Faults:

I bought 8 brand new cars from 2003-2011 for me and my family. All 6 were Nissan and I did not have any problems with them.

This time I thought I'd buy a luxury car, and I bought a Buick LaCrosse from 2011. Every time I go to do an oil change, they find a new issue or I find it by myself.

I believe this was a defective car that they sold to me. I have never heard of 3 year old cars having water pump problems or oil leak issues. Mine had, and I called GM and they did not do anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2014

13th May 2014, 15:33

So what issues were there? It would be interesting to know, as many people read this website to find common problems.

15th May 2014, 08:56

8 brand new cars in 8 years? Must be nice! Whatever you do for work, you must good at it LOL.

2005 Buick LaCrosse CXS 3.6L DOHC V6 from North America

Summary:

This year of the Lacrosse has too many downfalls

Faults:

- Power steering leak at fitting onto the pump.

- Driver's side window switch defective.

- Sunroof seal leak.

- Massive oil blow-by leaking through PCV-Less system into air intake and causing the MAF to get dirty.

- Aluminum rims causing air to leak out.

- Warped brake rotors.

- Transmission is starting to "buck" when it is warmed up.

General Comments:

The DOHC V6 3.6L engine is flawed in this year and certain years. It has massive blow-by of oil. This is not uncommon. Apparently there are problems with the steering also on this model, which I have not experienced. Personally, I think the way the car steers is a road hazard. The Lacrosse of this year is really uncomfortable to steer in general.

Overall, the car has not left us stranded. Although it does have its problems.

The gas mileage is absolutely terrible. 17 MPG average. Sometimes about 20 MPG. This is with a full tune-up and a cleaned MAF.

I would not recommend this car or any GM car with the 3.6L DOHC engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2013

2008 Buick LaCrosse Super 5.3L from North America

Summary:

The last V-8 Buick

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car is very fast for what it is. If you drop the hammer, it'll light the front tires and make smoke all day. Surprises most people who think it just has the 3.8L V-6 (which isn't a bad engine either).

The super package adds 18in wheels and larger front brakes, bigger sway bars, dual exhaust. The exhaust note isn't as harsh as the Impala/Monte Carlo SS, but is still satisfying inside the cabin. Apparently there is a 3 hp loss from this quieter exhaust (300hp vs 303hp), but I don't miss it.

The interior has too much plastic, but it looks OK. The "wood" dash trim is a special darker colour for the super model. The 18in wheels look fantastic, but steel wheels are not offered for winter tires.

The 5.3L can be hard on fuel around the city. On the highway with cruise I touched 30 mpg.

The only complaint I have is after 45min-1hr of driving, the special leather seats become very uncomfortable. The test drive is never long enough to know this, and I've made some progress in almost finding the right position, but it has been very frustrating. I miss the seats in my 1998 Olds Aurora dearly.

Overall, a sweet ride, but having 2011 Buicks pull up beside you knowing that the V-6 in them is almost as powerful as the V-8 chugging under your own hood, makes gas station visits just a bit more painful. The '11's also look pretty sweet too...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2011

31st Aug 2011, 07:53

This is not the last V8 Buick. The 2011 Lucerne has the Northstar V8.

31st Aug 2011, 16:51

I stand corrected. The last PUSHROD V-8 Buick.

10th Oct 2013, 05:33

You got near 30 MPG? My 3.6L DOHC V6 gets around 17 MPG. I should've bought the 5.3L...

11th Oct 2013, 07:41

"near 30 mpg"?

The reviewer's instant MPG readout "touched 30 mpg" when the car was coasting downhill.

11th Oct 2013, 18:40

Pushrods are the good ones - I would always choose a pushrod engine over the other kind if possible. Of course in a few more years there won't be any left.

12th Oct 2013, 09:26

I get 28-30 MPG interstate in my Corvette, but drop down to 17 MPG with combined. With overdrives, cars barely idle on interstates. Some trans now have 7 gears. It's feasible on interstates, even with full size cars on cruise.

22nd Feb 2014, 20:02

I own the car you commented on, and to clarify, I live in Canada and the mileage figures are for Imperial MPG, not standard MPG. The figures for standard MPG would of course be lower.