1978 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1978 Buick LeSabre Custom 6.6 litre or 403 cubic-inch from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.6 litre or 403 cubic-inch Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired189489 kilometres
Most recent distance189494 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Parisienne

Summary:

A cool 70's ride

Faults:

The master cylinder needed to be replaced.

The interior clock, you couldn't change the time on it.

Nothing else so far because we just got the car.

General Comments:

This LeSabre is quite a good looking car and its very comfortable. The performance of this car isn't as good. It came with the big block 403, and yet still seems powerless. Maybe because that big block has to haul around a two-and-a-half tonne car! This car handles better than the Parisienne we used to have and it just cruises around the corners like its nothing. It is a nice car from my point of view because I like big cars, yet I don't thinks its really a head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2005

24th Nov 2005, 11:20

Just so you know, the 403 is a SMALL BLOCK Olds motor. Its NOT a big block. As for the lack of power, this is due to the emissions standards of the late 70s. the 403 has tons of low end torque, about 320ft/lbs. but only 190 hp.

The intake and exhaust ports are smaller than they should be thus killing the top end power. New heads and a good cam would fix this lack of power, but I don't know many guys that would put that kind of work and money into a boxy B.O.P.(Buick Olds Pontiac) Happy Motoring :)

1978 Buick LeSabre 350 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Truly GM... Mark of Excellence!

Faults:

Transmission seal failed at approximately 110,000 miles.

Started to seriously rust in the front rockers.

General Comments:

One of the best cars I have had the opportunity to own. This was a 2-door LeSabre that was little old lady owned when I purchased it from his son. It had sat for at least 3 years, but ran fine with a general tuneup. This car ran, drove and rode beautifully. All accessories worked well and it operated just like a new car. I gave all of $700 for it. I finally got rid of the car after someone threw a ball bearing through the windshield. My next car? A 1985 Buick LeSabre Station Wagon. An equally fine car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

1978 Buick LeSabre Limited 4.9L 301 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.9L 301 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance57500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Why doesn't GM make cars like this anymore?

Faults:

When I first purchased the car, the tie rod was broken, 3 gaskets were leaking, the carburetor was way out of tune, headliner sagged badly, there was no freon in the A/C tank, the alignment was off, and the tires were bald.

All that was fixed except the carburetor tuning, I am still working on that. 23 year-old carburetors are really sensitive!

The paint is cracked and faded, on the hood and trunk mostly.

General Comments:

Picture driving your couch to work. Front and back bench seats are really comfortable. Spacious and surprisingly quiet. The shocks must be made of marshmallow, you can go over railroad tracks and almost not even notice it.

Aside from the sensitive carburetor, the smooth 140 HP V8 is barely audible when driving. Although the car is seriously short on power, it is a reliable and quiet machine.

All the electronics work perfectly, even the original radio! Power windows, doors, drivers seat; rear defroster; cruise control; truly a luxury liner in its time.

Driving this car will take some getting used to, because the car itself is really big! The frame is as solid as anything out there, this car was hit while PARKED by someone going 30 MPH and no damage! Gas mileage is a downer, about 15 MPG and it requires premium because of its age.

Overall though this car is good value, it will cut your insurance costs in half and is surprisingly low maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

25th Sep 2001, 13:38

I own a 1979 LeSabre Limited which I purchased brand new. I still love everything that it has done for me, and will drive it till it dies and then I will fix it. It is good to see that the newer generation still likes to drive around in an original Detroit steel "land yacht".

27th Nov 2005, 22:39

My grandmother used to own a 1978 Buick LeSabre, it had a brown exterior with a creme colored roof on top, it was a really sweet car and I've always looked forward getting to ride in her car, I'm glad to hear that you've had a wonderful experience with your car, fortunately you still see a lot of the late 70's LeSabre's on the road and it goes to show you how good those cars really are, keep up the good work.

14th Mar 2006, 11:08

I have had a 1978 Buick Le Sabre Custom 4 door for about 2 years now. Besides basic maintenance (brakes, plugs, wires, etc) I have had no problems. The car rides like a Caddy and all electronics are still working perfectly. The engine is a 350 4 barrel carburetor, so I am not lacking in power, even with the cars massive size. She is old, but has a lot of life left in her!

2nd Jan 2010, 00:53

I own a 1978 Buick LeSabre Custom coupe that I bought in January 1987 as my first car. It has the 301 engine, factory chrome wheels and I have always enjoyed its looks and comfortable ride. You can't buy a new car with its ride, comfort and space.

It has been stored winters since 1988. I consider it worthy of being kept in the company of my 1970 Cadillac Sedan DeVille, 1978 Lincoln Town Coupe and 1984 Cadillac Fleetwood Brougham.

2nd Jan 2010, 16:00

Don't blame GM. The whole world - its every aspect - is profoundly worse than it was in 1978. At least for the vast majority of us.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews