1983 Buick Park Avenue Reviews

1983 Buick Park Avenue Sedan V8 5.0 Liter from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 5.0 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance273000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

1983 Buick Quality beats 1993 and 2003 Buick Quality!!!

Faults:

Fuel pump at 169,000.

Timing chain replaced with water pump at 202,000.

Control Arm/Tie rod bent and replaced at 156,000 after running over a deer.

Headliner starting to sag.

Power windows are deathly slow, but at least they work.

Heater core at 232000 miles.

Crank sensor at 188,000 miles.

The car has been rustproofed every year since new.

Transmission Pan leaks.

General Comments:

I bought this car for comfort on long commutes and it has served me well. Besides the things you would normally replace on a car, the repairs are few and infrequent. It may be old, boxy, and stodgy, but it still can average over 22 MPG on a highway trip. Performance is still very snappy for only having 140 horsepower when new, and the car burns or leaks less than a pint of oil every 5000 miles. It weighs over 4000 lbs, so it won't be winning any drag races. Sort of a "gutless wonder." The motor is so smooth that I sometimes mistakenly think it stalls on me. It can seat 6 people comfortably and make potholes seems nonexistent. Parallel parking is skill that takes some practice with a 18 foot long car.

The interior materials and fabrics have held up great over time. I bought a 1993 Le Sabre two years ago to replace this car. After dealing with windows coming off their tracks, cheap plastic interior parts, electronics nightmares, and a plastic intake manifold that failed and nearly destroyed my engine, I sent it packing (the 1993) for $1500. Pretty sad that GM build quality has gotten worse since the early 80's. My 1983 Park Ave has a beautiful dark blue cloth interior. Why must all new cars come in shades of gray? I test drove a 2003 le Sabre last week. FORGET IT. It's pretty sad that a 24 year old car has more road feel and better build quality than relatively new one.

I know Detroit will never build a car like this again, but if their reliability even came close to my car, Imports wouldn't stand a chance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2007

22nd Dec 2007, 08:51

I beg to differ with you, but I'd take a 2003 over a 1983 anytime!

23rd Dec 2007, 04:10

The 1993 LeSabre didn't have the plastic manifold you're referring to. That came with the 1995 and newer models. Did your '93 LeSabre possibly have an engine from a newer car in it? Anyway, good luck with your old Buick. They are decent cars, as long as you stay away from certain engines and transmissions (like the diesel V8 and the THM 200 transmission).

1983 Buick Park Avenue V6 from North America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Severely underpowered

Faults:

Paint did not hold up well and chipped and faded exposing a good bit of primer.

Thermostat went bad causing the engine to overheat.

Power break booster died suddenly.

General Comments:

This car was owned by my grandparents for about 10 years and kept in decent condition.

The V6 was way too small to haul this load.

It was fairly decent and reliable ride overall, but boring.

Sold it for $200 to help buy my 1989 Ford Taurus... horrible mistake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd March, 2005

1983 Buick Park Avenue 307 ci from Saudi Arabia

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 307 ci Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Summary:

One fine automobile

Faults:

Battery (few minutes ago)

Ignition (for a very very long time ago)

General Comments:

First, Few minutes ago I was driving this baby and it was great suddenly the battery lamp switched on so I immediately checked the battery and it was OK, but the lamp on the speedo meter was very poor.

Second, when the water temperature goes above about 200F the ignition becomes too slow, but although it starts good, but it becomes too slow. My uncle had once an Oldsmobile 98 and when I told him about it he said that it is normal for the Buick and the Olds because the Buick is got the Olds Engine.

But when you start the ignition for a Chevy Caprice the ignition is much better and much faster even when the water temperature goes high a bit.

My car is one fine automobile It's got everything OK we always appreciate it.

It's got new paint, new seats and almost every thing is new. Thank u.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2004

14th Nov 2004, 20:18

Your Alternator is bad. It's common on these cars and very cheap and easy to replace.

31st Jan 2007, 06:58

The problem with the Buick/Oldsmobile 5.0 liter engine has to do with the starter being mounted behind or above the exhaust crossover pipe.

The pipe gets the starter too hot and as a result, causes it to bind. The other issue within the starter is if it is worn, you will find solder in a ring around the inside and you will end up loosing one armature winding at a time.

Cure: Replace the starter. Try insulating the starter with some asbestos paper or other similar material to get some insulation between the starter and the crossover pipe.

I have had three of these vehicles do the same thing. This cured it.

18th Jul 2007, 21:15

A caprice of the same year would have the same engine, same carburetor, same ignition... pretty much identical under the hood. A couple years later, Caprices would have the fuel-injected 5 liter engine...

You probably just need the carburetor cleaned or something.

My '81 Century had an issue where the choke wouldn't fully close and the car would hesitate or stall until it got warm. I had it rebuilt and it never had a problem again.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 3 reviews