1989 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 V6 from North America


Great old car


Exhaust pipe rusted through. (20 year old original).




Spark plugs & wires.

Front seat dome lights haven't worked since I got it, rears work OK. Not bad bulbs.

Replaced grille and headlight (whoops, my fault!)

General Comments:

I had to do some "regular" maintenance on this car because it sat for a couple years before I bought it.

This car is awesome. Not as roomy or comfy as my old (er) Grand Marquis, but still very nice.

Gets decent gas mileage for such an old heavy car. Pretty quick too. The GM V6 roller cam is a fine engine.

Unfortunately, I would NEVER buy one of the current crop of GOVERNMENT MOTORS vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2010

29th Apr 2010, 05:58

Well, I have no problem with GM being owned by the government, but it is true that GM vehicles became no good after about 1994 or 1995 due to intake manifold and transmission issues. Up till 1994 though they were mostly amazing, especially for the cheap price used.

29th Apr 2010, 16:12

I started driving in 2001 and have owned 3 GM cars since ('97 up to '05 currently). One was a Chevy and two have been Buicks, and I have had very minimal problems with all of them. I plan to buy another Buick when I trade my current one.

1989 Buick Park Avenue 3.8L V6 from North America


Great car


Sway bar link broke (original.) Replaced both.

Original front struts starting to make that crunchy sound on bumps.

Replaced a couple marker light bulbs.

General Comments:

I bought this car 3 months ago. The original owner passed away and his widow is wheelchair bound. It has sat in the garage for a year and a half.

This car looks brand new inside and out! It only had 50k miles when I bought it. That works out to 2500 miles per year. It has always been garaged, so the paint still looks good.

It's feels quicker than my beloved Grand Marquis (R.I.P.), and uses a lot less gas.

I only give an 8 for comfort because I've been spoiled by my Mercury's cushiness and roomy interior, and this is a slight step down in both aspects.

Only gripe: Seat back doesn't recline (unless there's a hidden lever somewhere - anyone?) You can tip the whole chair by raising the front of the base, but that lifts my knees too much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2008

5th Jul 2010, 10:28

The seat recliner should be located on the side of the seat facing the door. That's how it is with my Buick, although I do have a LeSabre of a later model year. Hope this helped! " The great American road, belongs to Buick!"

1989 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 V8 from North America


Reliable, Dependable, Luxurious


Nothing major has went wrong with this car. The usual replacements expected from an 89 model.

General Comments:

Quick for a big car, with it's 3800 engine, it also has good acceleration and handling, along with good fuel economy. The locking wheel covers on this car, and the unique opening style hood are just a few of the special features unique to the 80's parks.

Plenty of room inside, and the velvet plush interior is like a dream. I love the loud, deep, annoying horn!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2008

24th Feb 2008, 22:16

I agree, there is nothing like the sound of a big American luxury car horn. I love to honk the 4-note horn in my Buick at Toyota drivers who are a bit slow at green lights.

1989 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 V6 from North America


This car won't DIE


Well the paint is peeling all over. Nothing that can't be fixed.

Had to replace the mass air flow sensor at 231,000 miles.

Otherwise it has all just been brakes and tires and fluid changes.

General Comments:

I LOVE my Park Avenue. I have had no problems with this car it starts everyday flawlessly. I would trust this car to go anywhere. Everyone laughs at it because of how it looks now. But every time someone else's car breaks down they are always glad to drive it. IT has good performance exceptional comfort. Its all around a good car. I will drive it until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2006