1987 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1987 Buick Regal Grand National 3.8 Liter SFI turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter SFI turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23500 miles
Most recent distance29900 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

The last true American Muscle Car

Faults:

Nothing has really broken on the car, but it does leak oil since I use only synthetic motor oil (previous owner used petroleum-based oil), but that is supposedly normal for synthetic.

Except that I can't keep tires on it (the rears mysteriously keep going bald!) :-)

General Comments:

This is the last true American musclecar, regardless of the fact that it's powered by a turbo V6. There are few cars that will keep up with it. it is cheap to modify if you want to go faster (which I always do), and the sinister monochromatic black paint is nothing short of evil-looking. No lie, when people see me coming up from behind, they move aside. Maybe it's because the CT State Police used to use GN's, or maybe they're just scared. :-)

It rides very well, handles decent for a car of its size, although it could use 4-wheel disc brakes (what car couldn't?) and full instrumentation with a speedometer that goes much higher than 85 mph. If I can keep my foot from dipping into the accelerator too often, I can get 25-28 mpg. Not bad for a car of it's size.

There is nothing better than taking off the T-Tops, turning up the stereo and spooling up the turbo, gotta love thaat whistle.

If you're looking for a performance car that will seat 4 paople comfortable at a reasonable price, find yourself a GN or T-Type and enjoy.

I'll never get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

6th Sep 2007, 11:56

Using synthetic oil does NOT mean the car should leak oil. I run synthetic in all my vehicles and none of them leak. Sounds like a gasket problem to me.

1st Jun 2008, 11:13

Once you change to synthetic, you should not go back to conventional. On older engines, you could be getting some leaking from the synthetic because the tolerances are probably not as tight as in a new engine. Try going to a higher viscosity like 15W-50 if it's really seeping out. But also get a torque wrench and make sure that your valve covers are tightened down correctly, since those gaskets are prone to shrinking over the years and can allow some oil leaking.

6th Jan 2009, 07:57

If you start tightening valve covers with a torque wrench, you will only make it worse. Correct approach - replace valve cover gasket and do it as per the Haynes manual.

4th Dec 2010, 15:05

Synthetic oil leaking is definitely NOT normal, however a small leak with conventional oil may get worse due to synthetic's superior flow properties. Whatever you do, don't just tighten random bolts; do some detective work, find the leak and fix it properly, and every time you take a part off, put it back on with a new gasket, they're cheap. Oh yeah valvoline... LOL MOBIL 1 -- trust me, great car BTW.

1987 Buick Regal Limited 2.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.8L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Great car for hopping up

Faults:

Driver's side window motor broke.

Head gasket cracked.

Alternator died.

General Comments:

This is an awesome car. For a 2.8L, it hauls!

I've added a few modifications and it'll smoke many cars on the road.

I love this car! It's an awesome sleeper (people won't expect to get smoked by a BUICK).

I'd rather have a Grand National though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

23rd May 2001, 19:06

They never made a 2.8L in a '87 Buick Regal.

1987 Buick Regal Grand National 3.8 liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carChrysler Newport

Summary:

A car with genuine soul

Faults:

ABS unit went out.

Reverse lights went out.

Paint started to fade and crack.

General Comments:

I like being able to say I have an older high mileage Buick that can smoke your Camaro/Mustang/Corvette.

I don't like people asking what year Monte Carlo I have, though.

When you own a Grand National, you get the feeling of superiority that few other cars can give you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2001

7th Aug 2001, 20:35

I agree, having owned a GN also, I love being able to smoke just about anyone on the road.

3rd Oct 2002, 17:34

Funny story. When I bought my 1987 Ford Mustang, I was originally thinking about getting a Buick GN instead. I opted for the Mustang, and even though I love that car to death, I still kick myself every time I see a GN. To think, I could be owning one right now.

1987 Buick Regal Limited 305 small block from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 305 small block Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance144700 miles

Summary:

Great, but could be better. A great remodel!

Faults:

Electrical short (my fault).

Timing gear is worn badly.

Computer caught on fire (screwed up the timing).

Threw a rod at 144,735.

General Comments:

My car has been great for the time I have had it.

A killer stereo, a beautiful humming 305 small block and a kick tail paint job.

However as of late it went crazy. I just started tearing itself up. I guess that goes with the mileage.

A great car otherwise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews