1999 Buick Regal LS 3.8L Series II from North America

Summary:

The most unreliable luxuriously powerful ride I've ever enjoyed

Faults:

Intake manifold gasket - 3 times.

Transmission has intermittently jerky shifting.

Drivers leather seat ripped on the bottom.

Door window trim cracked.

General Comments:

Recently at 160k miles it's been taking a couple quarts of oil between change intervals. Antifreeze seems OK, no overheating. I suspect it's the intake manifold gasket but still drivable.

After 6k miles in this condition an engine knock developed, and I'm shopping for another car as it's not worth putting any more $$$ into.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th October, 2008

18th Oct 2008, 14:58

What do you expect for a 160K... what.. you paid 300.00 for it on someone's front lawn, and you expect it to ride and drive brand new???

15th Feb 2010, 22:48

The transmission jerking is a result of the solenoid wearing out. The check engine code that comes up is called "maximum adapt"; you gotta rebuild the tranny to fix it. I drove mine around for a year and a half with that before I got rid of it; the only thing it caused was poor gas mileage.

1999 Buick Regal GS 3.8 V6 Supercharged from North America

Summary:

Supercharged power in a sporty sedan

Faults:

Seat belt retainer broke at 65,000 miles, dealer replaced for free even though it wasn't on warranty. Battery was replaced at 67,000 miles.

General Comments:

The Buick Regal GS is an excellent vehicle. This is my 3rd Buick so far, and each of them have given me years of reliability, power, and comfort. Previously I owned a 1987 Buick Regal GNX (Turbo 3.8) which was and incredibly fast car. I also previously owned a 1997 Buick Regal LS that had 230,000 miles before I traded it in. No problems, just routine maintenance.

The 1999 Regal GS has a Supercharged 3800 Series II V6 delivering 240 HP and 280 lb/ft torque, as much as larger V8 engines. Acceleration is excellent (0-60 in 6.5 seconds, quarter mile in 14.9 seconds) and handling is comfortable, but firm. Everything about this car is great. Definitely a great car for the money. The interior is done well, definitely more sport oriented than other Buicks. There is a driver selectable shift option for performance shifting or normal shifting as well. Performance shifting increases transmission line pressure and gives more aggressive shift points and firmness.

Not only will you have the comfort and usability of a family sedan, but you will have the performance of a sports car as well. The Regal GS with the Supercharged 3800 is a great value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2006

1999 Buick Regal LSE 3.8L V6 non-supercharged from North America

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

Had a shifter problem because of which the key won't come out from the ignition.

General Comments:

This is my first car and I love it. It has a slow pickup, but it handles very smoothly, even at high speeds. The car is spacious and comfortable for a guy as tall as me (6.3"). However, mileage is poor (15 city/ 28 Highway). Easy to get luxury items for a reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

1999 Buick Regal GSE 3.8 Supercharged from North America

Summary:

Pleasantly Surprised

Faults:

Poor Mileage and Cheap Materials

General Comments:

Coming from a guy who had written off all domestic makes, I was pleasantly surprised by this Buick. Other than cheap materials and some fit and finish details being subpar, this car has been great and it goes like heck! I can't tell you how many people have been "surprised" by the awesome acceleration this car delivers.

Good job Buick!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

20th Jun 2007, 15:07

I guess I'm lucky. I bought a 2000 Regal GSE a year ago and I really do like it. I had to replace one fog lamp bulb and one little bulb on the back. The car is nice who ever had it must have kept it in a garage and kept the maintance up on it good. I have changed the oil 3 times and Replaced the air filter under the windshield which filters dust that comes in from the outside thought the Air-heater. The car has 91,000 miles on it and it got 29 mpg going to canada and back. I thought that was really good. Everything on the car works and I am really happy with it... Jeff.