1996 Buick Riviera Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1996 Buick Riviera SC Coupe 3.8 Series II supercharged from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Excellent in all ways

Faults:

When I got car, noticed CD player had problem each day after 40 minutes of use.

Remote key-less entry needed battery clip inside re-soldered at 132000 miles.

General Comments:

This car was like new when I got it. Hardly a wrinkle in the leather seats.

Every option is on the car and every feature still works perfect, except the CD player gets a skip after it gets hot.

Expected 23 mpg based on reviews, but actually get 28-29 mpg in my long 94 mile daily commute.

Love driving car so much that my 2001 Silverado that cost me 4 times as much just sits now.

Unbelievable quality. Quiets the road and far more comfortable than any car or truck I have ever ridden in.

All the luxury, no repairs, all works perfect. Way more than I expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

1996 Buick Riviera Supercharged 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Supercharged 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

A fantastic, highly reliable automobile

Faults:

Both Front wheel bearings have went out. This requires replacing the entire hub.

Struts went out around 100000 miles.

Supercharger air bypass valve failed at 105000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable vehicle that I have ever driven. The leather seats are very soft and have stood up without cracking for 105000 miles now.

All maintenance has been kept up on this vehicle. Oil changes are done on time, transmission services performed, and tires/fluids checked once a week.

Repairs have been minimal for this one. Around $2000 all told. The transmission and engine are both mechanically sound despite the fact that I bury the gas pedal at just about every green light.

I would recommend this car to anyone that can get one and not have to pay their maximum monthly payment, as little problems on these cars are more expensive to repair than the average car.

I have, on occasion, hauled my three children around in this car. I would not highly recommend this car for that purpose. But, you can do as I do and make the wife drive the family car.

I anxiously await the Rivieras returning to the Buick line up, where's the petition?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2003

15th Dec 2003, 19:28

It takes $60 labor to replace a belt. Would you believe that they put a motor mount between the belts...

13th Apr 2004, 18:56

I own a 1996 Riviera and have only had to replace the coolant tank and water pump. The pump was a bit expensive to replace costing about $190 in labor because of the engine mount. But an awesome care anyways.

10th May 2004, 08:18

I liked very much my Buick Riviera 96 Supercharged. It unfortunately caught fire after being left a parking lot with the engine turned off. Buick does not take any responsibility for this, although they have these models on recalls (fire problems).

Andrew.

11th Jun 2004, 21:14

I am in the market to buy ANY car with the supercharged 3800 Series II engine... I wonder if I should just stick with the GTP, or buick regal GS.

4th Aug 2010, 18:52

Unaware of the recalls on my 1997 Buick Riviera, I purchased one from an public auto auction on 3/14/2010. I only had for 5 months and it caught fire last night 8/3/2010 at a red light.

20th Nov 2010, 21:36

I had the "main" belt tensioner pulley wear out at just over 150,000 miles. Can't get very far with no water pump before the engine overheats. Oops. Haven't noticed any ill effects from that, yet.

Yeah, the engine mount thing is the strangest thing I've ever seen. I replaced the tensioner and belt in my driveway. Just put a board across the oil pan, jacked the engine up with a floor jack, and removed the frame part of the engine mount. The lower-most bolt has a removable spacer that's a little "fun" to work with. Have to go completely by feel. But with the spacer gone, it's relatively easy to replace the belts. I've definitely replaced serpentine belts that were MUCH more difficult.

1996 Buick Riviera supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

I am totally pleased with the car after 78000 miles

Faults:

Radio sometimes stops and resets

Will not play a CD over 15 tracks...

Windshield Wiper Liquid storage container leaks.

Sometimes Warning that low oil level.. yet oil level is correct.

Speakers on driver side produce static (need replacing or connection problem)

General Comments:

The Car is a pleasure to drive and is unique.

Comfortable climate control.

Stylish and fits in with 2003 model designs.. Many favorable comments.

Would not trade it for some of the new model cars because starts without fail and beats a Cadillac anyday.

Roomy and nice leather seats.

Why Buick discontinued this model is a question I ask myself daily...It's sorta like Chevrolet dropping the corvett...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2003

1996 Buick Riviera 2 door 3.8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Excellent luxury car for the budget conscious consumer

Faults:

Passenger side seat belt locked up.

Passenger side window froze. Problem fixed itself.

General Comments:

Rides great. You can pass over rail road tracks and other minor flaws in the road without hardly feeling a thing.

3.8 super-charged engine makes passing and speeding up easier than pie.

Power steering feels numb. Over-steering happens a lot when you first get the car.

Nice comfortable seats.

The trunk has a lot of cargo space. Very surprising for the size.

Even at 160000+ miles, not a rattle is to be heard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

1996 Buick Riviera 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Cheap luxury

Faults:

When the engine gets really wet it has a couple of electrical problems, but go away when it dries.

Water pump when out at 73500 miles - normal.

Small oil pan leak.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, excellent ride.

Very quick for a car this size.

Fairly roomy, decent trunk size.

With the best Michellins - impossible to ditch in a snowstorm!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2001

6th May 2002, 20:16

I own this car also. It has been very reliable and I haven't had any major problems yet. My only complaint with it is that the power steering feels numb. You do not get the same feeling from it as you would with other sports/luxury cars.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews