1988 Buick Skyhawk Custom 2.0 Automatic from North America

Summary:

Perfect

Faults:

Changed spark plugs and wires at 76,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car runs great, and I have had no problems with it.

If you take care of it (I.E. change the oil) it may run forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2004

1988 Buick Skyhawk Coupe 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Best new car I have ever owned

Faults:

The alternator went twice since it was new.

The water pump has also broken 2 times since I bought the car.

The starter went, but since there were 2 types for this model, they put on the wrong one, and I have had five starters on the car until I finally got the correct one for my car.

The driver's seat is worn now, but the main interior is still good.

The interior roof is starting to come down, but it is after all 15 years old.

General Comments:

I Love this car. I used slick 50, and it still gets 31 mpg on the highway.

The body is rusting from the inside out, because they used " dirty steel", but it loves to work hard.

If they still made this car with a better steel body, same engine, I'd buy it new again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2003

21st Jan 2004, 22:45

Addition to my review is the floor underneath the driver's side has rusted through. I have attempted to add sheet metal to seal the floor for now.

I still love this car, as it just keeps on working well overall.

With gas prices the way they are rising, having a good mpg car is the way to go.

31st Aug 2004, 23:56

Here is another update... now with 172,500 miles on her... the alternator just went for the third time, and I replaced the battery. I really love this car. now if I could just seal it from the weather. All the weather window seals are worn out. I think my dream car is on borrowed time. :)

14th Jan 2005, 22:30

Here is another update about my great Skyhawk.

The firewall has now rusted through, and the rack n pinion steering box is no longer attached to the firewall making it unsafe to drive. I wish Buick had decided to pay the 5 or 10 dollars a car it would have cost to use good steel, and I'd still have my baby to drive all the time.

I love this car.

Thanks for reading my reviews.

2nd Oct 2005, 20:11

Wow. I have an 86 Skyhawk, haven't had those problems with rusting. Yes, it is apparent on my car, but not the firewall. It's a shame that Buick quit producing them in 1989, they are very good cars.

1988 Buick Skyhawk V6 from North America

Summary:

It's a beautiful car

Faults:

All that has gone wrong with it is the gas lines and the brakes, but the brakes is just normal wear and tear. and I have also had to replace the front seats.

General Comments:

This car has had its bad and good days, but besides that it is a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2002

1988 Buick Skyhawk LX 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Not a bad car, but not a great car, however I love it!

Faults:

There are so many problems with this car I don't know where to begin. I do like this car, but if you really look at it, it is a piece of junk.

First off, the windshield is cracked.

The interior light isn't reliable.

The entire roofing fell down, but fixable.

Dirty carpet, I doubt it could be clean.

Driver's seat is worn and torn.

Red paint is dull and lifeless.

Scratched, peeling paint on the rear.

Fuel gauge doesn't work.

Engine trouble sometimes.

General Comments:

Handles well, turns great, drives itself practically.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001