1983 Buick Skylark Limited 3.8 from North America


One tough cookie


The Radiator Blew up when I hit a tree at 30 mph, the front passenger steer tire shredded when I was stuck on another tree. The body panels have been rather weak standing up to collisions with a 1979 Ford Bronco. The front passenger window broke out from a 40 mph side impact. The throttle sticks from time to time.

General Comments:

The car could have some more power. Its handling is sub par, but it rides quite nice even when its running over trees and jumping dirt ramps. The absence of brakes leaves me wondering if they could have designed a better way to protect the lines from rust and corrosion, but its front bumper is strong enough to withstand repeated front impacts ranging from 5 mph to 45 mph so brakes are not needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2003

25th Oct 2003, 19:32

You're gonna kill somebody! How are your insurance premiums? If your brakes don't work, FIX THEM! Don't go crashing into other cars!

25th Oct 2003, 21:59

This is a joke, right?

25th Sep 2007, 10:38

Seems to make an excellent farm car. I see where you're coming from 100% :)

1983 Buick Skylark Limited Edition V6 173HP from North America


A very reliable first car


The exhaust system rotted out.

There was slight rusting on the body, but nothing serious.

The front axles went bad.

The front axle bearing went bad.

The heater needed repair when it was purchased.

It had some very minor leaks and odd noises.

General Comments:

This was my first car, passed down from my sister when she graduated college. She went to school in Maine and considering the conditions there, the car held up quite well.

The seats are extremely comfortable, like having a couch in your car. I used the car to go to college myself and made trips all across Pennsylvania and New York. It was an extremely reliable car once most of the minor problems had been fixed upon purchasing.

I have to get rid of it now though because the axles and bearing went bad and would cost too much to fix. It was a pretty ghetto looking car, but served its purpose extremely well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

29th Apr 2004, 22:20

173HP? BAAAHAHAHAHA! If you had the carbed 2.8, you had 110-112, high output carbed 2.8 had maybe 130, FI 2.8 had 125.

14th Jun 2004, 20:09

173HP is obviously a typo. The 2.8 was 173 cubic inches.

1983 Buick Skylark from North America


Old reliable!


The hood paint is wearing off.

Seat belt clasp wore out.

General Comments:

This car has never let my family down, it gets you anywhere you need to go.

It is so comfortable to drive. I have traveled across the country and never felt the need for seat cushions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2001