1998 Buick Skylark Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1998 Buick Skylark Custom 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Great car for the price

Faults:

Since buying the car, only the water pump needed to be replaced. This took place at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

I am amazed at the performance of this car. It has pep, is solid, cold a/c, and very dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

1998 Buick Skylark Custom V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A cheap car at a cheap price

Faults:

To begin with, the car is rather cheaply built. The seats and the carpet are worn and/or coming apart.

This car is always "lighted up".By way of faulty sensors and/or unknown defects, my dash is quiet colorful with all the different colored lights. Some of my favorites are: check engine, ETS, ABS and Check gauges.

My trunk barely pops and is never completely flush with the car.

By far, the worst thing about this car is the unexplained stalling. Occasionally this car stalls and acts like it is out of gas. If I press the gas, it completely stalls. The computer does not show anything which would cause this problem. If anyone else has had this problem and solved it, please contact me at vixkix69@yahoo.com.

This car gets dings and dents very easily and seems cheaply built.

General Comments:

This car rides great.

I get fairly good gas mileage.

It looks pretty sharp.

Yes, I have replaced windows motor, but that is the same with any car I have owned.

This car is dependable except for the stalling which can go days without occurring, but sometimes occurs several times a day (or once).I generally shut the car down and it starts up just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2003

22nd Oct 2007, 16:43

Good news, the MRA fuel pump assembly is your cause of the stalling, an easy fix. The connectors are either reversed or the the unit is shot.

1998 Buick Skylark Custom 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carEagle Premier

Summary:

Great all around

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump around 100,000 miles. That's all.

General Comments:

The car was great. It had great power. I would constantly out run honda's. Its the ultimate sleeper.

The car had no problems. I wish I still had it. Too bad some little teen had to slam into it in the driveway, totaled it.

I would recommend this Buick to everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

1998 Buick Skylark Custom 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired101233 miles
Most recent distance103699 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Great car that handles sweet!

Faults:

Pick up and go is slow in the cold weather.

The ABS and EST (Electronic Stablization System) lights come on once and a while and the only way to get them off is to trun the car off and resart it.

Driver sides window won't close all the way and the rubber piece on the one side is damaged.

General Comments:

All and all this is a great car for me and I am getting great gas mileage from the 3.1 V6. I have to also say that the sound system is really good also. I would have to say this car is great for all kinds of people, both young and old. It handles great on turns and once the car gets moving, watch out, it can move. I give Buick props for making this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2002

1998 Buick Skylark Custom V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32917 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

A mistake to get it

Faults:

I had to replace the ABS pump in 2001.

The brakes pop all the time, took it to the dealer, they said it was the rotors, got it back less than week later, back to popping.

Less than 6 months after I bought the car, I had to replace the alternator on the car.

Now the electrical system is going bad. The radio changes channels all by itself, and lights in the car go out anytime it wants.

General Comments:

I hate this car. I have put so much money in that I can't put in more right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

1st Sep 2001, 02:55

You must have gotten a bad apple, but don't let it spoil the whole bunch. I have a 98 Skylark and I love it. I have had no problems with it. I put cars through a lot and this one has taken a beating and loves it. I can honestly say I love this car.

22nd Oct 2007, 16:41

The electrical problem your having sounds like a voltage regulator going or already gone. If the car develops a stalling problem look into the Delphi MRA fuel pump assembly. Replacements have been known to have the connectors reversed causing fuel to go to the evaporative system instead of the regulator.

4th Dec 2009, 16:40

Had mine for two years; love it, rotors shock; solution - expensive pads, cheap rotors. Problem solved.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 9 reviews